We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in a 3 bed apartment in June. Whilst the furniture was outdated, it was a clean and comfy apartment. It was extremely spacious. We had a full kitchen and even a washing machine which came in VERY handy. Service was average. Good location. Supermarket 2 doors down and a main strip of shops on the next corner. Walking distance to Botanic Gardens and Sky Tower too. We got the room at a great price. It is an average hotel, so don't pay too much to stay here. Its just a room. No facilities or anything great in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Bug0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Best Western President Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

It is in an excellent location close to everything including the metro. We could walk to the Harbor, restaurants. We could just walk around the downtown area. The next morning we could just leave the bags in the storage area and pick them up in the evening before our flight.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ushdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

If I had not prepaid for 2 nights, I would have walked out of this hotel at check-in.

Incredibly inept and rude, then they would not honor the package I pre-paid at the Best Western website.

The receptionist did not seem to understand English and kept asking me for a voucher? Why would I need a voucher if I booked my stay at the Best Western website?

I definitely feel cheated, it says wireless internet is included and the reception after much deliberation and making me wait said I get an hour a day? Not in your room but in the lobby?

I was there on business and stayed here because of the packlage offer.

Then then they were unsure if I had breakfast included, treating you like some criminal trying to get something for free.

Sleazy operators at this hotel, that was more like some inner city YMCA.

Sure it is a good location but awful people running the place with deceptive advertising, just horrible.

Room Tip: stay at the Sky Plaza or Crowne
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

At the end of January 2012, we stayed 3 nights in this hotel. With it's very central location (50 m to the Sky Tower of Auckland, 50 m to Queen Street) Best Western President Hotel Auckland is a very good choice to discover central Auckland and a good quality price balance. The family flat (two bedrooms for 4 people) is very clean and fully equiped with a washing machine and a clothes dryer wich are very usefull. In front of your flat you can see people practicing bungee from the Sky Tower or infront tourist playground. The car park is very narrow, expensive and useless so avoid it. One of the disadantage of the hotel is the noise you can ear from the streets during friday and saturday nights. Double glazing is inadequate because during these evenings downtown night clubs music is to loud.
Therefore this hotel is a very good choice during the week but stay clear from it during the week end unless you are an easy sleeper or you have got good earplugs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tavanamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location was fine, the rooms were very small. We recently travelled there on a trip in June/12. There is a charge for Wifi, and the lobby is very small.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Centrally located, clean, tidy and an ultra comfortable bed! Had everything we needed for our 1 night stay. The onsite restaurant had a great selection for breakfast, the carparking was tight but safe and everything is well priced. Not the place to stay if you want peace and quiet - being central you will hear the excitement of the bustling city life.

Room Tip: If you've got a large car, ask for Park 23.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StrattiesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Central Location, pleasent price. Room was clean and bed OK, decent TV though not great reception.

Rest was less than acceptable.

Firstly the room Smelt bad / stale air with poor ventilation whcih didnt improve over time.

Secondly the room that I had didnt have a single window - ie if you like the north view then you'll love our east, south and west views too. THis was a bit freaky and combined with the stale air was enough to ensure that I'd never stay here again. My colleague had a room that did have some windows (one of which opened a fraction) but no air controls in his room. Also Smelly and in his case noisy.

Room Tip: Cant comment as never got one
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kiwi_Dave_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 67 in Auckland Central
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £61 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing