We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable, reasonable and helpful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, comfortable, reasonable and helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My 14yo (son) 11yo (daughter) and myself stayed at the Crowne Plaza Akld after a lengthy and hot bus trip. I booked by phone and the service was perfect there, and it didn't stop when we arrived at the hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful.
The location is perfect in central Akld, walking distance to everywhere - we even walked from the bus station. Our room was so quiet, with amazingly comfortable beds and we even had a nice view over towards the western side of the city. We were on the 19th floor and our room had two queen beds.
Also, we paid a very reasonable price for the three of us, which is great for ordinary Kiwi travellers on their way through Akld.
Thank you, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The queen beds are large and comfy, the 19th floor was quiet with the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynameisdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear mynameisdeb,

A MASSIVE THANK YOU for your 5 star review!! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to be a good base for exploring the City. Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly and helpful team. We always put our guests at the heart of everything we do, I'm pleased you noticed all the small touches we do for our guests.
I can confidently say that our rooms are of good size and many of our rooms have some stunning views especially for a person like myself who has moved from London-Space is luxury!! even better if you get all this at a reasonable price.
I will make sure all the team see your kind words - it is a real motivator.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Our hospitality is addictive!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    777
    192
    38
    18
See reviews for
283
618
116
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Auckland Crowne Plaza hotel was our first stop on a three week, north to south tour of New Zealand. I am a long time IHG Rewards Club member and it seemed to me the Crowne Plaza had a convenient central Auckland location. It does.

We stayed on the hotel’s club floor and from the moment of our arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with the friendliness and positive attitude displayed by every member of the hotel staff. The hotel itself is clean, bright and modern. Our top-floor room was large and comfortable.

The club lounge offers an evening cocktail hour, continental breakfast and a smashing view of the harbor. The three nights we stayed at the Auckland Crowne Plaza were restful and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear doresco,

Thank you for your great 4 star review! I'm pleased you had a great stay with us and you enjoyed our clean, bright rooms and our club lounge facilities which is getting popular with our guests especially our evening cocktails.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our teams friendliness and positive attitude. I'm sure they will be delighted to read your review.
Guest service is our number one priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right. Please feel free to contact to let me know what we could do to move you to a 5 Star review on your next visit.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Putting our guests at the heart of everything we do!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend here in a club room. Parking is next door and easy to navigate, and reception staff were quick, friendly and efficient. Room on floor 27 excellent. Our only fault is with the club lounge which was too small to cater for its guests. On both evenings we were asked if we wanted to go down to the bar in order to find a seat. On the first night we declined and stood in the club lounge for a while until the attendant there, who was very good (Jonathan), managed to find some space for us. On the second night that was impossible. So we went to the bar. That was quite a good move as it turned out, because although you lose the fab view from the lounge, you can choose from the whole bar food menu. Unlike a number of club lounges you won't fill up on the food in this lounge. It's mostly canapé type stuff and one evening consisted of fish, and fish, and fish. We would stay again, but the club lounge needs sorting out in terms of space and food variety

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Teddall,

Thank you for your great 4 star review! I'm pleased to read you had a great stay with us. I'm delighted to see you booked Our Club rooms and found it to be to your taste, Lately our Club rooms are becoming a preferred choice for our guests and some of the rooms have breathe taking views of harbour and of Sky Tower. I have taken your comments on board and I can assure you that we are working on ways of how we can manage our Club Lounge efficiently, Yes I do remember, one evening you would have been spoilt with choice of seafood as we had our canape menu in line with the Auckland Seafood Festival at the Club Lounge for our guests who were staying over that weekend.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our teams friendly and efficient service especially Jonathan who will be thrilled to see his name mentioned on here.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Discover us!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

After travelling some distance late in the day from a really bad "resort" experience in the Coromandel, we contacted Crowne Plaza (IHG Hotel group) to put 4 very tired and demoralised travellers up for the night. They gave us a great last minute deal that included a buffet breakfast.

The staff were awesome and made sure we felt at home in our new hotel rooms. Although I am sure their service was just part of their daily job, their friendly and welcoming nature was very much appreciated and lifted our spirits. This represents the first class service you would expect from a hotel chain of this calibre; those running smaller hotels, motels and 'resorts' would do well to learn how to treat people by learning from the level of customer service provided at the Crowne.

Crowne Plaza is in a great location in Central Auckland, the rooms are 'standard four star'; clean, well appointed and spacious. The room service was prompt and the meals were huge and most importantly, delicious.

Well done, Crowne - and more importantly, you have a get team running this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Harpoon31,

WOW! What a review!! A MASSIVE THANK YOU for your 5 star review. You have put everything in writing what we have been working for and its a delight we have got it right!!
My team and I are fully aware that we have miles to go... We will keep working harder to make sure every single guest who are walking through our door have a memorable stay like you had and recommend us!!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Best kept secret in the centre of Auckland!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

If you're coming from another continent, chances are your NZ trip will start in Auckland, and this is a perfect base to see the city. Central location, excellent staff and good, clean rooms. The hotel service and administration is very good and you will be made to feel like a valued customer. Just one out of date practice that detracts from the rest. They want a sizeable (and unwarranted) fee for use of the internet. Shame! Everyone uses it - just incorporate a fair share on to the room rate, instead of profiteering. Makes no difference if you are an IHG Rewards member.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear rh1312,

THANK YOU! for your great 4 star review!! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to be a good base for exploring the City and New Zealand. Its a delight to read you review mention our excellent team, good clean rooms and we made you feel valued, THANK YOU!
Ofcourse, we do provide complimentary internet through out your stay! All you have to do is to enroll on our IHG rewards Club and enjoy all the benefits which comes with it.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future and we will make sure you score us 5 star on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Complimentary Internet when you join our IHG Rewards Club!!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a great time at this hotel. The location is ideal with a great variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and were exactly as pictured on the website. The staff were lovely - welcoming and professional.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JudiB272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear JudiB272,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your 5 star. I'm really pleased to read you had a great stay and found the location of our hotel ideal for your purpose. Thank you for your kind words regarding our clean rooms and lovely staff who are always welcoming and professional.
Guest service is our number 1 priority so it is always a delight to read that we have got it right. I will make sure all the team see your review its a real motivator!

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Where it's all very Real!
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Pleasant reception at the hotel. Concierge collect my bags before I'd left the car! Friendly receptionist and nice large room.

Location is good. Close to Sky City, Queens Street and some good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Phil W,

A HUGE THANK YOU for your great four star review. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the location of our hotel, our nice large rooms and friendly service by our team. We are working on how we can improve on our service and I'm glad to read that we are on track- its a real motivator.

I look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Johnson Joseph
Operations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland - Where else?
E-mail: johnson.joseph@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing