We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel next to the sky tower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2011

good hotel, stayed here as soon as we landed in Auckland. next to the sky tower and 5 mins walk from the port. very good location, with a car park right in the same building! very friendly staff and very helpful for advice on what to see around. highly recommended. had frontside facing room, and did get the street noise even on the 23rd floor, but very comfortable beds and good spacious rooms

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loonytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thank you for posting feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the spacious room. Our location proves to be popular with guests, with excellent proximity to Auckland’s best attractions. Your feedback on the street noise is duly noted and will be taken into account as we continue to strive to make the hotel the most comfortable stay in Auckland. As with all Crowne Plaza hotels, our staff are friendly and knowledgeable so you get to make the most of your time in Auckland and we are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

This hotel is next to the Police station in downtown Auckland so you will hear their sirens on each call thoughout the night as the windows are not double glazed.

But staff are friendly and the hotel is in good location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobHampton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Many thanks for posting your experience on trip advisor. We take all guest feedback very seriously and your issue regarding the noise is duly noted, although we must state that the hotel is not located next to the police station. The nearest police station is several blocks away from the hotel. All feedback is discussed internally and helps us make more informed decisions on the future direction of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The hotel is very nice with big and clean rooms and very good service. What stands out the most is the location. It is a walking distance from the Sky Tower (3-4 mins), harbour (10-5 mins) and the shopping street ( 5 mins). Recommended for stay if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DipanjanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Thank you for posting feedback about your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland on trip advisor. We are pleased that our rooms met your requirements and our service was spot on. We certainly couldn’t do it without the commitment of our wonderful staff members. We agree that the location is fantastic for accessing Auckland’s attractions and shopping. In addition, there are many fantastic restaurants and entertainment options within the vicinity. Thanks again for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We spent 7 weeks in New Zealand and stayed at this hotel twice. Do not hesitate to stay here. A first class hotel with outstanding service and a wonderful restaurant, mall and staff service. All for a very affordable rate. In the 7 weeks, this was by far the best hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobS039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Crowne Plaza Auckland. The team really appreciates the feedback after all the hard work that we put in to make it such a comfortable stay and a great dining experience. We hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and we would love to welcome you back on your next trip down under.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our trip. The staff couldn't be more helpful, from the Concierge who pointed us in the direction of a petrol station to fill up our hire car, and booked 2 beauty treatments for us, to the reception staff who were wonderful enough to give us a room on the 25th floor with a view of the Sky Tower.
The room was wonderful (what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza). We had 2 Queen beds, plus a lush Chaise Lounge in front of the window.
2 of the lifts are glass with a fantastic view to Down Town and beyond.
The location of the hotel is perfect, seconds away from the city centre. As a tip, don't always be tempted to turn right out of the hotel, as there are some lovely little restaurants and bars to the left of the hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

On behalf of all the staff at the Crowne Plaza Auckland, we would like to thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review about the hotel and staff. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to write about their experience on trip advisor, as it helps other travelers make more informed decisions when selecting accommodation. We always share feedback with our staff and I am sure the Concierge team will really appreciate your kind words after all the hard work they put in. We are often complimented on the hotel’s stylish rooms and fantastic, central location and there are certainly some great restaurants nearby. Thanks for sharing a great little tip for our future guests and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Everything Crowne standard except a little bit old, multi entry/exit car park presents good value. Right in the centre of CBD, opposite to the Grand Skycity hotel/Casino.
Shopping centre and food court/restaurant downstairs in the same building.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Thanks for posting your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Auckland on trip advisor. We are pleased that you found everything to be up to Crowne Plaza standard and that you are happy with the fantastic location and the car parking. Your feedback regarding the age of the property is duly noted. Guest feedback is very important for the future direction of the hotel therefore, we are very appreciative for your insight. Please note however, that all rooms were refurbished in 2008/2009. We would love to welcome you back again next time you are in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We used the Crowne Plaza hotel for a leadership Hui and I was going to write to the hotel to thank them - and then thought I should just write it here. The service at this hotel was some of the best I have experienced anywhere. Every single staff member not only seemed happy in their job, and not only willing to help, but they were always wanting to go the extra mile. I asked if they had had a lot of professional development and training - one answered "Not really, but they are really good to work for and look after us, which motivates you to do your very best." A good leadership principle to live by!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Thank you for posting your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Auckland on trip advisor. We are pleased to read that our staff exceeded your expectations. As part of IHG, the Crowne Plaza employees embrace ‘Winning Ways’, which is the framework that helps to shape the way we work. It is based on 5 key principles; ‘Do the right thing’, ‘Show we care’, ‘Aim higher’, ‘Celebrate difference’ and ‘Work better together’. The staff member you spoke to really sums it up well and they certainly speak on behalf of the whole crew. We also like to share feedback with our staff and I am sure they will be pleased with your kind words. We encourage our guests to post their experience online which not only helps us continually improve the guest experience, but also helps the travel community make more informed decisions when selecting a suitable hotel. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert street | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £109 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing