We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Large room with two double beds. Good bar facilities. Room 2504.
Some noise disturbance from the road during the night
Bathroom - shower below par.
Good public areas
Breakfast is great
Staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Roadside can be noisey. The view is of the hotel rooms accross the road so can not have curtains ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andmarWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good location in the center of the city - walking distance to the harbor (15-20 min walk) and all fun spots. Good value at $155 NZD for a basic room. Be prepared to pay $30 extra for a 24 hour internet access and another $30+ for breakfast. I do not recommend the hotel dry-cleaning/laundry service – the shirts come out nearly damaged and a crisp starch is not a familiar concept. In the room I had, the bathroom venting was located right above the bathtub, so when taking a shower, the shower curtain was pushing in, and the experience was quite unpleasant (I couldn’t turn the venting on or off). Hope it is not the case in all rooms. A little bottle of Manuka Shampoo though was a nice touch. Overall – still recommend, but mainly for less demanding travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dman_DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear Dman_DW,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Arrived in the midle of the night. Staff is helpfull & efficient.
Central location, we can just walk around to explore the city. Auckland Tower is just nearby, 10 minutes walking.
Room is adequate & clean.
Many food outlets/stall around. Conveneient if you travel with young kid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetnoNiekno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for leaving your positive comments on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and found our staff to be helpful and efficient.

We are frequently complimented on our location and it’s great to read that you were able to see some of the great attractions close to the hotel while keeping the kids entertained.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Auckland again on your next stay.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a property that offers very good value. The location is right in the center of town and very close to major attractions and the harbor. The hotel is connected to a mall with a food court but there are many dining options around the hotel offering a diverse range of meals, accommodating all budgets.
The rooms are of good size and comfortable. Staff at front desk are very friendly and helpful. The Concierge also was very helpful in assisting with tips on eating, day trips to Waiheke Island, transport around the city, transport to the hotel, etc.
Overall, i was quite pleased with my stay and could not have asked for a better location. Stay here and I think you will be satisfied!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkb777300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We spent a couple of weekends at this hotel at start and completion of a recent trip to New Zealand.

We read numerous negative reviews about road works but figured it surely couldn't be that bad and proceeded to book anyway. We regretted the decision upon arrival at check in. The young lady at check in must have been having a bad day as we greeted with more of a grunt than a smile. It all went down hill from there.

The construction works at the front are a complete mess and not welcoming at all. Construction workers smoke directly at the front of the entrance and it all makes it's way into the foyer. Just horrible.

The hotel itself is pretty dated - the rooms are pretty spacious, though. The bed linen and towels have definitely seen better days.

The only real plus I can see to this hotel is the location. It's close to a great steak bar and a few other decent restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Honestly, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thanks for leaving your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. We are pleased that you enjoyed our excellent central Auckland location and made the most of the surrounding restaurants.

We are sorry that you didn’t have the best of experiences with us. I will certainly take your concerns and discuss it internally with our teams.

We are looking forward to the new entrance to the hotel, it will certainly add to the arrival experience and the service delivery to our guests.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A very nice place to stay. Decor and ambience is great. Right in the middle of the CBD. The staff probably could use a reminder about manners though. On arrival, we were the only people at the desk and yet still had to wait for sometime before being acknowledged, then once we got to our rooms we had been given the wrong room type that we booked online. We had to move to new rooms which is a bit of a pain. The parking is simple provided the staff remember to tell you that you need to get your parking ticket validated at the front desk. We found out that validation was required once we got down to the barrier arm to go out and were unable to get out!! How embarrassing! When we asked the girl at the desk we were abruptly informed that 'regular customers' already know this!! Unacceptable!!!! We hadn't stayed there before like many other people won't have. Overall, the place is great but the staff definately need a wake up call!!

Room Tip: The king superior rooms are great. Plenty of room and has what you need. Make sure you get the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased that you found our rooms to be pleasant and our location to be great for exploring Auckland City.

We are disappointed that you had issues with our staff which has taken away from an otherwise nice stay. This is certainly not good enough and we will be investigating internally what happened. Please accept our apologies and we do hope that you will continue to stay with us again in the future as I would like to be able to make it up to you on your next stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your feedback

Kind regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I enjoyed the stay here. Good views from the windows, heaps of room. Comfortable walk to the waterfront.
The staff were very friendly and everything was clean.
Shopping arcade underneath was handy and lots of eateries nearby.

Room Tip: We experienced no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle8204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert street | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £111 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing