We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location: Auckland Sky Tower, food court at Elliot Street and Countdown supermarket. Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel: Spacious and clean room. Pillows are very comfy. Helpful, quick and informative staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarisRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    432
    298
    89
    62
See reviews for
240
402
104
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

After catching the Airbus from Auckland Airport, the bus stops within walking distance to the hotel. The hotel staff took some time to find my booking and assumed it was for today and didn't look at yesterday's bookings even though I arrived before 6am. But after that I was booked in and was able enjoy a good sleep. Room is nice and clean, nice facilities. The rooms are like a mini apartment with a kitchenette, microwave, some cutlery and plates, and a bar fridge. There's also an iron and ironing board and they offer luggage storage. The ironing board was wet so I asked for a replacement and in a short time that was provided. There's also a Countdown (Woolworths) supermarket and a convenience store next door. A short walk to all the retail along Queen Street, close to Britomart (more retail and restaurants), close to the quay to catch a ferry, close to Viaduct Harbour for waterside restaurants, and close to SkyCity if you like the casino's. The tour bus company (InterCity) is also near by SkyCity. Opposite the road is this reverse bungy thing for the adventurous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night with another couple for a night in the city.
Very spacious one bedroomed apartment each. Very clean too.
Found it odd that the place for your suitcase was in the lounge as was the wardrobe.
There was plenty of space for more seating in the lounge too.
No wine glasses provided at all.
Loved the soap and shampoos in pump containers in the bathroom. Linen was of a good quality also.
Awesome place to stay and walk around the city, so close to sky tower, restaurants and a small supermarket almost next door.
We did prebook a car park for $20 which was a very tiny space but luckily we had an expert driver with us. Would not have wanted to try and park the car myself.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and included fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurt, juices toast etc. Also a lovely cooked option of baked beans, sausages, bacon, eggs, yummy mushrooms, hash browns and tomatoes. Great to set you up for the day walking around the city. Very pleasant staff in the dining room.
We all agreed it was great value for money with a superb location.
Would and will be staying again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyMcIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Queensland
Level Contributor
451 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is so far the best hotel I have stayed at in Auckland, fantastic rooms, with kitchen and bathroom, restaurant, very friendly service in the middle of the CBD, exactly opposite the Sky tower! Exceptional for an exceptional price!

Room Tip: Room facing the tower on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Best Western is smack dab in the middle of the city's center. We walked around for hours since our plane caused us to arrive around 6am and the room was not ready. There are plenty of places to eat and drink surrounding the hotel as well as a casino across the street with the sky tower. We walked to the other side of town to pick up our rental car at Jucy after a while and then when we returned, the room was ready. We did a little ferry ride to Waiheke island (which is right across the bay from Auckland) and it was a cute little city with a couple shops. We climbed up mt. Victoria and saw an amazing view of the entire city of Auckland.

Anyways, this hotel was better than what we expected. We had a corner room so two of the four walls were all windows. Everything was clean and ok. Not an amazing place, but good for what you expect with best western. We had the breakfast buffet included and it was okay. Worth the price compared to all the other places around and what they charge. Perfect location. The only thing we had a problem with was parking. We tried booking through the website when we first booked (month in advance) and they sent us an email that it was full. We thought since we arrived at 6am maybe we could still get something, but they still said it was full. We ended up parking overnight at the skytower "mall/hotel/casino"? for around $20/30. Tiny parking spaces though.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view in a city. Corner room was large and plenty of sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were here for 5 nights in January. We used the hotel to explore central Auckland on foot, which was very possible from this hotel. We also did some coach trips, including a day trip to The Bay of Islands.

Our room was very spacious, with a large kitchen area which we did make use of several evenings. Plenty of shop choices around, including a supermarket next door to stock up on supplies.

The breakfast was very good and included in the room price. Plenty of choice and regularly refilled. Kitchen staff were always smiley. Lady at the dining room door, however, was very serious and not obviously a morning person!

Staff on Reception we always found to be pleasant and approachable.

Only one hours free internet in the lobby, otherwise you had to pay for use in your room. One of the few hotels on our travels around Aus and N Zealand which did not offer free internet in the room.

Our room overlooked the busy road, Sky Tower and the Sky Screamer (chair bungee). We enjoyed watching the "screamers"!.

May have just been that we were unlucky with the days we stayed,or the room that we were allotted but there was a lot of road/street noise well into the early hours of the morning, shouting/singing etc. There is a back packers place just up the road and I think some of the noise may have come from there. We accept that most central hotels will suffer from street noise, so it wouldn't stop us staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Located at the Queen Street end of Victoria Street; only a short walk up to Sky City, Queen Street Mall, Britomart Transport Centre and the Viaduct.
We booked a one bedroom suite with two single beds. No problems with cleanliness, the apartment was in good condition and had everything we needed.
The heating system in the room was slow to start but after a staff member looked at it, it worked like a charm.
The check-in process was drama-free and straight forward, the staff on reception were friendly enough towards us.
We had an issue with our room keys not working upon returning to the hotel one day, staff re-coded them but then they still didn't work, not a huge problem as these things do happen with computer programmed keys, just meant two trips back to reception and they were happy to rectify this for us.
We didn't experience any problems with outside noise- people that have mentioned it on here need to realise that you are staying in Auckland CBD, therefore there is a risk that you will hear traffic noise or people yelling etc. If you want a sound-free stay, don't book to stay in the city, it's not rocket science.
The hotel is located next to Countdown Metro (mini version of Countdown) and as you are only a short walk from Queen Street and the Viaduct, there are plenty of food options nearby.
Public transport can be caught from Victoria Street or the Britomart Transport Centre. The airport bus runs down Queen Street so that also is only a short walk to the hotel.
I would recommend this property and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing