We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Standard & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Checkin starts at 1pm. we checked in at 4pm and our room was still not ready. We had to be out by 5pm and they advised the room would be ready at 4.45pm!. Not happy as we needed to change etc. they offered us 4 x $20 breakfast and wifi. I declined the breakfast and said i would be happy with the $80 cash for breakfast elsewhere. The manager proceeded to tell me he had to get this off 'expedia' with whom we prepaid 6 months in advance ! I had never heard anything so silly. The hotel has terrible decor, only 1 2seater couch for a 3 bedroom. no bedside lights in rooms, very small bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Vanessa C

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. And due to the delay in checking into your room, we would like to offer you a discount of $40.00 as compensation. On the subject of the booking agent refunding guests, this is at times standard practice and can be agreed upon between the hotel and the agent depending on the nature of the situation. I had investigated your situation and was advised that you had been able to get into your room by quarter past 4, thanks to our housekeeping team servicing the room fairly quickly.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Chose this hotel due to the reasonable price and proximity to the Civic Theatre and Queen St. It was a bonus that SkyCity was also very close. Our room was perfect for our needs and was good value for money. We had our 2 daughters in their 20s staying with us and the room configuration meant that they could have their room at one end with their own bathroom. A small kitchen linked their room with ours and a second bathroom. Very clean both in our room and in the rest of the hotel. Very pleasant staff at reception. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we did not use it as we had plenty of other options. A supermarket is almost next door. Being in the middle of the city means that it is a little noisy at night but that did not worry us. Would stay here again and recommend to others as long as you are not wanting something luxurious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theleslies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear theleslies

Thank you for your recent comments in regards to your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. We always welcome feedback and use this to improve our facilities and services. We see you really enjoyed our room configuration as it offered you personal space. Our location is definitely one of our strong points and is always highly regarded by many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very basic hotel that is clean enough with all the necessary amenities but no extras. It is very well located close to Sky City and Queen Street shops. Would stay again if travelling to Auckland for just one night. Very good for the budget conscious traveller.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank traveller1981_chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear traveller1981_chch

Thank you for your previous feedback after your stay with us. All feedback is always welcome as it assists us on improving our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is located next to Queen street and very close to SkyCity which costs a lot more. This is one of the very few hotels that I have stayed that offered free wifi even though it was only for one hour in the lobby per day. The room is clean and we didn't expect to have a kitchen sink with microwave when we entered the room. The only drawback is we had to give the credit card detail as a deposit but it took over a week after we checked out to release the funds again. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Lor K

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, positive comments are always welcome and highly appreciated. I do however apologize in regards to the delay of having the Pre-Authorization released back into your credit card. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, we will recommend this hotel to our friends and family. It was very clean and tidy and so close to Queen Street shops. We were able to walk to the casino which was just up the road in the same street as the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Alistair M

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel. Your comments are a joy to read and a high encouragement for the team. Thank you for recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are rather old but you get what you pay for. A really good 3 star hotel with food basic amenities. We got free juice boxes in the morning which was awesome and their lifts are cool. Good view of sky tower and slept with no problems. Only negative is double/queen/king beds are all 2 beds joined together.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Altomatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Aft3rbirth

Thank you for your recent review of the BEST WESTERN President Hotel, Auckland. We take your comments about your stay as important, and are always working on improving our facilities to offer our guests a better experience. We are happy to read however that you had a good night's sleep which is something we love reading about in our guests reviews. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the near future.

Yours

Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived just after midnight on the 31st August, 2013.
The young man at reception, such a happy chap made to feel welcome and whole check in smooth.
We asked about what time breakfast was started, it was going to be about half hour after our departure. Said he would leave message and would be able to do a juice, cereal toast etc.
what a surprise when the chef offered to do a hot breakfast of eggs and bacon.
I was hungry and ventured down the road after check in, not sure about the area.
Room was great, we had two interconnecting. Size spacious, nicely decorated.
Would stay again.
Very near the sky tower.

Room Tip: My room mates thought front room was a bit noisy. I slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ststbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Ststbio

It is delighting to read your review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel, and that you had most definitely enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to go that extra mile for all our guests to ensure their stay with us is a memorable one. We highly take pride of our convenient central location and always present this to all our guests as a key feature of ours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £71 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing