We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I just had a night at the Crowne Plaza on a recent business trip. I was upgraded to a club room with a great view of the Sky tower from my level 27 room. The club room includes free drinks and snacks each evening. The room had a king bed and great bathroom, all very clean. One slight issue was the air conditioning, which would not change no matter how much I tried. Still it did not affect my sleep in a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was a choice of a continental in the club room or for $8 extra you could eat in the main restaurant with a large buffet, that was very good, great coffee to.
Overall a very pleaseant stay and I will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    793
    198
    41
    18
See reviews for
294
635
117
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Crowne Plaza is located very conveniently for the Central Business District and the Queen Street shops (which, on the whole, are nothing special). The ferry terminal and buses are not far away and the train station which has local services and one daily service to Wellington is about 10 minutes walk.

We were well received and looked after on both occasions. The restaurant service is excellent but in New Zealand this is nearly always the case. The food good and the steak I had was outstanding.

Our bedroom was well equipped and spotless. The view was uninspiring.

A big plus for the hotel is step free access that leads to Queen Street during the day.

Parking is in the adjacent multistorey car park and is at a reduced rate compared with the public 24 hour charge.

There are a lot of places to eat nearby which range from the very cheap to expensive.

Visitors to Auckland should have no problem getting to the hotel from the airport by taxi but many drivers seem to have difficulty in getting to less obvious destinations. Corporate Cabs have never let us down. If arriving at the airport on an Air New Zealand flight go to the airline's NZ website and look under offers for taxi bookings. The fixed price means that a\ny misguided tour is not at your expense!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admiral44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband and I decided to take advantage of not having our son overnight, for the first time in many months, and go and have a romantic night away in Auckland. We phoned the hotel and spoke to a lovely duty manager who confirmed a price for us including breakfast in a deluxe room. We told her that my husband was 6 foot 8, so would need a seperate shower and bath, and also told her I was pregnant so would need a non smoking room.

On check in we were given a room key and went up to our room. On arrival in the room, we noticed that it had a shower over bath, so we called down to reception and they agreed to swap the room. In addition, we asked if the room was a deluxe as it was very basic. They confirmed it was a superior room we were booked in to. We went and got another key and went to the next room. On opening the second room we were greeted with a very strong smell of cigarette smoke. We called the front desk again and they offered to come and spray the room. We declined because of my pregnancy and increased sense of smell. The porter came up and agreed that the room smelt strongly of smoke. Interestingly, he told us that the hotel had only been smoke free for a few months, and some of the STAFF actually smoke in the rooms still.

Anyway, off to the third room of the night we went. This room had been sprayed before we arrived and although there was no cigarette smell, the deodorising spray was overpowering. The smell made me feel sick. In addition, we noticed cigarette staining on the ceiling above the bed. I admit that had I not been pregnant with an overractive sense of smell this third room would have been fine. Unfortunately, after seeing me struggle in the room for a while, my husband went down to speak to the duty manager.

They swapped us to our fourth room of the night, which was an accessability room, and had no smell at all. This is the room we completed our stay in.

The decor of the rooms is fine, although a bit more dated when you compare it to the other auckland hotels of the same price, such as skycity and skycity grand. The linen wasn't as good a quality, but the towels were lovely! The location of the hotel is fabulous and close to lots of restuarants and bars, all within walking distance.

The hotel offers a wonderful buffet breakfast in the morning and we couldn't fault the food at all.

We were really disappointed in the hotel overall, especially with our experiences of cigarette smoke in the rooms, despite requesting a non smoking room. It was our first night away in a year and we were disappointed. We filled out a comment card about our experience and handed it in at reception. They assured us it would get given to the appropriate manager. We proceeded to settle our bill, and the lady overcharged our card by around $70. She noticed and apologised, but said she couldn't refund the money directly onto our card as the accounts team were not working that day. This seemed ridiculous to us, as all people offering Eftpos should have merchant cards to refund money directly to the cutomers card, should an error be made. My husband works in finance and has to do this all the time, and all retailers do it routinely. Anyhow, after about 30 minutes of waiting and her checking with the duty manager she was finally able to give us a refund.

Despite completing the comment card, we have had no response from the hotel yet and it has been many weeks since our stay

We both left and said we would not stay at Crowne Plaza again. We will go back to staying at Skycity hotel, or pay the slight extra to stay at sky city grand.

Very disappointing!

Room Tip: All superior rooms seem very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Many thanks for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. We are very disappointed to have not met your expectations and we are very sorry for that. We have received your comment card and have sent you a letter addressing your concerns, which I hope you have received. Please be assured that your concerns are currently being addressed internally and we are doing what we can to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed only one night in a club room for our wedding anniversary. Room was fine, although the view from one window looked straight into the hotel bedrooms across the road. The view from the other was lovely - looking down to the harbour.
Bathrooms are a little small, but acceptable.
Went to the club lounge for evening drinks. Not sure what time you need to get there to get a seat, but the lounge was absolutely full. It thinned out after a short while. The two staff members coped admirably. Although there was a large crowd, there was plenty of food and drinks. I was surprised and impressed that different types of nibbles appeared during the evening, not just more of the same. Had breakfast here the next morning. Again it was full, but managed to get a seat and the breakfast was more than adequate.
The only thing really letting down the club lounge was the lack of wireless internet. It was available for a price (very expensive). Most club lounges these days provide this for free. However, wired computers were available free of charge.
Had dinner at the hotel restaurant - the Aria. Wouldn't bother again. It wasn't particularly nice and the service was lacking.
All in all, I enjoyed the Crowne Plaza and would readily go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajusnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Overall, a good stay. Well located: several block walk to the Wharf, shops and entertainment. The restaurants at the Wharf are expensive, but there are smaller, ethnic eateries near the Crowne and are highly recommended (try Father Ted’s Irish Pub...basic, but great food). The Crowne is not much to look at from the outside and the lobby is not well defined: hard to tell where the bar & restaurant begin and where the lobby waiting area ends & the restaurant is expensive (breakfast buffet is $30 NZ and is nothing fancy). Internet at $30 for 24 “use” hours which will easily get you through several days. The plus side, however, clearly outweighs the cosmetics: reception was very helpful and informative; the rooms are very well done, clean, smartly appointed & great climate control; the location is phenomenal: close to Sky City (casino, nightclubs & restaurants), University of Auckland (park), great mall out the east side of the Crowne (you really have to look for it, but it’s worth it...tons of small specialty shops and a food court for the frugal); and if you’re energetic a few km walk to the War Museum (do NOT miss this). Tip: Do not take a cab from the Airport; cost is close to $90 NZ. Take “Airbus” from either the Domestic or International terminals; cost $16 NZ and the bus takes you directly to the City business district with one of the stops one block from the Crowne. You either pay the driver when you get on or buy a ticket online and present the printed voucher. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubhlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel is a typical standard Crowne Plaza - this property is a little older than many, but rooms have been updated and overall feel is good. Close walk to many of the things you wish to be in Auckland for, and good selection of coffee, food and shopping easily accessible.
However, beware of the appalling internet charges! $29.90 for 24 hours only gets you 100MB - and just clicking through to the hotel's own page costs you 2MB. You then have the choice of slowed speed, or paying an additional $0.10 per MB. So download your mail and check your facebook at your peril. Without a doubt, the most exorbitant charge of any hotel I've stayed at. Intrigued that a previous reviewer praised the free access - it's certainly not the case for all. As a business traveler (100+ nights/year), am accustomed to this as an included service, and on this basis, I will select elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: As for all IC Hotel Group, it's worthwhile to join Priority Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for choosing to leave your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are pleased that you found the room to be of a high standard and the location convenient.

With regards to the internet charges, we are sorry that we have not met your expectations and pleased be rest assured that your feedback is taken seriously. We understand that the costs of internet can be high and that most hotels provide the same service. To provide a solution to this we do offer packages with internet included (which is our most popular package) and also complimentary wireless internet in the club lounge when staying on the club floor – designed to give additional value back to you should you have internet requirements during your stay.

Thanks again for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience and it helps when individuals like yourself offer their feedback on the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed here for business to see if it might be suitable for regular business trips. The good - I asked for a quiet room and the receptionist went to some lengths to ensure that this occured which was great. The food was very good and the free internet was also good.

Not so good - the bed was super hard (never really experienced something so hard in any NZ hotels I have stayed in), uncomfortably so and I did ask if they had something to make it softer but the receptionist said every bed in the hotel was like this - so I moved to another hotel in the city the next day as I was staying in this hotel all week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear NewZealandMolly,

We are writing with regards to your recent trip advisor review on the Crowne Plaza Auckland because we believe there may have been a mix up about what hotel you are reviewing particularly for 2 reasons:

1. Our beds are consistent throughout the hotel and are “Crowne Plaza standard”. They may be considered as ‘firm’ but not like what you have described in your review. We have never had any feedback regarding our beds being too hard and we are often complemented on the level of comfort they provide for our guests.

2. We do not offer free internet which you have stated in your review which raised the question whether you have selected the correct hotel when you have commenced your review.

However, we do take feedback very seriously and if you have further concerns we would encourage you to contact us at dosm@crowneplazaauckland.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing