We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved by the Club.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Saved by the Club.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

For reference just over NZ$ 70 dollars for the taxi from the airport ( sadly, the taxi driver tried the old routine of not having any change for NZ$100.).

Then the swipe cards Checkin gave us would not work the lift, tried both cards, tried several lifts, so we trailed back to reception, got new cards.... same problem. Got a ride up to floor 25 in a shared lift and looked for stairs. Nope. Exit-only stairwells. Drag the luggage back down to reception. Amazing how quickly you become irritable after 30 hours travel. Manager took one look at our faces, got a third set of keycards, from the inner office this time, and escorted us to our room.

Room had an excellent bed, lots of pillows of varying sizes. In fact, it was one of the best beds I have ever slept in. The room was clean and modern with a decent sized flat screen TV. Unfortunately I had got the idea that by floor 26 I would get a view. Nope. See picture appended. Also the Internet was only available in the room at some ridiculous price.

Fortunately I had paid the extra for a club class room ( to get high enough for a view, so I thought ) and the little club room became our new home. It was never busy and had a great view. ( see picture ). It had a free Internet terminal and three times a day it had free food.
So being prudent scots we eat there for two days. There was a great breakfast, then you could come back at lunchtime for tea and cake. Then in the evenings there was drinks and tasty snacks. After smoked salmon, oysters, tiny pies and three glasses of a decent sparkling wine, we quite lost interest in looking for a restaurant.

The room was NZ$287 per night. ( Paid in advance rate) The location was a ten minute walk to the Harbour, but only one block off the main shopping street. We thought we were close to the downtown Avis, but it turned out to be four blocks with luggage in the rain, so next time, I would fetch the car to the hotel. The hotel lobby was busy with cruise guests waiting for their ship, so we never tried the bar.

We spent a wet morning very happily at the Domain, a short taxi ride or 20 minute walk from the hotel. The main museum is there with I think the best Mauri artifacts and a little show.

  • Liked — Club Lounge
  • Disliked — Internet prices
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AlMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    773
    192
    37
    18
See reviews for
281
617
116
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

We visited the Crowne Plaza in the centre of Auckland on a Titan tour, and this was for the first few nights in New Zealand. Although the hotel is up a steep hill from the main street leading to the harbour, there is access from a food court (below) by lift. Sky City and the Sky Tower are 5 minutes walk away.

Being travel weary from a 30 hour trip from home in Uk we were pleased at first impresions of the hotel room with 2 huge beds, a large bathroom, and all the bits and pieces to make a traveller comfortable. There is a 'pillow menu' in each room where you can have pillow fillings of your choice for a small deposit. We were quite happy with the thick hollofill pillows provided. Air conditioning functioned well.

Reception was a fairly tranquil space with a lounge area and direct access to the restaurant in which we only had one breakfast. The breakfast standard was quite good and cooked items were included in our $23 NZ (£8.50 at the time of our visit - cooked normally $5 (£2) extra).

The hotel is over 4 floors consisting of shops and a food court accessible by lift or escalator from hotel reception level. In the food court on level 1 is Hollywood Bakery providing good snacks and breakfast at very reasonable prices.

Overall we found the hotel to be a well used place of business standard, although some of our fellow travellers' rooms were said to be a bit shabby.

  • Liked — Central location.
  • Disliked — No views
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

I stayed here for one night on my honeymoon. The staff was great as they upgraded me to a huge corner room on the club level and they were very responsive. Even though the hotel is still undergoing rennovation the room being one of their best was not fully upgraded to the look and feel of the website. Once in the room it was definitly dated in many places and I actually felt a bit mislead by the pictures on the internet. The location is right in the middle of the city and even though on the map it looks close to the harbor it is not an easy walk as going from the harbor to the hotel is all uphill. If you want to be in the city it is great, if you plan on spending time on the harbor I would NOT recommend this hotel. Unfortunatly I had an unexpected problem with the room that lead me to leave the hotel for the remainder of my stay in Auckland. Because it was my honeymoon I didn't want any other possible issues but the staff handled the problem extrememly well (especially Sean the assistant manager) and offered to upgrade us to the executive suite but we chose to move hotels due to the event, if it was not my honeymoon we would have stayed. Overall it was a decent hotel that I could see being fine for businss but not a place I would stay for a romantic weekend.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Room was outdated
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank A4EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

Stayed at Crowne Plaza for 1 night on 2nd October and although a nightmare to drive into the centre of Auckland at rush hour the welcome was excellent and the room first class. Parking is provided and is very close.We had a large room with 2 double beds which was very clean, tidy, modern and good quality and with a fantastic view of the Auckland SkyTower and the Bungee jumpers! ( Upper floors only!)
The hotel is ideally situated for the Harbour/Quayside area and for shopping.
Breakfast was very good with a large range of breakfast items on offer. Service from all members of staff was polite and friendly at all times.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyOPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

Stayed here for a few nights to see a league game and have a little "city fix".

The Crowne Plaza is in a great location, the front desk checkin went smoothly and staff were attentive and helpful at all times.
The lobby area, adjacent to the bar/restaurant area is tasteful and fresh. The hotel has a real buzz about it. The atmosphere was great. Despite the hotel being busy with Australian League teams., we never had to wait to be served as staff levels were high and everyone well looked after.

The room was great. It had all we needed. Bed comfy, little couch added a modern twist to the room, and despite bathroom being a bit small everything worked well.

A few recommendations if you do stay here are:

Try the reflexology/massage clinic called Bliss just across from Hotel( literally 30 metres away). It was clean, styley and well priced..plus it's a great relaxing treat!

The Hotel buffet breakfast is the best we've had to date..better than any other Hotel or resort in nz and abroad. It's fresh, there's a huge selection to choose from and supplies are constantly topped up.

Tip for league fans:...this Hotel seems to host visiting league teams so during the NRL season you may spot some of your hero's here!..we did and it was a real bonus to get up close and even chat to some of the guys.

Excellent Hotel. Excellent Service..we will be back!

  • Liked — Overall experience and meeting some famous NRL players
  • Disliked — Overpriced internet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

Let me start by saying I always stay at Marriott properties -there weren't any in all of New Zealand, so my fall back is the Crowne/Intercontinental Brand.

The Hotel was nicely decorated, it has a coffee shop and a convience store as well as a restuarant and bar. Upon arrival I felt like a burden to the staff, pretty much it seemed as though they were unhappy to see me -I almost felt it was an American thing -but fine, who is really at a hotel to make friends with the staff anyways?
I was on the 21rst floor, the room was spacious, the sofa was a little weird looking, but the bed was comforatable, the bathroom was large enough and clean, and they have 30"? flat screen tvs. I espeically liked the switches by the headboard to turn the lights on and off (several bulbs were burnt out).
At night when I came home around 1am, I was often woken up by the slam of my neighbors room doors. So while I was exhausted and often fell asleep within minutes I was repeatedly woken up by slamming doors and it was worse if I tried to sleep in, in the morning.
The Concierge was really uneducated about what there was to do around town, meaning if I asked about a local town or neighborhood for a resturant or bar he would suggest the hotel's facility or the food court in the mall connected to the hotel.
Overall it was cheap and an average experience

  • Liked — The location and price
  • Disliked — Slow Internet Service, not so savvy Concierge, Indifferent Staff, Loud Hallways
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for three nights in October. Room was fine, good size with views over the city. Bathroom a little dated with a leaking shower despite all efforts but OK.
Housekeeping was not up to a good standard. A bottle of opened white wine (quarter was left in the bottle) was still in the fridge. Spoke to reception about it, we were not charged for the wine. However, later on dirty cups and glasses left in the room, bed was made up in a pretty average fashion.

Reception staff and concierge staff were great, friendly and helpful.

Hotel is in the retail area of town, about a 10 minute walk to the water.

Probably would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Central position
  • Disliked — Housekeeping and high internet charges
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kohkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing