We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel was central located walking distance to harbor and other city attractions.
Hotel was clean freshly painted rooms adequate. Breakfast is discounted 20% for guests.This is a very good value in Auckland tour operators will pick you up at the hotel.
Only 1 block from Queen st where you can get an Express bus to the airport. It as special bus that will take your luggage and you.Well it not luxurious, but very ample for tourist staying in Auckland. Yes I would stay there the next time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Richardedwa

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We see from your review that you had enjoyed your stay and were very satisfied with our facilities and services. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    451
    314
    94
    69
See reviews for
245
424
111
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The best part to this hotel is the hospitality of the staff. They are very helpful with everything. On the down side, I belive that they rooms can use some updating, especially the carpet. Also complimentary wifi for more than an hour should be extended to the room and not just in the lobby. Other than that, a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Royan

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, especially praising our location in the city centre, as well as your other comments mentioned which will assist us in constantly improving our facilities and services. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here on October 22nd. Since our flight arrived in the early morning we checked our luggage with the hotel and then toured Auckland. We took the ferry to Devonport and enjoyed the beautiful views of the Auckland waterfront. We checked into the hotel mid-afternoon and we were pleased with our studio room. Housekeeping did a great job and the bed and amenities were super. The hotel is located near a supermarket and were picked up a few supplies before we picked up our rental car the next day. Loads of things to see near the hotel including the Sky Tower, restaurants and coffee shops. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Tomike49

Thank you for your recent review of the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, we value all feedback and clearly reading from your comments we can see that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We always pride ourselves for setting high standards for all our staff especially for housekeeping and front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here with a friend, we got 2 single beds. Pretty utilitarian hotel, has all the necessities you need and the location is terrific in the heart of Auckland. Everything you want to see is within 5 minutes walk including grocery store, internet cafe, buses, Sky Tower, etc. Walk to the Depot for breakfast, great spot recommended by the front desk, they're across from Sky Tower. Parking I believe was $15 a night, fairly reasonable for a downtown location, and it was gated, albeit a bit dark in the parking lot. Room itself was spacious, though the "living room" area was a bit odd in that there was a lot of space with little furniture (desk, couch, tv). Kitchenette with microwave was useful for storing/heating food. Bathroom is pretty standard though it was odd there was no fan. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and nightstand lights were bright and cheery. Overall no complaints, reception was helpful, room was clean; it's not a luxury place to stay, but we were here to sleep and it did the trick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Cegar

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you made the most of our location. Our parking is actually $20 per day as oppose to $15 as mentioned in your review. In regards to a fan in the bathroom we have a centralized air vent system circulating air through all our hotel room bathrooms. Our rooms designed with basic necessities to ensure a comfortable stay for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Was an okay stay, nothing outstanding or memorable, a little slow on reception when booking in and disapointed I could not earn Best Western points as I had booked the room through the a
Air NZ website. Room was clean and tidy and a bonus being on the top floor. Okay value for money but other hotels offer free parking or breakfast for the same price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yendor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Yendor64

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. Unfortunately under BEST WESTERN policy only certain bookings will be honored points as set by BEST WESTERN and not the individual hotels themselves. I must apologize about the slow service at check as this may have been at a time we had a new staff member on shift which we however always identify clearly with a "Training" badge. Unfortunately in regards to parking all city based hotels do charge for parking due to the high cost of inner city land. In regards to breakfast we do offer a limited amount of room rates inclusive breakfast, as well as a great value buffet breakfast at only $20.00 which we do frequently discount to just $16.00 per person which we feel is one of the cheapest hotel breakfast options in the city.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A hotel that offers value for money. We had a room with 2 beds (king and twin). All basic amenities were on hand........we stayed three nights and each day the room was cleaned and refreshed with new towels, soaps & shampoo. A free one-hour each day of internet was available in the lobby. Additional time can be purchased at reasonable rate. Staff were pleasant and knowledgeable about visitor attractions and other services. Did not use the hotel breakfast service as the room had an ample kitchenette to prepare your own and fairly costly. Lots of eateries all around the hotel. The hotel was within easy access of all the inner city attractions. We took the recommend bus lines (Red; Orange; Green) and got a good feel of the city. We took the airport Shuttle express NZ$24 to the airport (door-to-door). There is also airport bus service that's a 2 minutes walk on Queen Street cost NZ$5 less that Airport shuttle. A large supermarket was next door with all the other essential one requires when on holiday. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Auckland on a budget and not expecting 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear RLeong

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, we see you had a wonderful stay with us and had made the most of the amenities provided to you in the room. We are delighted to also have read your feedback in regards to our location which is one of the many comments we repeatedly see and are very proud of. We hope to welcome you back to our establishment in the not so distant future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very poor ending to reasonable stay. My friend and I left our bags in their 'secured' baggage hold only to have my friends bag stolen. CCTV footage showed who had taken it. The receptionist was very apologetic about this, however the manager was not. It seemed the bag was stolen since it was not returned within the day. It was also very strange that there was a staff member that knew where the person worked that took the bag and they were going to go and talk to them on Monday, as opposed to calling them ASAP. My friends bag was finally returned to her minus some items (perfume etc.) over 1 week later. This was also after the bag was couriered to the wrong address (not the one my friend had given them!). What was also interesting was that they even wanted my friend to pay for the courier!!!! What a joke. Take responsibility for your mistakes and have better communication and front of house mangers to deal with these kind of problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melissahigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Desk Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Melissahigson

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. We are sincerely apologizing about the unfortunate incident which had occurred with your luggage. Unfortunately we can not quite agree on some of your comments as such we had never asked you to pay for the courier to have the bag delivered to Wellington as this had clearly been our error, neither did we send the bag to an incorrect address but merely addressed it to the address which had been provided by your friend. In regards to following this up and getting the bag returned was due to a long staying guest who had checked out and accidentally mistook the bag for theirs. At the time we knew where they had moved to and had their contact details. We feel that we attempted our best in order to rectify the situation. We have also taken measures to also ensure that this situation will in no way be repeated by changing the way our luggage is labelled and stored in our luggage store rooms. Again we thank you and sincerely apologize for the unfortunate circumstance you had endured, and do hope that has not dampened your impression of our hotel.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing