We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and surrondings for family staff”
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and surrondings for family staff”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occassions with our three kids, they love the pool and spa. The rooms are a generous size and the pub is child friendly. Ideal for the zoo and MOTAT and close to town. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    53
    66
    18
    17
See reviews for
66
45
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on wotif.com and spent a couple of nights here as part of our trip to Auckland. The exterior of the hotel could do with a repaint and a little more attention to home furnishings in the room. However the bathroom was very modern with a decent shower. The hotel was in an ideal location for jumping on the bus to get into the city centre. It was also easy to get to the zoo and Motat. The city was busy so the quiet location was good. There was also free car parking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crooksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very attractive appearance both inside and out. Off street parking included. Great rate for so close to Auckland CBD. Excellent breakfast, lovely rooms, friendly and professional staff. There is nothing not to like.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Alex Polizi, the hotel inspector would have a field-day in this hotel with its unkempt grounds, dubious cleaning in parts, outdated furniture, threadbare sheets and what appeared to be low-occupancy. However, for $125 for a night over the weekend which included a bottle of wine, complimentary breakfast and a movie pass plus its central location, it is still very good value and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here because we where going to the rugby at Eden Park. It was a great spot to be at, an easy walk to the park of about 2 km, easy parking. As it situated near the northwestern motorway it is very easy to get to. I slept really well and breakfast was great. The bathroom was a little small but we where in the apartments across the road and the price was very good so really not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stay here when we come to Auckland, always good. Nice n close to the city, close to the motorway. Pool right in the middle for the kids too play. Nice rooms. Friendly helpfull staff........................................

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodOldTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We got the two bedroom apartment. It has one bathroom and a small kitchen. It was very cozy and situated beside the main road but it was fairly quiet during our stay. Highly recommended room for families or groups of four to six.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_travelure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.6 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Property: The Surrey Hotel
Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing