We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Auckland”
Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest on Hobson
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Who would ave thought the Quest on Hobson would be one of Auckland's best kept secrets - walking distance to central city shopping - easy walk back with parcels. Polite helpful staff - super quite room - mine overlooked the road and the church - at night slept peacefully. Very clean and comfortable bed all ensuring a excellent break and allowed for a relaxing time. I can say 'unassuming and professional'. I happily paid for my stay - it was very good value. Will recommend and would stay again when visiting Auckland. Thanks everyone - great team.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff are helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaLouiseKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have been staying long term in this apartment with my colleagues for business past 4 months. The notable plus point of this apartment is the service quality of the front desk staff. Both Jaspal & Jacqui are extremely helpful and forthcoming with all the information you need to get around town.

Also, they are very flexible in accommodating last minute changes when trips are cancelled or need to be extended. This is the biggest plus point for business travellers given how dynamic such trips can be. The location is also good as it is not right smack in the middle of town and is of decent proximity to surrounding amenities.

Quest on Hobson can excel further if they pay a bit more attention to facilities within the apartments. Some of the equipment are either missing (utensils), not functioning (TV) or does not seem clean enough for general use (hot water flask, oven tray etc). It will be really helpful if they can fix door stoppers on their doors as well.

Regardless of the points for improvement, this surely makes it a home away from home thanks to the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th level and above are generally better as they offer privacy from the service apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBumWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Regarding the utensils, I sincerely apologise, our head housekeeper has been notified since and the utensils have been replaced. Again please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Location would be good, if it weren't for the City Mission directly opposite and many begging and homeless people around the area. The service at reception was good, friendly and helpful. Rooms are not up to standard, the duvet is not covered or cleaned, many hairs (and goodness knows) left from previous guests. Despite the guest folder stating "Sky TV" is available, it is not and only freeview was available. View is into the apartment building next door. The cost was the same as much better options in Auckland, suggest shopping around.

Room Tip: Avoid, not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback, we take pride in our customer service and facility, however I apologise that we could not live up to your expectations this time.

Auckland CBD generally has few homeless people around, however I assure you that they are harmless, I have never heard any mishaps caused by them (touchwood). Further we are also located only 50meters from the main Police headquarters which further makes our property even more safe for any traveller.

We do offer Sky TV as advertised, however as a default the TV starts on free-view, Sky TV is available with a simple push of a button, (also suggested in the black folder) if you would have only read further in the black folder or called the reception, you would have been able to access this facility.

I apologise on your disappointed & hope that you will see this as a one off event and give us another opportunity.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are very satisfied with our stay at Quest on Hobson Street, never seen such a courteous and helpful management. Came straight from India so management did guide and help us well in every possible aspect, specially their front office managers. Single Bed room was value for money and had all kitchen facilities from Indian cooking point of view. House keeping did their job well and were never reluctant for anything we wanted them to do.
Over all we had no problem at all. Apart from room, facilities like - late check in/ check out, Airport pick/drop, internet are also there. Advise for future bookers - book room by direct calling not through any booking site and ask for airport pick for cheaper cabs.

Room Tip: Advise for future bookers - book room by direct calling not through any booking site and ask for air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuragvma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This accommodation was chosen for both its site in Auckland and from website recommendations but we were very disappointed. Although advertising charge back services with local restaurants, there is no such service. When we enquired we were informed that they had only been open 2 years and had not had time to set anything up! The studio apartment was comfortable enough and the shower was reasonable, although the bathroom drain was a hazard as it was not actually fixed in the floor. Washer and dryer worked well, although when I pulled the washing machine out from the wall a bit to retrieve a dropped sock it was very dusty and dirty in there. The cleanliness of the whole apartment left a bit to be desired - lots of dust, marks on walls that should have been able to be cleaned off, and blood marks in the bathroom. The advertised "business service" internet was woeful and the lift broke down meaning a long dark walk upstairs on a Sunday night to our room. They did have it fixed by morning, so credit for that. You can be called in your room by people outside the building and we were - in the early hours! . When we requested a late check out due to not being able to connect with the next part of our trip until 12 they were very reluctant - quite different from other experiences we have had at other accommodation in NZ. Would not stay there again which is unfortunate as it is in a great position for people flying in and not having a vehicle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback, we pride ourself in our customer service and the product we offer. In this instance we apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

I have investigated your concern regarding restaurant charge backs and assure you there are five restaurants we have charge back facility available with, however I understand that you were looking to use a charge back facility with a restaurant located in Sky city casino, which unfortunately is not possible.

Regarding the cleanliness of the apartment, I have taken up the matter with our housekeeping Supervisor, who advised that they had neglected the dusting behind the washing machine . The blood mark you mention was nail polish, which may have been dropped by a previous gust & they could not remove, however now with the help of nail polish remover they have managed to rectify this and again I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I hope that you will see this as a one of indecent and give us another opportunity on your next travel.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Quest on Hobson is situated within easy walking distance of downtown Auckland - we walked to Vector Arena, Sky Tower, Vidauct, Queen Street etc very comfortably. The staff are helpful and there is carparking on site which in Auckland city is very useful. You do pay for the parking but it is worth it to have onsite, secure parking.
We had a one bedroom apartment with cooking facilities which was great. There is enough room to spread out and having the choice to cook or not is also good. There are plenty or restaurants and takeaway places located close by if you do not want to cook.
One objection I have is having to pay for internet usage and we were quoted 15.00 per day for this. We did tell the staff that is pricey and that we were surprised they would charge for internet in this day and age when most places supply it free. We were then give complimentary internet for the term of our stay so appreciated that.
Overall this hotel is good value for money and is clean, safe and well situated. There are some interesting characters hanging around outside but they did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: Rooms with a separate bedroom and living room are good value for money and give you the chance to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4
Nights the location is fantastic walking distance to everything in Auckland city. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom apartment and was very spacious with lots of room. Good cooking facilities in the room. The only downsides to this hotel are that the parking is so expensive and just be careful if your a female
At night time because some dodgy characters hang out the front of the hotel. But all and all a great hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Texan4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Auckland CBD generally has few homeless people around, however I assure you that they are harmless, I have never heard any mis-haps caused by them (touchwood). Further we are also located only 50meters from the main Police head-quaters which further makes our property even more safe for any female traveller.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £95 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing