We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay & a little disappointing”
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #48 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night stay & a little disappointing”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were somewhat disappointed when we found that our room was across the road from the hotel complex itself. As we wanted a hotel with a restaurant for our evening meal & breakfast, we found that we had to brave the traffic on a busy road. If we knew of this prior to booking, we would have booked elsewhere. As we mounted the stairs to the room on the second floor, we passed several empty beer bottles laying on the verandah. I was somewhat disturbed by this as we were checking in at 3pm & assumed that the rooms & surrounds would have been cleaned by then. A group of smokers & drinkers congregated outside of our room during the evening but they did quieten down by 10pm. When we pulled the cover back off the bed before retiring, we found drops & smears of blood on the white blanket.
These were the things that detracted from the hotel but we found the staff were amazingly friendly & helpful. We ordered two different pizzas for our evening meal. They were absolutely superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for your review and I am very sorry to hear the blanket was not clean. Unfortunately we try very hard to keep our cleaning standards at a very high level and on this occasion it would appear that has not been the case. The room you booked says quite clearly on the website it is situated accross the road. Next time you come to Auckland, book direct with us and we will guarantee your room is where you wish. Great that you enjoyed the restaurant!! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    53
    66
    18
    17
See reviews for
66
45
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before we floes home.... We had the worse nights sleep we'd had since leaving the UK.

The bed was really uncomfortable & it was really noisy.
The hotel is on a main road and traffic just didn't stop regardless of the time of day. Kept us awake most of the night.

We booked this hotel due to the pool for the kids, but "pool' is not the word I would use to describe it. It was freezing despite it being described as warm and once the 2 kids were in there was barely any room for anyone else.

The reception staff were abrupt and at times rude & very unhelpful.
The laundry lady, however was great.

Not a great end to our trip and the start of out journey home. Would not stay here again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kJGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thanks for your feed back. I was surprised at your review.... the pool is heated to 29 degrees C? and not big enough for 2 children???......After reading that I found it difficult to take the rest of your review seriously!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We needed a reasonable two nighter in Auckland, and this was selected by my wife. The room was clean and tidy, but the walls seemed very thin as we were kept awake by a neigh outing guest snoring, and others somewhere else talking until late. Wifi is available, but only 1 hr (continuous) is free with a requested log in code. After that it was $8 for 2 hrs, which in my view is nonsense and well out of date.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, Guest Relations Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thanks for your feed back. Next time you want to stay let us know you are a light sleeper and we will find you a room in the main hotel that is nice and quiet. Wifi varies in all hotels but if you do your homework I think you will find that The Surrey Hotel is one of the cheapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Staff were very friendly and always willing to assist when the need arise. Decor wasn't quite to my liking but location was the key for us. The bed was great which meant sleeping was a breeze, pull out beds in lounge equally comfortable. Room was kept clean during our stay and restocked with fresh towels, tea and coffee each day. It is a short stroll to a Supermarket and many takeaway restaurants. Overall, we had a comfortable stay and if you are looking for something not to far from the city, I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asign0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thanks for your feedback. From your description you were in one of our garden units. We hope to get these refurbished this winter so the next time you are here hopefully you will enjoy the new decor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very friendly and helpful front staff. Clean and tidy room, very comfy beds with good and quiet air conditioning. Bathroom was little small but neat and clean. Was there on thursday and friday upstairs across the road, have absolutely no complaining about noise level,(and I'm not used to city noise) slept very well. Very fair price at $ NZ 135.00 a night. Good value for money.
Visited the restaurant twice, top service there too, very good food and the best rhubarb desert in Auckland. Highly recommended.
I would have to say it was the most pleasant stay I ever had in Auckland. It will be my first choice on any future trips to the City.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruralboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Many thanks for your review, always good to know that people have an enjoyable time! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surrey!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, there is a bit of wear and tear in the rooms, but it is so much nicer than modern "plasticized" hotel rooms. Real furniture like a well-loved old home. It was great to have the kitchenette, and to be so convenient to the bus route which got us down-town to the ferries in about 20 minutes. The service was outstanding - the front staff went out of their way to be helpful and stored our luggage willingly after we checked out. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the road and had a lovely little private courtyard surrounded by greenery. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks so much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed staying here with us at the Surrey Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

On a two night visit to Auckland for Motat, Zoo, and cricket at Eden Park the Surrey was a fair priced option (booked through Expedia) nicely located in Grey Lynn, giving us easy access to these and other central venues. We obtained a two bedroom family room with simple kitchenette facilities. The beds were fine, bathroom neat and the kitchen fair. Great North road is quite noisy so expect that to take a little getting used to (no double glazing) or take earplugs! There are two parts to the hotel and we were in the separated part across the road from the main part where reception and the restaurant are located. The room had no lounge facilities so is very much a place to sleep (a family apartment is available for at greater cost but would certainly be worth it for families wanting to spend some time lounging at the hotel). There was no air conditioning in our room, something which would have made a summer stay more pleasant. The small table in the kitchenette had only two chairs both past their prime...read, sagging in the seat!. We also had to go scrounging to the pub for enough bowls and cutlery for a family...not a big deal but surely good practice would include checking the kitchen. Staff we talked to were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. A few niggles perhaps but certainly would look to book in again for a similar trip to central Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Good Morning Dubjays, Thanks for your feed back. Next time you come to Auckland and want a family room contact us directly and we will book you a family room over the other side of the road and away from the traffic noise. Check them out on our Web site!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.6 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Property: The Surrey Hotel
Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing