We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We chose the Crowne Plaza based on location and we believe we made a good decision. We were very pleased with it's proximity to everything once we got to know our way around.
The Crowne Plaza was only a block away from the Sky Tower. The main street, Queen St, was only a block in the opposite direction, so it was very easy to find anything you wanted: shopping, restaurants, entertainment, ATM banking machines, etc. We found a 24-hour Internet Café around the corner on Wellesley St, called the Midcity Computer Internet Café which was very inexpensive (and very convenient).
There is a free city circuit bus (not the green one) which does a loop around the downtown area. So the hotel was in a great location for that as well.
We had originally planned to take the Airbus Express bus from the airport to the hotel, but instead for just a few dollars more, we took the SuperShuttle. It lets you off right at the door of your hotel. We’re glad we took it. Parts of downtown have fairly steep hills (like around the area where the Sky Tower and the Crowne Plaza are), so trying to drag luggage our luggage would not have been fun.
Our room was spacious and nicely laid out. There was no noise whatsoever. And the bed was exceptionally comfortable.
We found the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. And the tuck shop in the lobby of the hotel was well stocked and quite a convenience. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank succeed_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    793
    198
    41
    18
See reviews for
294
635
117
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed here on a business trip for 13 nights in Jan.

Very good location next to Sky Tower and Queen Street with a nice large room.

Gym was good extra and the laundry was useful.

Shame the wifi was expensive and not very good speed.

Staff were a little 'stand off' not rude, just not very friendly

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranmerePhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

As a Priority Club member of the InterContinental Group, I looked no further because this was the only option in central Auckland, and I wasn't disappointed. Right in the CBD, a few minutes away from the Sky Tower, it's in a very convenient location for restaurants (there's a food court in the basement), shops and sightseeings, with the Airbus Express bus stop a few steps away. On the other hand, the access to the hotel is a bit weird...

As for the hotel itself, the room was nice enough with a huge window overlooking the city. And there's a good gym with a sauna in the locker room. A swimming pool would have been welcome, though.

I don't know about other hotels in Auckland, but I would recommend the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed in March 2010 with a friend. We had a nice twin room which was spacious with comfortable beds. Location of the hotel is good, but a few blocks away from the harbour, but close to the Sky Tower.
Liked the gym, which was quite large with good choice of machines.
No free wireless unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in September. The weather was atrocious so we spend some time in the hotel. The amenities are adequate, having a guest laundry was great but the breakfast was a problem. We had an early flight out of Auckland and went down to breakfast for the start of service at 6.30. There was no hot food out and we waited nearly half an hour for some of the hot buffet to be ready. This is not good enough in a five or even 4 star hotel. Other hotels I have stayed in are ready for service when they open for meals. It is what one expects for teh prices being paid!

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hildaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I emailed resovations for a quote for a standard double room in 21 September out 22 September 2011 one night i explained i was a priority member having booked and stayed holiday inn and crowne plaza hotels many times they came back with the quote off $350.00 sayig it was world cup rugby price i told them i was overnight going to holiday inn hawaii. no loyalty here seeing booking is ten months in advance. shame on you for not looking after your regular clients.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank grumphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

This is my second review on Crown Plaza. Stayed with them on two occasions during the last few months because of corporate rates we were offered. One stay on a Club Floor – total waste of money. Dirty upholstery, tables and floor in “Club”. Very (very!) limited assortment of snacks and drinks.

Air conditioners are still noisy and unregulated. Staff rather indifferent, Priority Card is almost unrecognizable and provides no additional offerings on reception.

Realistically – 3 ½ star. But very good location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing