We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but not central”
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 14 May 2006

The hotel has good sized rooms, good bathrooms, is well decorated and is a reasonable price. It is not central, but it is close to a main bus route to the city centre. We didn't really use the hotel's facilities much as we spent most of the time in the city centre, but the bar seemed popular when we went past once.

All in all a good place for good value sightseeing, but not for you if you want the city centre on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 188 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
nyc
15
Reviewed 27 December 2005

Date: December 28, 2005
Reviewer: A seasoned US traveler

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Quality Inn West End at the Ritz Carlton. The hotel is a very pleasant old fashioned hotel. We stayed in a lovely new apartment in the back of the hotel. It had a kitchenette, fully equipped, a living room with TV and couch and a bedroom with small TV. The entire apartment was newly decorated in a very comfortable style. The apartment even had a small private patio with a table and chairs. We used it one warm morning to have our breakfast outside. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and it is a short ride into Auckland. The surrounding suburbs were a short ferry ride from Auckland and are quite beautiful. The hotel has a restaurant and the service was quite good. The staff were very accomodating and helpful. The hotel has an interesting indoor pool. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank José María H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila747-200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jeromepo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: постарайтесь, чтобы ваш номер был удалён от бассейна
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linara_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#26 of 66 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland Central, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £99 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing