We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay here for 2 nts. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The glass elevator was impressive. Great location, nice sized rooms.

Room Tip: The higher floors or corner rooms probably have better view of sky tower out of your room window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

We booked and checked into Crown Auckland after previously booking into and then immediately booking out of a dive of a hotel further up the road. Pulling up to Crown was a huge relief and pleasant experience. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - great service!!! The rooms were luxurious and clean. A central location. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avlie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Crowne Plaza Auckland for the trip advisor community. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay, found the service to be of a high standard and found our central location to be convenient. Thank you for your positive comments which we will share with the staff. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Myself and several colleagues were flown to a conference in Auckland at late notice, so ended up being billeted at several different hotels. Sharing our experiences on the way back it was pretty clear that I had the best experience at the Crowne Plaza; a quick checkin, the staff were friendly, and as I needed some advice about the city I was referred to the concierge who was very helpful. The room was a very generous size, the bathroom (shower over bath) was clean and again quite big. The bed had a variety of pillows which was a nice touch, and the air condition was quiet and efficient - I've stayed in places where the air con can't maintain a consistant temperature so this is a deal breaker for me.

The restaurant and bar downstairs were well patronised, I had the full breakfast both days and it was well catered and the staff very friendly. Housekeeping were also very good. The location is central to the majority of Aucklands CBD, and the waterfront (the Viaduct end) was an easy 10 minute walk away.

I'd recommend the Crowne to business travellers and anyone who would appreciate (or need) a little pampering and TLC while travelling.

Room Tip: The Crowne has a 'U' shape, so some of the rooms face other parts of the hotel - if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This Crown Plaza was a nice place to stay with no problems. It was located within walking distance of plenty of shops and restaurants which was very convenient. It is also walking distance of the harbor front and ferries. Convenient and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Went up to auckland to see a show at the Civic with my mother, that weekend also was the same dates my daughter was going to a concert at Vector Arena with her friend so ended up getting two rooms, we did ask that they be side by side and was told they were, until we got to our rooms to find they were actually a room apart, not the end of the world and did not go back down to complain but just a little annoyed!
Rooms in general were great and clean, Beds very comfortable, breakfast was fantastic. Had a great weekend although went home with the worst flu :(

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimbo8775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Sorry to hear that you are not feeling the best and hope you feel better soon. Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay, we take all feedback very seriously so we appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay and a fantastic weekend while staying at the Crowne Plaza Auckland but are disappointed that you did not receive the connecting rooms that you were expecting. Your feedback will be used to ensure that we are developing our staff and systems to ensure that we deliver a seamless experience for our guests. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience it caused. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza on your next visit to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I just had a night at the Crowne Plaza on a recent business trip. I was upgraded to a club room with a great view of the Sky tower from my level 27 room. The club room includes free drinks and snacks each evening. The room had a king bed and great bathroom, all very clean. One slight issue was the air conditioning, which would not change no matter how much I tried. Still it did not affect my sleep in a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was a choice of a continental in the club room or for $8 extra you could eat in the main restaurant with a large buffet, that was very good, great coffee to.
Overall a very pleaseant stay and I will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Crowne Plaza is located very conveniently for the Central Business District and the Queen Street shops (which, on the whole, are nothing special). The ferry terminal and buses are not far away and the train station which has local services and one daily service to Wellington is about 10 minutes walk.

We were well received and looked after on both occasions. The restaurant service is excellent but in New Zealand this is nearly always the case. The food good and the steak I had was outstanding.

Our bedroom was well equipped and spotless. The view was uninspiring.

A big plus for the hotel is step free access that leads to Queen Street during the day.

Parking is in the adjacent multistorey car park and is at a reduced rate compared with the public 24 hour charge.

There are a lot of places to eat nearby which range from the very cheap to expensive.

Visitors to Auckland should have no problem getting to the hotel from the airport by taxi but many drivers seem to have difficulty in getting to less obvious destinations. Corporate Cabs have never let us down. If arriving at the airport on an Air New Zealand flight go to the airline's NZ website and look under offers for taxi bookings. The fixed price means that a\ny misguided tour is not at your expense!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admiral44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert street | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £111 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing