We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent only one night at the crowne plaza. The room was very clean and layed out nicely.The location is convenient near skycity. We had a good stay overall. The breakfast was very good and the staff where all friendly. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debchef11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    787
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
627
117
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We only spent one night here, it was our first day in New Zealand after a long flight from Saigon. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is very convenient to to harbor area and the conceirge staff was knowledgeable and went out of their way to insure we went to a nice resturant for dinner, arranged for our rental car to be delivered to the hotel and gave solid advise on what cell phone plan to get when you are staying in New Zealand for 16 days (you do need a cell phone to confirm your next reservations or make reservations as you travel)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland and leaving your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our fantastic central location. We will forward your feedback on to our concierge team who have done an outstanding job and are always looking to refine their local knowledge base. Thanks again for sharing your feedback with the community and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ!

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

this hotel is in the middle of Auckland and very close to and within walking distance of most inner city attractions.The beds are very comfortable with a good selection of pillows.We have used the club facility a couple of times and it is excellent(although you do have to pay extra for a club room)Close to theatres and the water front,good parking onsite

Room Tip: a room facing Albert Street is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, and there were so many issues. Upon arrival, there was all this dust from the renovation going on in the front of the hotel. We checked in after travellling almost 18 hrs! and the front desk was brilliant enough to put us in a room directly by where the renovation and jack hammering started nice and early at 8am! Needless to say, our very first night in Auckland was not a restful one. We asked to be moved. We then had a rental car, which the hotel charges their guests about $24 per night! We were told that the machine to get our parking ticket validating did not work, and that hotel's system was not working properly. We then had issues with card keys to our room and elevators that never seemed to work, and which the front desk couldn't get to work. I would not recommend staying at this hotel. The only positive thing I can say is that the location is great. Very central.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandnsurfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Many thanks for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your insights and they will help us to further improve the experience for our valued guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location which is very convenient for exploring central Auckland.

Please accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the construction noise. The hotel is working with the building crew for the adjacent site to keep noise to a minimum. If there is any disturbance caused by the noise we do try and relocate guests to quieter rooms as we did following your concerns. We hope that your following nights were more restful.

The hotel works closely with the car parking adjacent to the hotel and discounted parking is available to our guests ($24 for 24 hours parking on week days and $10 on weekends) and understand that the carpark is attending to their ticketing problem.

Thank you again for your feedback and assure you that your concerns have been shared with the leaders of the hotel to ensure that our product and service delivery is constantly improving.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

this is a great Hotel which I come back time and again as I like it because it is close to everything that is going around the city. It is at the top end so it is nice to walk down to the waterfront, but close enough to enjoy the Aotea Centre, for concerts and the Civic theatre for shows. There is car parking next door which is a bit on the expensive side, but we could just go in and out as much as we liked in a day for the daily rate. the Hotel has international Foodcourt downstairs and many places around to eat. I believe the food is very nice in the restaurant but not enough evenings to try it out. Sleeping was interrupted with roadworks outside our window. In our rooms we could have had a some ground coffee instead of instant.

We were there for a family wedding and it was easy to go and get makeup and hair done just very close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room that you dont get woken by roadworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 584IRENEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Nice big bedroom and comfortable bed; important in any hotel. Views of the city are good too.

However, constant jack hammer noise (worst in the lobby & reception) as they are demolishing part of the building next door and rebuild the road and approach to the hotel, card keys that even the chambermaid & reception guy couldn't get to work, despite trying 5 or 6 times and surly female reception staff (probably driven crazy by the heavy drilling noise all day) plus the tacky shopping centre wouldn't make me stay here again in a hurry. Unless I can find an alternative, once the improvements are finished in April might come back I suppose. Have stayed at quite a few different Auckland hotels. Now that my favourite, the Hyatt has morphed into a Pullman hotel and the Hilton is a rip off price wise. it's hard to get a quality hotel that's reasonable in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are
pleased that overall you found the room and bed to be comfortable and enjoyed the views over
the city.

It is unfortunate that there is some building work being conducted at the front of the adjacent
building along with some resurfacing of the hotel driveway. The hotel is working with the
construction crew at the adjacent building to ensure that any noise is limited to reasonable
daytime/business hours to avoid impact on our guests. The finished product however will offer a much better arrival experience for guests and visitors coming to the hotel.

Your feedback has been passed on to our front of house team as part of our commitment to
continual improvement, training and development of our staff.

I hope that you do stay with us on your next visit to Auckland, and allow us to show that you have
indeed found your new favorite hotel in Auckland.

Thank you again for your time and feedback, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

For an international hotel chain the service, rooms and style are as you would expect.

The location is great and the car park is easy to reach.

There were however a couple of downsides for us:

1) The walls were thin, our neighbour had their wall mounted tv on full volume and we could hear every word, we did call reception and to their credit, they did resolve the matter but you would not expect to hear the tv on the otherside of the wall

2) The hotel is currently undergoing a referb. We were woken at 7.30am by workmen drilling and banging but it didnt ruin our stay but worth noting if you plan to stay between now and April 12 (when expected to complete referb)

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHutchy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased that we have met your
expectations in a number of key areas including the service, rooms and style. We are
often complimented on our location and is proximity to Auckland City’s best attractions
and entertainment.

We are sorry that you found the noise from the adjacent room to be a disturbance. Noise
from other guests can occasionally be an issue and we are pleased that you raised it with
our staff who were able to resolve the matter quickly.

Please also accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the construction noise. The
hotel is working with the building crew for the adjacent site to keep noise to a minimum.
I am glad that it did not ruin your stay.

Crowne Plaza Auckland has a unique feature whereby the guest rooms begin from the
16th floor, giving a buffer to any street noise that may occur in the CBD.

Thank you again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing