We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly hotel in the center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly hotel in the center of town”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked the Crowne Plaza for a 3 day stay prior to taking a cruise. We chose a club room as the difference in cost was minimal and was worth it given the club amenities which included happy hour drinks and munchies, continental breakfast (or discounted $8 full hot breakfast buffet in the restaurant), and two computers with wifi access. You will pay if you want full access, although you can get a half hour free wifi in the lobby.

We arrived late afternoon and were given a room away from the elevators as we requested. It was a corner room with lovely views of Sky Tower and the harbor in the distance. However, it was rather small considering our cruise luggage so we called down to ask about alternatives and within 5 minutes a bellman appeared with a key to our new room in the center of the floor which worked out much better. Our view was into the Sky City Grand hotel across the street but we weren't there for the views, just a comfortable, safe place where we could get a good night's sleep.

The rooms are well appointed, with flat screen TVs, comfortable beds, and in our case two loveseats. There were plenty of amenities in the bathroom too including sewing kit, etc. and everything was kept clean. Service was wonderful too. On our first morning there being under the influence of jet lag we accidentally left our room safe open. Inside was jewelry, money, credit cards, our passports, and a laptop. After touring around, we came back late to the room and were horrified at our mistake, but nothing was touched. We were grateful.

The hotel staff was very friendly too as they quickly gave us a late checkout to accommodate our cruise departure.

The hotel is very close to shopping (1 block away) and the Sky Tower (1 block in the other direction). It is connected to a small mall as well. We easily walked to the ferry terminal where we travelled to Devonport for the day. We also enjoyed the DaVinci Italian restaurant which is kiddy-corner from the Crowne Plaza. The food was good and the prices not extreme which is a plus in expensive Auckland.

If your plans include Auckland, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a club room if you want to stay connected and want complementary continental breakfast and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azbirdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    799
    200
    41
    18
See reviews for
295
641
119
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed at Crowne Plaza Auckland for a few nights. No problems. Room was comfortable and had view out to the street, but not too noisy. The breakfast is rather modest compared to the breakfast buffets I'm used to in Asian hotels, but it was acceptable. Hotel is well located to Auckland's central business district and is within walking distance of most city facilities. There's a small convenience store at lobby level and it was open every time I needed to buy snacks etc. Not sure of its exact opening hours, but seemed to be open until late. If I had a gripe, it was that the check-in for Priority Card holders was crowded with airline staff (Singapore Airlines crew, I think). That meant anyone using that queue was held up waiting for the aircrew to be assigned rooms, while those guests in the non-priority queue we processed much faster. I would have thought a hotel of this standard would have arranged a side counter to check in airline crew - after all, their needs are pretty predicable and no doubt they pay a much cheaper rate that "ordinary guests". No doubt the hotel will be considering renovation of its rooms at some stage soon, the bathrooms are outdated and could do with a tidy up. Overall, it ticked more boxes than not and I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Inspector_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Room was clean, location is good (close to supermarket), breakfast was great with quite a lot selection.
The only thing they need to look into is the staff's attitude.
The receptionist was friendly but the staff at concierge wasn't helpful. When I asked for a map, the staff wasn't really paying attention to me.
And some of the staff in the restaurant weren't friendly too (some of them were friendly and smiling).

Ask for a room on a higher level. We were on 22/F and we could still hear some noise on the street at midnight.

Room Tip: Request for a higher level room as there was a bit noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WY_KWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and great central Auckland location.

I am disappointed that you found our service lacking. This is definitely not up to our usual standard and we will certainly address your comments internally.

I would like the opportunity to personally welcome back to the hotel on your next trip to Auckland.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Close to all coveniences, 20 minutes walk to Pier, Central downtown, many shops and restaurants. Nice comfortable King Size bed. There are stores/ shop and food court connecting to the hotel lower level. Free Wifi limited only 15 min per day in the lobby. Overall is a very nice stay in Crowne plaza Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights around New Year's. The staff was very friendly and even let us check in before 9am because our room was already ready (may have been because I was a rewards club member, not something I'd expect every time, but very nice after 24hrs of travel to get there). The room was nice and fairly modern. The towels were fluffy and huge! (not like we get in the US.) The location is excellent -- a block from Queens St, Skytower, theaters, and only about a 5-10min walk to the water front. We had an excellent stay and would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your New Year's Eve overnight stay. I am happy to hear that the team was able to accommodate your early arrival because I know that travelling from overseas can be exhausting. I hope that our comfortable beds, fluffy towels, and modern rooms gave you the relaxation you were looking for. The team and I look forward to seeing you upon your return to Auckland.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Another good stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. Staff were friendly food in Aria was delicious, rate was good. The hotel is in a good location walking distance to everything ... Only complaint is that the hotel is noisy I was woken at 7am by the sound of slamming doors and vacumn cleaners.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you returned to the Crowne Plaza while visiting Auckland and enjoyed our friendly service, delicious food, and great location. Come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Tried one of the upmarket rooms near the top of the Hotel.
Very classy, quiet, and the view over the harbour was fantastic.

You can walk virtually everywhere from this central location, parking at the hotel was very good if you have a vehicle...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing