We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Sky Tower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close to Sky Tower”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Nice Hotel, Central and only about 200 yards from the Sky Tower. Good Breakfast, clean spacious room, nice staff. Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    811
    200
    41
    19
See reviews for
300
648
120
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I've stayed in other Crowne Plaza hotels around the world and know what to expect, but this one in Auckland had a few pleasant surprises. The room was large and the beds comfortable. However, as one reviewer pointed out - it does need a facelift and modernisation. The lobby is dark, dingy and seems stuck in a 90s timewarp. However, the location is central and convenient to shops, but not high-end shops that we would like to visit. Instead, to the right of the hotel is the Screamer Bungee, and to the right, an entrance to the multi-storey carpark. The shops in the vicinity sell the usual tourist tat that you endeavour to avoid. Otherwise, as a base and value for money, the Crowne Plaza is excellent. However, there are a few improvements I would like to see. First, provide free Internet access -charging for WiFi access is grubby and grabby. 20 minutes free access per day in the lobby is mean and not enough. Small hotels, B&Bs and even large hotels like the Westin now provide free WiFi access from the bedrooms, so hotels like Crowne Paza should do the same. Second improvement - reception staff should listen to and answer questions asked. When asked, "How much is parking overnight", the answer we got, "You just have to come to the reception in the morning".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I often stay here. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, location is central to CBD.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I've stayed here six or so times, most recently in December for a few nights. The check in staff are helpful. The bar area is nice. A lot of the rooms face another hotel across the street (the Skycity Grand). The rooms are well-designed and the location is great. It's probably my first preference for a hotel in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Crowne Plaza. I was greeted when I arrived with excellent service and was very pleased with the size, cleanliness and facilities of my room. The location is also excellent, walking distance to Queen St and the attractions of the city. Other aspects of the hotel, such as the gym, were also excellent and well maintained. I would totally recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is in a central location, close to harbour, shopping in the busines section. We were there over the holidays for three nights and found the accommodations comfortable and reasonably priced. The hotel is located atop an underground shopping centre which is convenient for fast food and small stores. An independent convenience store is available in the lobby.

Perhaps because of holiday time off for staff, there was some disorganization in the restaurant and housekeeping departments. Breakfast was included and was of good quality. Staff was pleasant and helpful throughout.

Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Free wifi in lobby (20 minutes per day) and reasonable rates for either 2 or 24 hours. Self service laundry available.

Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Check rates on line on several sites. Ask for lower floors if desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaDawn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza on 12/29-1/2 after getting off the Diamond Princess. The location is very centralized to the cruise docking area and everything going on in the Viaduct Harbor. The confusing thing is just how Asian the area is. It feels a bit like Little Tokyo and when trying to find a place to eat lunch, we ended up going for quite a walk! The food court/stores attached to the hotel are 95% Asian food/stores with Asian employees. Go towards the water for non-Asian food/stores or down Ponsonby.

The Good:
Hotel let us check in early so that we could drop our bags in the room before heading out to the city
Bed was very comfortable with great linens
Good size room
Robes were a nice addition, but it may be time to replace them!
Centralized location
Nice TV (about 12 channels)
Good selection of tea/coffee in the room
Refrigerator in the room where you could put food/drinks in (in addition to the drinks you have to pay for in the room)

The Bad:
Concierge not very knowledgable or helpful on NYE activities and when I asked them to make a reservation for me to a local restaurant they seemed very put out

Fitness Center- Nice size with high quality cardio equipment. Free weights and weight machines are from the Stone Age. I have absolutely no idea how Crowne Plaza hasn't replaced this stuff yet!

Breakfast buffet is ridiculously priced for what it is. At $34 a person to order from the breakfast buffet $25ish for continental breakfast) you would expect a feast!! I'd recommend going around the corner to Coffee Club if you have any time and you'll spend half the price!

Overall, a nice stay and if visiting Auckland again and the price was right, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (higher than 20), the views can be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottySunDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,045 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing