We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is located just of one of the main shopping streets of Auckland. The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were clean. We didn’t try the breakfast because there is a supermarket 20 meters from the hotel with great breakfast options. Good wifi connection although it was not free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here with a friend for a girls night out using a Grabone voucher which included parking and buffet breakfast. Room was a good size, tiny bathroom and comfortable beds. Pretty worn and basic overall.
On check in the lady who served us was nice enough. The other guy who was checking in another couple next to us at the same time wasnt. He commented that he 'hates Grab one vouchers and that the hotel had been too generous with them' which since the couple were also using a voucher from Grab One was a bit out of line. It made us feel that he was implying we werent paying enough. He also said 'We dont get many New Zealand guests and we like it that way'. Since we were all obviously new zealanders that wasnt appreciated either.
The carpark was ridiculous, so tight and they park the cars two deep so that you have to leave your car keys with them if the car in front needs to get out. I didnt really feel happy about this.
The 'restaurant' where they serve the breakfast is pretty awful. The rude chef who was at the counter had hopeless customer service skills. Food is very average and if its not included in your room fee then I would definitely go somewhere else.
Location is great and our room wasnt too noisy since it didnt face directly onto the street. Had to wait ages for one of the 3 lifts to get down to reception and when one finally arrived there was a cleaner in it who said she was using it for her trolleys. I wasnt going to wait for another one so got in but she was very grumpy about it.
Wouldnt stay here again and certainly wouldnt pay their regular rates. A backpackers would probably be much nicer if you want somewhere cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jillkj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times now when visiting Auckland. Its location is great for me, about a 2 minute walk up Victoria St to the Sky City, or about 2 minutes down to Queen St. Midtown bus stops really close, or a 5 - 10 min walk to Britomart Station.

Hotel is basic, no mini-bar, or room service for lunch or dinner. Cooked breakfast is available in the mornings which is a pretty standard buffet affair with many choices of cereal, croissants, cooked items, etc. Rooms are quite big in general, good bathrooms, and comfy, large beds. No free WIFI in rooms.

Rooms are nice and quiet if you get one on a higher story. On the lower stories you may get noise from Victoria St, especially around the weekends.

Many food choices nearby and a Countdown supermarket has even opened a few doors away recently!

If you accept this hotel for what it is, a cheaper hotel in a great location, then you should have a great stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher stories are better I think - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveM-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

good sized room in nice hotel, Brian on the reception was very helpful about trips tours etc, have to pay $20 to park in the hotel carpark which is quite frankly a nightmare to manouvre in. and pay to use the internet. all i n all a good central location in Auckland, super market down the street and everything within walking distance, we only stayed 2 nights on our New Zealand trip

Room Tip: 6th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This was a centrally located hotel at a reasonable price. The room was a nice size for a family.

The hotel is half a block from Queen Street and 3 blocks from the bus station. And there was a supermarket a couple of doors down the street. So there was always a feeling of activity and safety on the streets. It is also within a few blocks of most bus lines and the train station.

I would also point out the the night concierge gave us a recommend for Depot Restaurant which would turn our to be our favorite restaurant on our trip.

There is nothing interesting or charming about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in a 3 bed apartment in June. Whilst the furniture was outdated, it was a clean and comfy apartment. It was extremely spacious. We had a full kitchen and even a washing machine which came in VERY handy. Service was average. Good location. Supermarket 2 doors down and a main strip of shops on the next corner. Walking distance to Botanic Gardens and Sky Tower too. We got the room at a great price. It is an average hotel, so don't pay too much to stay here. Its just a room. No facilities or anything great in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Bug0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It is in an excellent location close to everything including the metro. We could walk to the Harbor, restaurants. We could just walk around the downtown area. The next morning we could just leave the bags in the storage area and pick them up in the evening before our flight.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ushdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing