We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, excellent staff”
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in the Surrey's two-bedroom unit for three nights recently and found it to be very clean, tidy and well-equipped. The pool was very small but sufficient for the kids to enjoy and I made use of the small but well-equipped gym. What really stood out was the staff - very helpful, friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Some rooms are across the road in a different building so ask for a room in the main building when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your review, we appreciate you making the effort to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Surrey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed with my sister who was in a wheelchair. The room was up a slight ramp and there is a lift to get past the stairs from reception.
The bathroom area was fine, with sloping "wetroom" floor so no difficulty in showering. The bathroom looked quite new.
The rest of the room was a little tired - it is a 1980's hotel, and looks it - but clean and confortable.
You will not be surprised or disappointed if you accept that this is a 3-star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for your review, we do have a couple of rooms that are accessible. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I needed to book a one night stay in Auckland so that I could take my dog to the Vet Specialists and also drop my mum off at the airport. I searched for pet friendly hotels and found The Surrey. I'm really glad I did.
I knew from the booking that we would be across the road from the main hotel and this wasn't a problem. The road wasn't as busy as some reviewers would have you believe. We never had any difficulty crossing. Nor did we have a problem with any noise. We slept like logs! And so did Bob.
When we arrived the man at the reception desk was lovely. Our room was quite dark ( who cares!) and had 'older' furniture in it. This didn't bother me one bit - I thought it gave a bit of character! It's obviously an older hotel, but it is absolutely spotlessly clean and the beds are super comfy with lovely clean, white bed linen. Pillows perhaps a little huge but that's personal taste! The kitchenette had absolutely everything you would need and again it was spotlessly clean.
Mum and I had a very pleasant stay and would stay again if I had to come down with a dog in tow. thank you x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thanks for your review. We are one of the few hotels in Auckland who are pet friendly and in our experience the people who travel with their pets are extremely respectful and a pleasure to have in the hotel! Bring Bob back any time! Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in a "family" unit by the pool. It was small, damp, dirty and badly needed to be done up or bulldozed. This room was not family friendly and I felt misled by the pictures. There was no lounge in our unit. The pool was ok and the staff were friendly but the water in the spa looked very dirty. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bindi149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks for your review. If you look at the pictures once more and read the description you will see there is not a lounge area in these rooms. What a shame you didn't speak to us during your stay, it is very difficult to try and re trace your room etc from an anonymous review. We do take our business very seriously and I am sorry you felt it was not up to standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were somewhat disappointed when we found that our room was across the road from the hotel complex itself. As we wanted a hotel with a restaurant for our evening meal & breakfast, we found that we had to brave the traffic on a busy road. If we knew of this prior to booking, we would have booked elsewhere. As we mounted the stairs to the room on the second floor, we passed several empty beer bottles laying on the verandah. I was somewhat disturbed by this as we were checking in at 3pm & assumed that the rooms & surrounds would have been cleaned by then. A group of smokers & drinkers congregated outside of our room during the evening but they did quieten down by 10pm. When we pulled the cover back off the bed before retiring, we found drops & smears of blood on the white blanket.
These were the things that detracted from the hotel but we found the staff were amazingly friendly & helpful. We ordered two different pizzas for our evening meal. They were absolutely superb.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks for your review and I am very sorry to hear the blanket was not clean. Unfortunately we try very hard to keep our cleaning standards at a very high level and on this occasion it would appear that has not been the case. The room you booked says quite clearly on the website it is situated accross the road. Next time you come to Auckland, book direct with us and we will guarantee your room is where you wish. Great that you enjoyed the restaurant!! Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before we floes home.... We had the worse nights sleep we'd had since leaving the UK.

The bed was really uncomfortable & it was really noisy.
The hotel is on a main road and traffic just didn't stop regardless of the time of day. Kept us awake most of the night.

We booked this hotel due to the pool for the kids, but "pool' is not the word I would use to describe it. It was freezing despite it being described as warm and once the 2 kids were in there was barely any room for anyone else.

The reception staff were abrupt and at times rude & very unhelpful.
The laundry lady, however was great.

Not a great end to our trip and the start of out journey home. Would not stay here again

Stayed: March 2014
Thank kJGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thanks for your feed back. I was surprised at your review.... the pool is heated to 29 degrees C? and not big enough for 2 children???......After reading that I found it difficult to take the rest of your review seriously!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We needed a reasonable two nighter in Auckland, and this was selected by my wife. The room was clean and tidy, but the walls seemed very thin as we were kept awake by a neigh outing guest snoring, and others somewhere else talking until late. Wifi is available, but only 1 hr (continuous) is free with a requested log in code. After that it was $8 for 2 hrs, which in my view is nonsense and well out of date.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitvlr55, Guest Relations Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thanks for your feed back. Next time you want to stay let us know you are a light sleeper and we will find you a room in the main hotel that is nice and quiet. Wifi varies in all hotels but if you do your homework I think you will find that The Surrey Hotel is one of the cheapest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland Central, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £99 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing