We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I highly commend this Hotel. The room was about what I would expect from the grade of Hotel, but the restaurant was far above expectations. The breakfast standard was very high and my wife and myself ate in the Aria restaurant every evening. We don't normally do that, because Hotel restaurants are not up to this standard, and there was sufficient variation on the menu to choose something different each time and it always came up to a very high standard. Service throughout the Hotel was high and I particular commend the Assistant Manager Sherida Vorpal who sorted out a couple of matters for us with efficiency and great friendliness. Next time I am in Auckland I most definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember which floor and location you park your car and study the payment machine carefully!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff, especially Sherida, delivered the friendly service Crown Plaza is known for! We look forward to hosting you again for your next Auckland adventure!

Best regards,

Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    822
    201
    42
    19
See reviews for
303
652
121
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Hotel is centrally located on Albert Street in Auckland. Good connectivity to all places in the city and situated at the perfect location. The rooms are very spacious and nice. Comfortable beds. Bathrooms are not so much fancy but neat and clean with all basic facilities.
The Coffee Shop offers wide variety and selection of food.
Staff is very friendly. Lady at Concierge was very helpful, I was checking out early in the morning a very helpful guy from reception helped me and arranged packed breakfast for me...I did not remember his name.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay in Auckland. Perfect location and excellent staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shargo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Shargo 312

Thank you so much for your great review on your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland, and for your compliments about the fantastic service our staff delivered to you. I will be happy to pass on your review to the staff so that they will see how much you appreciated their assistance!

Kind regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Hi,
I was a bit disappointed about this Hotel. It was very loud and crowdy. The Hotel
Lobby sounds like a full pub. The breakfast was with 25 Euro very expensive. Same
for parking place.

In addition the service in the Hotel Lobby was a bit unfriendly. I expect more from
a good Hotel.

Our room was old style. The carpet was dirty (black feet after shower). The bathroom
was same old and not clean.

The location is good. No question!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Walter 054

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic central location however, based on your feedback, it is evident that we did not succeed in meeting your overall expectations. We strive to create an experience where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service and we are very disappointed to see that we failed to meet both of our expectations in so many areas. Thank you for informing us about the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. We will be discussing your concerns in our next team meeting and we will be sure to work on finding better solutions in these areas for the future. We hope to have an opportunity to redeem ourselves to you.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It was nice staying here. The property is very good. Most of the things were very good. We enjoyed a lot with other group members. Outside views from the room very nice.
Location was also proper. Breakfast was of the very high standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harinderjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Harinderjit,

Thank you so much for your review of the Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you have a chance to visit us again without the group, why not try our Unwind and Recharge Package which includes a breakfast for two, plus two 60 minutes Stone Spa Treatment at Bliss which is just located at our Atrium across our hotel foyer. You can book online at our website. Thanks again for leaving your review and we look to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This Crowne Plaza is a good business hotel for staying a few days. The central location makes it ideal to either go shopping or to walk to the harbour. While the bed's mattress was extremely soft, which gave me back pain, all other features of this hotel are good. The mattress has two thick toppers, which makes it very fluffy.

The bathroom is well sized and the shower is excellent. The work station is practical for some hours working. The booking and check-in was fast and easy, as it is always with IHG hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiKuSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear MikuSingapore

I like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments. I am thrilled that you had a productive stay while on business in Auckland. Our location is very central and within easy reach of many attractions and shopping and it sounds like you made the most of your time away from the desk.

I have forwarded your comments about the mattress being too soft to our Housekeeping Manager who will look into this matter. We really appreciate your comments as they will help us greatly to further improve our services.

I am pleased to hear that the check in process was fast and efficient as you would expect from a world class Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Kind regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Crowne Plaza is a great location with good facilities and very friendly and helpful staff.

Check in late in the evening was very quick and I was in my room and settled in a very short period.

The breakfast area is busy but again good service with plenty of options.

The hotel is vey close to a sky city and an easy 10 minute walk down to the Viaduct which has heaps of quality Restaruant offerings.

Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockfam_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Hockfam1

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. Our location, as you mentioned, is very central and within easy reach of Auckland's attractions and shops - perfect for a successful stay in the City of Sails.

We understand that you like to get to your room as soon as possible when arriving late in the evening, therefore we are happy to hear that you found our check in process quick and efficient.

Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here as part of a group booking. We were well looked after during the booking process and helped in all aspects of our booking. Feedback from the group was positive, rooms were comfortable and the usual set up for this class of hotel and staff were professional and cheerful in their interaction with the guests. Would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidmar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Vidmar96

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Being part of a group booking, it is important for us to receive feedback, so thank you for choosing to leave your comments on trip advisor.

I am excited to hear that all aspects of your booking and stay were handled in a very positive and professional way. I love the comments about our cheerful interaction between staff and our guest.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming your group or yourself as an individual booking to Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Kind regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing