We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered at Crowne Plaza, Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pampered at Crowne Plaza, Auckland”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great check-in at the Crowne Plaza Auckland, where Amy greeted us and got us into a great room on the 27th floor, with a fab view of the harbour.

Amy also suggested that we sign up for IHC Rewards, which we did, as well as an upgrade to Club level for our stay. Are we ever glad we did! Not only did we get a great room with a view, but we also got Internet access for our full stay, breakfast in the penthouse Club Lounge, and free drinks and appetizers in the Club Lounge each evening. Wonderful addition to our stay. The Club Lounge staff were spectacular, and made our stay so much better!

A few days later, we stayed at the Crowne Plaza again before we left New Zealand, but they were all sold out of Club rooms. Boo Hoo!!!

The location and service were great, and we would gladly take the Club upgrade on our next stay. The IHC Rewards also helped us at the Holiday Inn in Sydney, Australia on the last leg of our trip, so much appreciated.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade to Club level -- the penthouse Club lounge was a great extension of our room, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeSpideyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear WeeSpideyGirl,

A HUGE THANK YOU for a FIVE STAR REVIEW!!!!! I do really appreciate it when our guests award us this accolade. I was pleased to read you had a fantastic stay with us. Yes its true we have rooms with breath taking views, I'm glad you chose to stay in one.
Thank you for your special mention for Amy, She truly is one of our superstars! I personally passed on your comments and we as team have recognised her efforts to make your stay memorable.
I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    822
    201
    42
    19
See reviews for
303
652
121
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was a lovely weekend in Auckland, with the 4 seasons in one day, as usual. The Crowne Plaza is perfectly located in the city centre, close to the theatre, all types of restaurants around, shops, etc...
I parked the car at the commercial car parking on the same building.
Room service was impeccable. Took less than 20 minutes to be served.
My favourite was a cheese platter with a NZ pinot noir. Great match.
My room was at the 23rd floor and the view was quite impressive. Some fire works during the weekend made it very good to watch.
Space in the room was plenty and the internet connection worked quite well.
Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear maurorisch,

A HUGE THANK YOU for a FIVE STAR REVIEW!!!!! I do really appreciate it when our guests award us this accolade.
Its just been a month since I moved from London and I love the 4 seasons in one day. . I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to be a good base for exploring the City.
I'm glad to hear that our room service was impeccable and we have some fantastic NZ pinot noir which is my favorite too. Our guests do compliment regarding our spacious rooms and breathtaking views.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times have really enjoyed my stay. The location is brilliant, the views excellent (it's worth paying the tiny bit extra for a higher floor) and the bed comfortable. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a better value but still good hotel.

Room Tip: It only cost $10-20 extra for a room on the higher floors and the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Christine S,

A MASSIVE THANK YOU for a FIVE Star review. I'm please to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. It is great to see that we have been consistent in delivering our Brand promise on both your stays. Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a week in Australia we toured New Zealand and spent 4 days in Auckland and this hotel was centrally located and had great amenities. The staff was fantastic and very helpful with the hop on hop off bus information and what was within walking distance to the hotel. The Breakfast was great and what a view from your hotel room.

Room Tip: Ask for a club room up near the top of the hotel the view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrvacation13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Mrvacation13,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to be a good base for exploring the City. I am thrilled to read your comments " The staff was fantastic and very helpful" , comments like this is a real motivator which makes us to work even harder to ensure very guests have a memorable stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This holiday seemed like all wrong.Between the time it was planned to inception a lot happened in New Zealand ! There was of course the winter to deal with ( we were here in india thoroughly enveloped in summer heat!) and then the series of earthquakes hitting the country ! So ..surprise..surprise!we landed to a slightly wet but not uncomfortable weather .And then the hotel!Easy check-in,warm reception, ever helpful front desk & concierge.The room was no hole-in-the-wall one would expect from a business hotel.Bath room was large & comfortable. every thing we wanted to do was just a short walk away. A very enjoyable stay.will certainly be back in the same hotel.,

Room Tip: Rooms on 16th floor give a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATSALA04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear VATSALA04,

Thank you for a fantastic four star review! I'm pleased to read that you had a great stay and Crowne Plaza Auckland will be your hotel of choice the next time you visit New Zealand.
I have been to Chennai and I can relate to you very well what you have written regarding the weather. I'm glad that the weather did not play a spoil sport and you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumarunui
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was lovely. Bed a little too hard for me, but I like soft soft soft beds. Other person liked their bed. The staff went out of their way to help and assists us in anyway with information and just doing their jobs well. Room service prompt and delicious. Would definitely stay here again. Well done.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mallorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Mallorhead,

Thank you for your four star review! I am pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and our team went out of their way to assist you. I am thrilled to hear your comments regarding room service. I am sure most hoteliers would agree with me that getting room service right consistently has always been a challenge however here at Crowne Plaza Auckland we have got it right however our focus is still on consistency.
Your comments regarding our beds, only if you would have requested one we could have provided you with a mattress topper which could have possibly enhanced your sleeping experience. Kindly let me know the next time your are staying with us I will get that organised for you.
Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I was surprised how comfortable the hotel was. Easy check in , no valet parking but just next door so easy. Room good size and ideal for business trip . Motorway is close so makes it convenient for getting to appointments.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
DearGriffinFamily4,

Thank you for your great FOUR STAR REVIEW!!!! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. As a business guests its very important that we provide as hassle free experience and reading your review I take it we have delivered your expectation however we aim to exceed your expectations so that you could give us a 5 star review the next time you stay with us.
Regarding your comment on Valet service, we did try it however due to the location of the hotel and the layout of the roads it was more of a hassle than a benefit for our guests.We are always looking at creative ways of making every guest experiences as memorable as possible.

Look forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing