We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, not recommend”
Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest on Hobson
Ranked #23 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing, not recommend”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Location would be good, if it weren't for the City Mission directly opposite and many begging and homeless people around the area. The service at reception was good, friendly and helpful. Rooms are not up to standard, the duvet is not covered or cleaned, many hairs (and goodness knows) left from previous guests. Despite the guest folder stating "Sky TV" is available, it is not and only freeview was available. View is into the apartment building next door. The cost was the same as much better options in Auckland, suggest shopping around.

Room Tip: Avoid, not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback, we take pride in our customer service and facility, however I apologise that we could not live up to your expectations this time.

Auckland CBD generally has few homeless people around, however I assure you that they are harmless, I have never heard any mishaps caused by them (touchwood). Further we are also located only 50meters from the main Police headquarters which further makes our property even more safe for any traveller.

We do offer Sky TV as advertised, however as a default the TV starts on free-view, Sky TV is available with a simple push of a button, (also suggested in the black folder) if you would have only read further in the black folder or called the reception, you would have been able to access this facility.

I apologise on your disappointed & hope that you will see this as a one off event and give us another opportunity.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    77
    38
    18
    11
See reviews for
28
59
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are very satisfied with our stay at Quest on Hobson Street, never seen such a courteous and helpful management. Came straight from India so management did guide and help us well in every possible aspect, specially their front office managers. Single Bed room was value for money and had all kitchen facilities from Indian cooking point of view. House keeping did their job well and were never reluctant for anything we wanted them to do.
Over all we had no problem at all. Apart from room, facilities like - late check in/ check out, Airport pick/drop, internet are also there. Advise for future bookers - book room by direct calling not through any booking site and ask for airport pick for cheaper cabs.

Room Tip: Advise for future bookers - book room by direct calling not through any booking site and ask for air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuragvma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This accommodation was chosen for both its site in Auckland and from website recommendations but we were very disappointed. Although advertising charge back services with local restaurants, there is no such service. When we enquired we were informed that they had only been open 2 years and had not had time to set anything up! The studio apartment was comfortable enough and the shower was reasonable, although the bathroom drain was a hazard as it was not actually fixed in the floor. Washer and dryer worked well, although when I pulled the washing machine out from the wall a bit to retrieve a dropped sock it was very dusty and dirty in there. The cleanliness of the whole apartment left a bit to be desired - lots of dust, marks on walls that should have been able to be cleaned off, and blood marks in the bathroom. The advertised "business service" internet was woeful and the lift broke down meaning a long dark walk upstairs on a Sunday night to our room. They did have it fixed by morning, so credit for that. You can be called in your room by people outside the building and we were - in the early hours! . When we requested a late check out due to not being able to connect with the next part of our trip until 12 they were very reluctant - quite different from other experiences we have had at other accommodation in NZ. Would not stay there again which is unfortunate as it is in a great position for people flying in and not having a vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback, we pride ourself in our customer service and the product we offer. In this instance we apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

I have investigated your concern regarding restaurant charge backs and assure you there are five restaurants we have charge back facility available with, however I understand that you were looking to use a charge back facility with a restaurant located in Sky city casino, which unfortunately is not possible.

Regarding the cleanliness of the apartment, I have taken up the matter with our housekeeping Supervisor, who advised that they had neglected the dusting behind the washing machine . The blood mark you mention was nail polish, which may have been dropped by a previous gust & they could not remove, however now with the help of nail polish remover they have managed to rectify this and again I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I hope that you will see this as a one of indecent and give us another opportunity on your next travel.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Quest on Hobson is situated within easy walking distance of downtown Auckland - we walked to Vector Arena, Sky Tower, Vidauct, Queen Street etc very comfortably. The staff are helpful and there is carparking on site which in Auckland city is very useful. You do pay for the parking but it is worth it to have onsite, secure parking.
We had a one bedroom apartment with cooking facilities which was great. There is enough room to spread out and having the choice to cook or not is also good. There are plenty or restaurants and takeaway places located close by if you do not want to cook.
One objection I have is having to pay for internet usage and we were quoted 15.00 per day for this. We did tell the staff that is pricey and that we were surprised they would charge for internet in this day and age when most places supply it free. We were then give complimentary internet for the term of our stay so appreciated that.
Overall this hotel is good value for money and is clean, safe and well situated. There are some interesting characters hanging around outside but they did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: Rooms with a separate bedroom and living room are good value for money and give you the chance to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4
Nights the location is fantastic walking distance to everything in Auckland city. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom apartment and was very spacious with lots of room. Good cooking facilities in the room. The only downsides to this hotel are that the parking is so expensive and just be careful if your a female
At night time because some dodgy characters hang out the front of the hotel. But all and all a great hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Texan4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Auckland CBD generally has few homeless people around, however I assure you that they are harmless, I have never heard any mis-haps caused by them (touchwood). Further we are also located only 50meters from the main Police head-quaters which further makes our property even more safe for any female traveller.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Very happy with the spacious furnished apartment, with kitchen, washing machine clothes dryers. My husband, especially enjoyed having two TV's in the apartment. Walking distance to restaurants, shows, cultural activities. Five minute walk to Queen Street, to board the airport Bus for International departures.. visa versa, for the small price of NZ$16.00 per single trip pp. Utilize the kitchen facilities for all meals, which was a great bonus. Staff was very helpful, especially Jaspal Singh.
Ps. hope you guys found the keys, we left on the desk and the small parcel, we left behind for the homeless. Thank you for making our stay in new Zealand, enjoyable

Room Tip: Wash clothes, while you are out, as the washing machines gets a bit noisy, while the TV is on. Feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmhomes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mrs Homes,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service, specifically from Jaspal

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a spacious apartment with great facilities and on-site carparking for which I paid $NZ165 per night, fairly competitive. There were laundry facilities, two TVs and a fully-equipped kitchen with an oven in addition to a microwave so I was able to cook meals.

Only suggestion I would make would be to supply some power boards as otherwise it was hard to use the kettle, toaster and stove top at the same time.

Staff were extremely helpful from the time I booked to the time I checked out. In particular Jacquie and Jaspal did everything they could to enhance my experience.

Daily housekeeping was of an extremely high standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service, specifically from Jacquie and Jaspal

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#42 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 113 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Suites Auckland - Federal Street
0.3 mi away
Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Property: Quest on Hobson
Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing