We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient location and fair price hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very convenient location and fair price hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

After some intensely search for hotel in Auckland, the Best Western President Hotel won my heart for its fair price and convenient location since I would arrive Auckland by the cruise ship which disembarked at Princes Wharf in Overseas Passenger Terminal. Not until I checked into the hotel, I have come to realize the location of this hotel is really convenient to almost everywhere. I made a following list and time used in the list shows the walking distance.

1. Only five blocks (about 10 to15-minute) from Princes Wharf to hotel. I paid $15 (New Zealand dollar) for taxi because of large luggages.

2. 3-minute to Auckland’s main strip - Queen Street, you can find many shops, restaurants and entertainment.

3. 5-minute to Sky Tower, with a bungy drop right in front of the hotel

4. 10-minute to Auckland Library, (where you can get free wifi access), Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki and Albert Park

5. 10 to15-minute to Downtown Shopping Center and Downtown Ferry Terminal, where you can take ferry to Devonport, Rangitoto Island and Waiheke Island

6. 10 to 15-minute to Viaduct Harbour, where you have many choices of bars, cafes and restaurants in waterfront

7. 10 to 15-minute to Maritime Museum and Wynyard Quarter, where you can ride on heritage trams - two 1920’s trams – a W2 Class Tram and X-1 Class Tram, painted in the original 1950’s carnation red. they do the 1.5km circuit around the Wynyard Quarter.

8. Next door supermarket (Countdown) and convenient stores

9. Close to Airbus Express stop - Queen Street Middle or

10. You can book a shuttle bus from hotel front desk, I paid $30 for going to Auckland International Airport. It takes about 35 minutes to get there.

Hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful, you can leave luggages in the storage room.

My room was on the seven floor, room #708, room was old but clean with a double bed and some basic furnitures. Bed quality was good, bedding was clean. Space in both bedroom and bathroom are reasonable . Bathroom was clean and towels were white and fluffy. Basic toiletry was provided including the hair dryer. Water in the shower was hot and strong. Air con was old style and a bit of noise. This room views the hight rise buildings and the partial of tennis court.

In addition, you can find the iron and iron board in the small closet. To me one good feature in the room is the ‘little kitchen’ area , where you can find some cups, small bowls, different size of plates and utensils, even dish washing detergent. The kettle, microwave and fridge were present also.

Breakfast room is on the ground floor (lobby) open from 6:30-9:30am, buffet style costed $20 for adult and $10 for children from 3 to 12-year old. There was a la carte style too. I did not have a chance to eat there.

Gym room is on the first floor, not very big with basic equipments. Internet was not free, but price at lobby area was reasonable - $3 for 1h, $5 for 2h and $9 for 4h.

Tip: to get power, insert your room card first when you walk into the room

You can get a general idea about my room from attached photos.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    441
    308
    91
    65
See reviews for
242
414
107
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

if u want a good hotel with a good price in an excellant location than this is the one to choose. heaps of good resturants and bars next dorr literally and only a short walking distance to marina and harbour area.super market only a few doors down aswell.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We only stayed one night here and did not eat in the hotel, but the room was clean, large and comfortable. They let us check in at 12.45 on our day of arrival which was good of them and processed us very efficiently. The hotel is in a very central location, convenient to the Airbus stop from the airport and close to the Auckland Skytower attraction. the lobby is not impressive but this did not bother us.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and had a good view of the Skytower and its bungey jumpers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steyningtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Location was great, but as may be common in city centers, noisy night activity outside echoing between buildings. Some staff had an attitude about Americans. Gym not accessible. Staff arranged shuttle service to airport was good. Many nearby places to eat as well as restaurant in hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiast_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Auckland. 30sec walk to Sky Tower and a little awesome cafe The Depot or to shop. And just 2min walk to the gorgeous Albert Park.
Stayed here three times as a stopover for our holiday and found it pelesant each time.
The rooms a clean and the beds are comfortable. Traffic noise can not be heard if the windows are shut, which is great.
The only downside, the bathroom was starting to get mould and the building is quite old, so it's starting to look a tad tired.
The staff are great. They are Friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumnut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked and prepaid for the hotel six months prior to our stay. We stayed at this hotel one night prior to a 38 day cruise. The hotel met all our needs and although the front of the hotel and the lobby are a little off-putting, the stay was very nice. We arrived at the airport at 5AM and to the Airbus to town center arriving at 7AM. The hotel stored our luggage and said to return at 9:30 for a room. We did so and the room was ready. The room was spartan but had a fridge, microwave, coffee, silverware, etc. This was very nice since we chose not to include the hotel breakfast but used the grocery store 100 meters away for food, wine and other needs. The room was very quiet, the bed was comfortable and the bath was fine. It isn't luxury but it is centrally located and will meet most of your needs. We recommend this place and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We went to McDonalds for free wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sentellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Staff were bossy and had no idea what they were doing so i found myself standing at the counter for over 10 minutes... the room was messy and seemed dirty.. i couldnt access there gym... the bathroom facility was average other than the bottom of the showers paint was coming off... was a very noisy room i could hear everyone else in there room and didn't get any sleep...wasn't very easy to find or access and had drunk scarey homeless people outside

Room Tip: avoid rooms on level 4 of the building as i was stuck in the corner of the building and could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahshotelexperienc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 65 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing