We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely in need of a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely in need of a makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend
Easy access to the CBD, good breakfast & undercover parking available , in my opinion that's about it.
Rooms and bathroom require a makeover.
Very basic presentation for Crowne Plaza, disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear patu7,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback of our hotel. I am happy you found our location to be convenient and the breakfast served was sufficient. I apologize however that the condition of the rooms and bathroom facility was not at par with your liking. I have taken note of your feedback and this will be forwarded to the management to consider for upgrades needed.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    787
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
627
117
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, amazing room with most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, 24 hour gym had a basic equipment but everything you need, complimentary wifi in the lobby for 20 minutes or 20 mb...staff was efficient

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Anya,

Thank you for posting your fantastic review. I am so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. We get many positive comments on the comfort of our beds and it is great to hear that you had a good sleep!
Did you know that we guarantee you will find the best room rate for any Crowne Plaza hotel on our own website? This is known as our Best Price Guarantee! Please go to the IHG or Crowne Plaza website to book direct.

Kind regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is ideally located in the heart of Auckland. You're 2 minutes walking from Queen Street and also Sky Tower. We had a room just in front of the Sky City hotel and the swimming pool. Too bad there is no swimming pool at the Crowne Plaza....

We really enjoyed our stay, but we had a small problem with the activities desk: they made a car reservation for us that the company never heard about. So finally we ended up organizing everything ourselves.

Anyway, I recommend this place to enjoy Auckland: walking distance from all shops and good restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review, and for your recommendation. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. I am very sorry about the mix-up with your rental car booking. We pride ourselves on our attentive service and taking ownership for guest requests and I apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your, or our, expectations.

Kind regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel is very central and the room was a good size. The bed was very comfortable, staff are friendly. The only annoying issue is one can clearly hear the words being spoken on the TV in the next room. The staff on reception said they were aware of this due to other complaints. I did not use the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoy our location, the size of the room and our fantastic friendly staff.

Please accept my apologies for the noise issue from the TV next door. Due to receiving a number of similar complaints I am happy to report that our Maintenance team have worked on and solved the issue. We hope to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Auckland again soon so that you can experience these improvements for yourself.

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I often stay here for a night in town. The staff are most helpful and reception can usually give us the same room. Rooms are nice and are mostly quiet. Very handy to lots of Restaurants, shops, bars and the casino. Can recommend this as a good value stay in Auckland.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side seem to be the best and quieter away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback. We most certainly value your loyalty as a frequent guest and are delighted that you enjoyed our service, rooms and location. We greatly appreciate your recommendation to the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Auckland for your next night in town!

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great breakfast, very nice bed, quiet room, no bathrobes, easy walk to waterfront cafes etc.
Didn't have time to use the club lounge but have used it before, it's very good. The underground car park is very accessible. Small gym but has the basics.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all of the positive comments you provided, and are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. Please accept our apologies for not having bathrobes available for you. This was an oversight on our behalf and we will address it internally to make sure this does not occur again. We hope to welcome you back again soon so that you can enjoy the fabulous service and amenities of our club lounge.

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Overall my stay was good. The room is clean and spacious. The club lounge is good. I was disappointed with my room service order. The staff were friendly, although the concierge did not have current information about restaurants.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the street side. Dispute being on the top floor I was forced to wear ear plugs due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a successful stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland and our spacious rooms met your expectations. I am sorry that our room service did not meet your expectation and that you did not receive the expert advice that our dedicated concierge team are known for. I hope you did mention the specific room service issues during your stay so we can address them. I will also review the restaurant information available to the concierge team and update this as required.

Thank you again for leaving your review and I hope we can welcome you back the next time you travel to Auckland.

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing