We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service to yet be desired” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quest on Hobson
Ranked #23 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service to yet be desired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently stayed at Quest on Hobson on our last night in Auckland and frankly were throughly disappointed. We had a one bedroom apartment. Everything was dirty from a previously guests cookup the night before, there was saucy hand marks on the dinning chairs, dishes were packed away dirty, other peoples hair on the floor and in the bed, the couches had white marks all over them and it stank of oil and grease! When we arrived at 1.30 they were still cleaning the apartments and this was the only one which we could have. Not only did this hotel fall short in providing a $206 a night facility, the external appearance it gives was also yet to be desired. The lifts were dirty from carrying the rubbish from the apartments to the basement and there was rubbish left in the hallways till 6pm. In terms on value for money location wise was great, but I will not be staying here again, as it was a pure rip off.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you fro taking time out to submit your feedback.

We welcome all feedbacks positive or negative, this assists us in improving our services. In this instance, I apologise that our services did not live up to your standard.

Our check-in time is 2pm, unfortunately as you were staying on a very busy period, your room did not get ready till check-in time, we obliged by getting your room cleaned again when you complained it was not cleaned properly.

I realise our standards were compromised in this instance and hence, we improvised by providing you a refund on the car-park and internet charges, so effectively you only paid only a fraction of the cost for the room you stayed in.

We hope that you will take this as a one off event. Again please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    75
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
27
57
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights - 2 adults and 1 teenager. We wanted two bedrooms so were given a 1 bedroom apartment and a studio apartment which were linked by a small entry foyer. The 1 bedroom apartment had a huge bedroom and spacious living/dining/kitchen area with a full size fridge - a bonus as so many places provide bar fridges only. Split system airconditioning in the living area so the bedroom stayed pretty warm as the sun came right in the bedroom windows, we ran the airconditioner the whole time to keep it comfortable - day time temps were only about 23 degrees.
The adjacent studio apartment was huge and, being a studio, the airconditioner cooled the whole room. Only a bar fridge in here.
Both bathrooms had a washer/dryer and both kitchens a dishwasher.
The staff at reception were really helpful and went out of their way to offer suggestions for dining in the area and also helped by husband with getting a sim card for internet data - there was a computer available for use in reception but wi fi cost extra and wasn't cheap.
A 10-15 minute downhill walk to the Viaduct area and a steep walk home - a number of restaurants in the vicinity as well. Our room also had a great view of the SkyTower and the mad people jumping off it!

Room Tip: Traffic noise was pretty bad on the Wellesley Street side, alot better overlooking Hobson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This accomodation is value for money and very handy to the Sky Tower. Although not very picturesque from the street, this accomodation is a great base for those staying in Auckland for a while. It has a convenience store on both sides which is great for grabbing a quick feed or anything you need.
The only down side is the noise. Apartments are close and vehicle plus rubbish collection noise is frustrating.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest possible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog4NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service and location.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Quest Apartments are well placed in the heart of Auckland city center and just a few minutes walk to the marina and the busy nightlife. The apartments are clean and have all you need for a self catering stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly and will advise on anything you need to know about the city or the amenities. All in all a enjoyable place to stay which is professionally run.
Rob & Jess
Spain

Room Tip: You need to book early to avoid high prices because the room rates fluctuate a great deal when the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Rob & Jess,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My friend had just arrived from America and this was her first introduction to a NZ 'hotel' I was embarrassed by the unfriendly welcome we received when we checked in. The man was rude and unhelpful with us when we asked questions. We we not given instructions on how to operate the lighting system in the room or how to access the wifi so we had to call down and ask (this information should be given at check-in) Also, when we checked out there was no-one on the desk and a delivery man asked us to open the doors for him to let him deliver a package as he had been waiting for 10 minutes! We ended up having to give our 'keys' to a cleaner as no-one showed up.
The rooms were clean and value for money but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinky1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologise that you felt unwelcomed at our property. We take pride in our customer service and rest assured will be investigating the matter, with appropriate warning to the responsible person.

Regarding the next morning due to public holiday our reception opens late and from what I have been informed the receptionist was assisting another guest with their luggage, which made him 5-minutes late to open the reception properly.

I am sure you are reasonable person to understand that this is a valid reason why they could not attend to you, however, I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you.

Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

From the warm and helpful welcome by Harsh on our arrival, then Jaspal who was at the Front desk during out stay, to the well appointed apartment, we found Quest n Hobson a great place to stay tho public holidays meant poor servicing of the apartment and having to request help from the front desk. Free internet, and in-apartment washing machine and dishwasher were a plus. Shower recess needs rail or shower-mat for the elderly. The main issues were east facing non-opening windows meant the room was hot during the day and the air conditioning didnt really compensate. Also during the night (early risers/leavers?) we heard what we thought was the noise of LONG showers from higher apartment(s). But all in all - we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Tho the view on the front-facing east side was great, the sun was too hot given large, non-opening w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our facility, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Regarding the minor issue of the non-opening windows, as we are a CBD hotel, to maintain peaceful stay for our guests and non-smoking environment the windows have been double glazed and sealed to keep the facility noise and pollution free.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well located to the city centre and very quiet even though we were on a busy road.The people on the reception were fantastic - always willing to answer any query and giving advice on things to do in the city and the location of venues. They were also quick to change our room when we were unhappy. However the rest of the service left a lot to be desired.
For a four day stay there was no room service. Granted on one of those days we changed rooms but for the rest apparently on public holidays you get nothing. And they didn't provide enough supplies to get you through - no extra toilet rolls, washing liquid, laundry liquid or towels - you have to request these. One of the chairs in the room was broken and there was only one mirror in the bathroom. As a minimum they need an extra full length mirror. We had to try and get rid of our rubbish ourselves - given there was no room service. We were directed to somewhere "in the basement". All we could find was a huge pile of smelly rubbish...and a locked bin. Great.
In summary it was more like a nicer hostel than the Quests I am used to. If they improve the facilities then the venue would probably be worthy of the money spent - when compared to the other hotels we stayed in during our NZ visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you were happy with our customer service, however we apologise for the lack of cleaning service you had to experience due to public holidays.

To rectify this we had several notices in place inside the elevators and on reception to clearly notify all guests of limited servicing of the rooms over public holiday and that if a guest does require service or amenities they may contact the reception for this.

I note that you contacted the reception staff and they obliged by providing you all necessary amenities twice.

I understand that from customer prospective there should be no excuses, however, if servicing of the apartment is the only thing that has bothered you, I am happy to refund you the cost of servicing your apartment.

We take pride in our customer service therefore we hope that you will see this as a one off event and give us another opportunity to provide you accommodation facility on your next visit to Auckland.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Diurector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 106 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Property: Quest on Hobson
Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing