We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Overall, a good stay. Well located: several block walk to the Wharf, shops and entertainment. The restaurants at the Wharf are expensive, but there are smaller, ethnic eateries near the Crowne and are highly recommended (try Father Ted’s Irish Pub...basic, but great food). The Crowne is not much to look at from the outside and the lobby is not well defined: hard to tell where the bar & restaurant begin and where the lobby waiting area ends & the restaurant is expensive (breakfast buffet is $30 NZ and is nothing fancy). Internet at $30 for 24 “use” hours which will easily get you through several days. The plus side, however, clearly outweighs the cosmetics: reception was very helpful and informative; the rooms are very well done, clean, smartly appointed & great climate control; the location is phenomenal: close to Sky City (casino, nightclubs & restaurants), University of Auckland (park), great mall out the east side of the Crowne (you really have to look for it, but it’s worth it...tons of small specialty shops and a food court for the frugal); and if you’re energetic a few km walk to the War Museum (do NOT miss this). Tip: Do not take a cab from the Airport; cost is close to $90 NZ. Take “Airbus” from either the Domestic or International terminals; cost $16 NZ and the bus takes you directly to the City business district with one of the stops one block from the Crowne. You either pay the driver when you get on or buy a ticket online and present the printed voucher. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubhlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel is a typical standard Crowne Plaza - this property is a little older than many, but rooms have been updated and overall feel is good. Close walk to many of the things you wish to be in Auckland for, and good selection of coffee, food and shopping easily accessible.
However, beware of the appalling internet charges! $29.90 for 24 hours only gets you 100MB - and just clicking through to the hotel's own page costs you 2MB. You then have the choice of slowed speed, or paying an additional $0.10 per MB. So download your mail and check your facebook at your peril. Without a doubt, the most exorbitant charge of any hotel I've stayed at. Intrigued that a previous reviewer praised the free access - it's certainly not the case for all. As a business traveler (100+ nights/year), am accustomed to this as an included service, and on this basis, I will select elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: As for all IC Hotel Group, it's worthwhile to join Priority Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steveck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for choosing to leave your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are pleased that you found the room to be of a high standard and the location convenient.

With regards to the internet charges, we are sorry that we have not met your expectations and pleased be rest assured that your feedback is taken seriously. We understand that the costs of internet can be high and that most hotels provide the same service. To provide a solution to this we do offer packages with internet included (which is our most popular package) and also complimentary wireless internet in the club lounge when staying on the club floor – designed to give additional value back to you should you have internet requirements during your stay.

Thanks again for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience and it helps when individuals like yourself offer their feedback on the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed here for business to see if it might be suitable for regular business trips. The good - I asked for a quiet room and the receptionist went to some lengths to ensure that this occured which was great. The food was very good and the free internet was also good.

Not so good - the bed was super hard (never really experienced something so hard in any NZ hotels I have stayed in), uncomfortably so and I did ask if they had something to make it softer but the receptionist said every bed in the hotel was like this - so I moved to another hotel in the city the next day as I was staying in this hotel all week.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear NewZealandMolly,

We are writing with regards to your recent trip advisor review on the Crowne Plaza Auckland because we believe there may have been a mix up about what hotel you are reviewing particularly for 2 reasons:

1. Our beds are consistent throughout the hotel and are “Crowne Plaza standard”. They may be considered as ‘firm’ but not like what you have described in your review. We have never had any feedback regarding our beds being too hard and we are often complemented on the level of comfort they provide for our guests.

2. We do not offer free internet which you have stated in your review which raised the question whether you have selected the correct hotel when you have commenced your review.

However, we do take feedback very seriously and if you have further concerns we would encourage you to contact us at dosm@crowneplazaauckland.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Had a wonderful night, fantastic clean well equipped rooms and breakfast was also wonderful. Great helpful staff will be back

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for the positive feedback. It’s always great to read after all the hard work that goes in from all the staff to make it a comfortable and friendly place to stay. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was our first trip to the Crowne Plaza and the service is excellent. We booked a club room which was very roomy, clean and gave us access to the club lounge. The club lounge is on the top floor with exceptional views and between 5:30 and 7:30 gets you free drinks and nibbles. We could of had breakfast up there also but decided to have it downstairs in the restaurant which gives you a full breakfast instead of just continental.
We dined in the bar which had a good range of food, made to a high standard. The service was excellent throughout our stay. The only drawback is the parking. You have to drop your bags off before you park and then come back down to reception to book in. It's a bit picky but if your used to valet parking it's a little inconvenient, but it is much cheaper. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Club rooms on higher floors, very quiet and reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flemo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Many thanks for providing your feedback on the Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are happy to have exceeded your expectations with our club room product and are glad that you enjoyed the added benefits. I will pass on your feedback to the hotel staff and the restaurant team who I am sure will appreciate your feedback on the great service and high standard of food. In addition, we appreciate for your feedback on the parking. The hotel is fortunate to have 750 car parks located next to the hotel with internal access to the hotel foyer. Although a Valet parking service is not offered by the hotel which may be a little inconvenient if you are used to purchasing this service, there are certainly many benefits having your vehicle so easily accessible, secure and close to the hotel. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My 2 friends and I spent the weekend staying in the hotel and were very impressed by the level of service during our stay. From the consiege to the restaurant staff to front office,the service was warm, friendly and very efficient. To top things off on our departure and running a little late to sit down for breakfast,Kyle from front desk,offered to put together a takeaway box of muffins,crusions and fruit and drink for us to enjoy in the taxi on the way to the airport . We will definately be staying here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fetis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you for providing your feedback on the hotel. We are thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations. We realise that it’s important that you have a comfortable stay so you get to enjoy the weekend and our team are always happy to go the extra mile. We will share your feedback with all the team and I am sure they will appreciate your comments (Especially Kyle!). We hope you got your flight ok and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip up north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Yes, the Club rooms are the best ! Spacious, yet unassuming. The bathroom with huge walk in shower and sep bath was awesome. Continental breakfast is very good - but the evening drinks/canapes you cant go past - a great variety. A very nice interlude before dining at Aria restaurant. (so good - we dined both nights of our stay) The mushroom rissotto entree, I ordered as a main and it was so very good - that, yes, I had that both nights ! Restaurant staff were exceptionally professional and friendly. Just two minor things - 1) Luckily I had printed off my reservation receipt - (as my bill showed way more than what I was expecting) and reception staff had no idea about current deals. 2) Our second lot of complimentary water bottles went missing - maybe because we hadnt finished our first ones...... Just small details though - overall a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Priority Privilege and Priority Club are BOTH worth joining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mckenzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you for choosing to share your experience on Trip advisor. I can assure you that your feedback is valued by the hotel and we will certainly use it to make the guest experience even better. We are pleased that you had a great experience staying in one of our club rooms and enjoyed all the added benefits. We will pass on your feedback to our restaurant team and I am sure they will be keeping the risotto on the menu following your review!! We appreciate that you have provided 2 points on where we can improve and we will address these immediately. This feedback helps us to make more informed decisions on where we can improve the guest experience going forward. From the team here at Crowne Plaza Auckland, thanks again for the great review, it was certainly pleasant reading and we really appreciate the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert street | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £111 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing