We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

After travelling some distance late in the day from a really bad "resort" experience in the Coromandel, we contacted Crowne Plaza (IHG Hotel group) to put 4 very tired and demoralised travellers up for the night. They gave us a great last minute deal that included a buffet breakfast.

The staff were awesome and made sure we felt at home in our new hotel rooms. Although I am sure their service was just part of their daily job, their friendly and welcoming nature was very much appreciated and lifted our spirits. This represents the first class service you would expect from a hotel chain of this calibre; those running smaller hotels, motels and 'resorts' would do well to learn how to treat people by learning from the level of customer service provided at the Crowne.

Crowne Plaza is in a great location in Central Auckland, the rooms are 'standard four star'; clean, well appointed and spacious. The room service was prompt and the meals were huge and most importantly, delicious.

Well done, Crowne - and more importantly, you have a get team running this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Harpoon31,

WOW! What a review!! A MASSIVE THANK YOU for your 5 star review. You have put everything in writing what we have been working for and its a delight we have got it right!!
My team and I are fully aware that we have miles to go... We will keep working harder to make sure every single guest who are walking through our door have a memorable stay like you had and recommend us!!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Best kept secret in the centre of Auckland!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    822
    201
    42
    19
See reviews for
303
652
121
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you're coming from another continent, chances are your NZ trip will start in Auckland, and this is a perfect base to see the city. Central location, excellent staff and good, clean rooms. The hotel service and administration is very good and you will be made to feel like a valued customer. Just one out of date practice that detracts from the rest. They want a sizeable (and unwarranted) fee for use of the internet. Shame! Everyone uses it - just incorporate a fair share on to the room rate, instead of profiteering. Makes no difference if you are an IHG Rewards member.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear rh1312,

THANK YOU! for your great 4 star review!! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to be a good base for exploring the City and New Zealand. Its a delight to read you review mention our excellent team, good clean rooms and we made you feel valued, THANK YOU!
Ofcourse, we do provide complimentary internet through out your stay! All you have to do is to enroll on our IHG rewards Club and enjoy all the benefits which comes with it.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future and we will make sure you score us 5 star on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Complimentary Internet when you join our IHG Rewards Club!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a great time at this hotel. The location is ideal with a great variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and were exactly as pictured on the website. The staff were lovely - welcoming and professional.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JudiB272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear JudiB272,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 5 star. I'm really pleased to read you had a great stay and found the location of our hotel ideal for your purpose. Thank you for your kind words regarding our clean rooms and lovely staff who are always welcoming and professional.
Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right. I will make sure all the team see your review its a real motivator!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Where it's all very Real!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Pleasant reception at the hotel. Concierge collect my bags before I'd left the car! Friendly receptionist and nice large room.

Location is good. Close to Sky City, Queens Street and some good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Phil W,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your great four star review. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the location of our hotel, our nice large rooms and friendly service by our team. We are working on how we can improve on our service and I'm glad to read that we are on track- its a real motivator.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Where else?
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed two nights while we went to The Big Day Out. Room was great and nothing too much for the friendly staff. Joined the Crowne Plaza club which gave us a late checkout which was awesome after the BDO. Close to the casino and Queen street. Just a short walk to the Viaduct basin. Stay there!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickman1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Stickman1967,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your five star. I'm pleased to read you had a great stay during the Big Day Out event. Thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly team and our location which you found it ideal for your purpose. Congratulations on joining our loyalty program I'm positive you will enjoy a lot of benefits on your future stay, Late check out was just one of them!!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Become member of IHG Rewards Club: Late checkout @ every stay!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great location in the heart of the city near the Sky Tower. Slightly tired in appearance, but all the facilities that you can need from a city hotel and good and willing service. Guest laundry, business centre and near harbour.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear bardswalk,

THANK YOU for your four star review! I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found our location perfect to explore the city. Thank you for you kind words mentioning our service and all the small touches like the Guest Landry room, Business centre. I am glad you took advantage of all the facilities.
We are constantly looking into upgrading our product and services. 2014 looks positive in those front.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - For young people of all ages!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Comfortable room and good bathroom. Nice Staff.
It's very downtown location, so in front of a noisy street (silence room though) and inside of a shopping center. So not very charmed, but good for shopping around.
No free parking. No free internet (only 30min free/day). No free movies or movie channels in the room. Expensive breakfast. No late room service (only until 10pm) . And my room smelled bad of cigarette smoke. I had to ask to change rooms, they did it right way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielMellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear GabrielMellin,

THANK YOU for your 4 star review! I'm pleased to read you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and service offered by our team.

I'm disappointed to read we missed to provide you with the correct information possibly during your check in, We do provide complimentary internet access to all our IHG reward club members through out their stay and enrolling is really simple! All we require is your signature the rest will be done by our team. Room service is available 24 hours however the choices are limited from 11:00pm till 7:00am like many other hotel chains.
As you have mentioned our hotel is in a very downtown location, Unfortunately we do not own the car park but we do offer discounted car parking rates for guests staying with us. We do have a good selection of TV channels which is complimentary and we also provide pay TV so our guests have a choice to pick what they want to watch.
Please accept my sincere apologies with the smell in the room. I am glad our team were able to sort it out straight away. Our hotel is 100% non smoking.

Please feel free to contact to me if you wish to discuss further or the next time you are around kindly let me know so we could do to move you to a 5 Star review.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - For couples, families and friends!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing