We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here our first night in Auckland. There was no information to read about what the hotel had to offer. We rang reception and asked how to get information as we couldn't seem to get anything on the TV. They only said that they were getting their Internet fixed and did not offer any information. So we still don't know what the hotel offered. No personal bathroom articles like shampoo supplied. But the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as you can see the Sky Tower from the hotel. It's in a good location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Dianne E

Thank you for your comments on your recent experience while staying at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel, Auckland. We wish to apologize in regards to the lack of hotel information that was available. We are currently working on replacing all our Televisions with state of the art smart TV's from Sony featuring WIFI capability and easy to use functions like viewing our hotel directory and more. In a selected number of rooms we actually have dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and hand soap which is a standard set by BEST WESTERN as it offers a larger amount of product available for our guests to use as oppose to the small bottles. However we are delighted to hear that our beds were comfortable, as we have recently replaced our mattresses. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    432
    298
    89
    62
See reviews for
240
402
104
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have had an enjoyable night here, the room was very clean, comfortable and had all the basic ammenities. The rooms were not overly large, but the bed was super comfortable. The staff were very helpful and even got us into the room before the scheduled check in time as we arrived early. We didn't have any view from our room but that wasn't a problem for us. The location was excellent, only a short walk to Queen Street shops, Britomart and the Viaduct. The room was value for money and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view from your room it would pay to request that on booking - the view from our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Karen B

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive review. We do wish to however apologize about the view of your room, which you had mentioned in your comments, it is always advised to mention this at the time of your reservation being made. We thank you for your positive comment about our staff, who always try their up most to assist our guests with their requests wherever possible.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is in a really excellent location and near to all the major attractions in the city. The hotel room set up is simple but it has all the basic needs so we can't really complain. The lobby is almost non existent with only a few sofas and a coffee machine. I thought it could have been more nicely decorated at least.

The service staff is friendly and efficient - overall I feel this hotel is good enough for me to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Jane_Shen

Thank your for your recent feedback from your stay with us. All comments are highly appreciated and will use your feedback in order to improve our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

WE had a 2 room hotel sharing a small kitchenette. Each room had our own ensuite. The rooms had a nice variety of teas and coffees. A toaster would have been nice although if we walked down to the 7th floor we could have used this. WE did not feel like it so went without. A very good location with a good variety of resturants nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Anne255371

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive comments which are highly appreciated. The reason for not providing a toaster in the room except for our apartments is due no extractor fans being fitted in the rooms except for our 2 bedroom apartments. This is due to fire and smoke risk, hence we provide the toaster room fitted with ventilation. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We didnt want to spend a bomb since we r staying for a night only. Therefore, for this location , this was one of the most reasonable price we come across.
To our surprise, the 2 bedroom apartment was spacious n clean. Its a simple n basic apartment but it come with everything.plenty of towels, heater in the toilet,extra blankets, kitchenware, both washing machine n dryer too.

The location is excellent. Short walk to ur left is queen street n right to the casino.


If u want a affordable stay with a great location, u will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedream118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear thedream118

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us. We see you had enjoyed your stay as well as our central location, which is one of our biggest sellers. Our 2 bedroom apartments are one of our most popular rooms and your comments about facilities provided in the room are most welcome. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotorua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Checkin starts at 1pm. we checked in at 4pm and our room was still not ready. We had to be out by 5pm and they advised the room would be ready at 4.45pm!. Not happy as we needed to change etc. they offered us 4 x $20 breakfast and wifi. I declined the breakfast and said i would be happy with the $80 cash for breakfast elsewhere. The manager proceeded to tell me he had to get this off 'expedia' with whom we prepaid 6 months in advance ! I had never heard anything so silly. The hotel has terrible decor, only 1 2seater couch for a 3 bedroom. no bedside lights in rooms, very small bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Vanessa C

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. And due to the delay in checking into your room, we would like to offer you a discount of $40.00 as compensation. On the subject of the booking agent refunding guests, this is at times standard practice and can be agreed upon between the hotel and the agent depending on the nature of the situation. I had investigated your situation and was advised that you had been able to get into your room by quarter past 4, thanks to our housekeeping team servicing the room fairly quickly.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Chose this hotel due to the reasonable price and proximity to the Civic Theatre and Queen St. It was a bonus that SkyCity was also very close. Our room was perfect for our needs and was good value for money. We had our 2 daughters in their 20s staying with us and the room configuration meant that they could have their room at one end with their own bathroom. A small kitchen linked their room with ours and a second bathroom. Very clean both in our room and in the rest of the hotel. Very pleasant staff at reception. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we did not use it as we had plenty of other options. A supermarket is almost next door. Being in the middle of the city means that it is a little noisy at night but that did not worry us. Would stay here again and recommend to others as long as you are not wanting something luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theleslies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear theleslies

Thank you for your recent comments in regards to your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. We always welcome feedback and use this to improve our facilities and services. We see you really enjoyed our room configuration as it offered you personal space. Our location is definitely one of our strong points and is always highly regarded by many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing