We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in a great position.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hants,
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a great position.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was a good time to go as there was mayhem in their foyer area. A complete revamp. I suspect the great deal that we got was due to this. A club room for 4 nights with canapes, drinks and breakfast. As with our stay at the Rydges Wellington they added a credit card surcharge its tacky. I would have been happier to pay $20 extra up front. Also there is free internet that is not well explained and confusing so I paid another $20 for internet use because I was ignorant.
All in a great good value stay though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    785
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
625
116
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

3 nights $130/night King Bed Superior.

Pros
- Location is great one street away from Queen St and less than 10min to Auckland Harbour.
- Large spacious rooms
- Mini bar and tea/coffee facilities available
- Complementary use of business centre with printer. (Internet access is very expensive).
- Self laundry machines are provided.

Cons
- Busy reception area as there are business and commercial offices within the building.

Overall good value hotel in the heart of the city. Wifi is extremely pricey.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We enjoyed out stay at the Crowne Plaza in Auckland especially after the long flight from Hong Kong. It is a standard Crowne Plaza that can be found all over the world but the great part is that it is within walking distance to everything in Auckland. We looked at the Hyatt and the Sofitel while we were in Auckland but in terms of Value for Money Crowne Plaza was a great choice for us since we drove all over the city and surrounding areas. The only time we spent in the room was to sleep. As a Priority Club Platinum I did get an upgraded room for our two night stay! The views of the city from the hotel on the top floors are good as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingGlobal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at this fab hotel for 2 nights 23rd-25th jan, we had a superior room on the 17th floor looking right out onto the city theatre.The room was very spacious with modern decor and the bed was amazing you just melted into it. When we swiched on the tv it had a personlized message on it welcoming us to the hotel which was a lovely touch. The bathroom was very big and had a great shower & bath. We stayed B&B and found the breakfast food to be exellent with a huge variety to choose from, the staff were very friendly and very helpful too. The hotel is very central for the city shops and eating places and is only 1 block away from the Auckland Sky Tower, all in all we found this hotel to be an exellent all rounder and would defo book it again.

Room Tip: Book a high floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhols043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were only in Auckland overnight, so I decided to get a 'cheap' Wotif deal. It turned out to be the Crowne and we couldn't have been happier! It was a spacious room, and spotless when we arrived. Check in was a breeze and because my partner is a member of Priority Club, we got a complimentary late check out! The free newspaper was also a nice touch. We didn't really find that the rooms were dated or anything - just great value for money.

The Crowne is centrally located to everything - we were walking distance to the Viaduct and plenty of shopping, if that's your thing. The best aspect was the food court at the bottom of the attached shopping centre which had a wide variety of foods (mostly Asian styles). It was so delicious and affordable that we ate here as often as we could.

This was a great place to stay and we found it to be just perfect for the price we paid.

Room Tip: I always put in 'best room or view possible' when booking through hotel booking sites. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

An average good hotel - pleasant but not luxurious. Clean and in a good central city location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonAbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaganui
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

A stay at the Crowne Plaza will leave you refreshed and relaxed. We recently stayed here and right from the service at the front desk to the wonderful pre dinner drinks and canapes we were very impressed. I would suggest that the extra cost for a club room is more than worth it. Perhaps the bathrooms were in need of a little update but overall very good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing