We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Excellent location in CBD with supermarket 2 doors away buses close by and easy walk to harbour down Queen St. Friendly helpful staff, excellent facilities and and very good price for 3 days stay ($210) by booking on web site. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I booked on Expedia at a knocked down price, and was a little apprehensive having read mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. I was given a large and immaculate room on 14th floor which included a fridge, sink and microwave (ideal for making breakfast) and the found the bathroom, linen and room cleaning to be to a very high standard - a surplus of toiletries etc. Reading the reviews, it sounds as if the upper floors have been refurbished but not the lower ones.

They were happy enough to provide a freebee newspaper in reception, and were friendly and attentive. Internet is additional and a bit pricey by the day (NZ15) but more affordable by the week (NZ60).

it is a slightly odd hotel, with an unpreposessing reception area and benches outside which attract the homeness. But it is very central, very good value and well placed for getting around. It is also so central that you can walk anywhere, and use your hotel savings for some memorable activities - sailing an America's Cup yacht and taking the ferry to Rangitoto to climb the volcano are both to be recommended. .

Room Tip: Go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nomad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The Location is excellent, 2 mins from Queen street and walking distance to the Viaduct Harbour. Also acroos the street is the skycity casino and complex. We arrived around 10am and were let into our room with no early check-in fee. The check-in process was very easy and very smooth. We payed only $64NZD for our 1 night stay which I found incredible value. The Room is very clean and provides a kitchenette and generous sized bathroom. The room also has an extensive entertainment system and internet built in to the flatscreen TV in your room. This was a very nice feature of the room. They also have access to internet in the reception area at a reasonable rate. I only stayed for 1 night but could not fault this hotel. Great location, great room and great price, all you need!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 351maverick50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is located just of one of the main shopping streets of Auckland. The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were clean. We didn’t try the breakfast because there is a supermarket 20 meters from the hotel with great breakfast options. Good wifi connection although it was not free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here with a friend for a girls night out using a Grabone voucher which included parking and buffet breakfast. Room was a good size, tiny bathroom and comfortable beds. Pretty worn and basic overall.
On check in the lady who served us was nice enough. The other guy who was checking in another couple next to us at the same time wasnt. He commented that he 'hates Grab one vouchers and that the hotel had been too generous with them' which since the couple were also using a voucher from Grab One was a bit out of line. It made us feel that he was implying we werent paying enough. He also said 'We dont get many New Zealand guests and we like it that way'. Since we were all obviously new zealanders that wasnt appreciated either.
The carpark was ridiculous, so tight and they park the cars two deep so that you have to leave your car keys with them if the car in front needs to get out. I didnt really feel happy about this.
The 'restaurant' where they serve the breakfast is pretty awful. The rude chef who was at the counter had hopeless customer service skills. Food is very average and if its not included in your room fee then I would definitely go somewhere else.
Location is great and our room wasnt too noisy since it didnt face directly onto the street. Had to wait ages for one of the 3 lifts to get down to reception and when one finally arrived there was a cleaner in it who said she was using it for her trolleys. I wasnt going to wait for another one so got in but she was very grumpy about it.
Wouldnt stay here again and certainly wouldnt pay their regular rates. A backpackers would probably be much nicer if you want somewhere cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jillkj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times now when visiting Auckland. Its location is great for me, about a 2 minute walk up Victoria St to the Sky City, or about 2 minutes down to Queen St. Midtown bus stops really close, or a 5 - 10 min walk to Britomart Station.

Hotel is basic, no mini-bar, or room service for lunch or dinner. Cooked breakfast is available in the mornings which is a pretty standard buffet affair with many choices of cereal, croissants, cooked items, etc. Rooms are quite big in general, good bathrooms, and comfy, large beds. No free WIFI in rooms.

Rooms are nice and quiet if you get one on a higher story. On the lower stories you may get noise from Victoria St, especially around the weekends.

Many food choices nearby and a Countdown supermarket has even opened a few doors away recently!

If you accept this hotel for what it is, a cheaper hotel in a great location, then you should have a great stay. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher stories are better I think - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveM-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

good sized room in nice hotel, Brian on the reception was very helpful about trips tours etc, have to pay $20 to park in the hotel carpark which is quite frankly a nightmare to manouvre in. and pay to use the internet. all i n all a good central location in Auckland, super market down the street and everything within walking distance, we only stayed 2 nights on our New Zealand trip

Room Tip: 6th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,017 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#41 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £69 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing