We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub-par BW” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sub-par BW”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've stayed in many, many Best Westerns, mostly in North America and this was not a good one. The room although spacious, was very tired, with very stained mould in the grout of bathroom. Internet was not cheap and dropped out about every 5 mins. Breakfast was expensive and frequently there was nowhere to sit down due to busloads of tourists getting ready to leave for a tour. The lobby might be the most dated and unfashionable lobby of all Auckland CBD hotels. The staff was friendly and it was quiet being up high, but you could hear the occasional scream of the bungee machine outside with tourists screaming.

Not a bad hotel, but not up to North American Best Western standards

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We wish to sincerely apologize if your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. We are constantly making improvements to the Hotel. As all BEST WESTERN Hotels are privately managed we do have differing offerings from property to property. We do however take all comments seriously and thank you kindly for your comments. I have passed some of your concerns onto the relevant departments. Thank you again however for your praise of our staff.


Yours Sincerely


Romeo Liebig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    432
    298
    89
    62
See reviews for
240
402
104
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 819 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I took the airport bus from the door 9, it cost me $16 and the driver helped me to get off at right stop for the hotel Best western at Victoria St west, it was only 4 min walk to the hotel.

I quickly left my luggage at the hotel and took Ho Ho from Sky about 3 mins walk. When I came back the check in was very quick; my room was very clean and elegant with brilliant view of the sky tower. Raj was most helpful to give me directions to buy adaptor, he also loaned me one temporary so I could charge both my gadgets and I bought an adaptor from Dick Smith about 10 mins walk from the hotel for $20.

Best western charge extra $10 for wifi but you can get 30 mins free in lobby. I paid $5 for 4 hours in lobby as I just needed it just for one hour but when I came back there were no seats in lobby as big group of a tour were having meeting there so It is worthwhile to pay $10 and have it in your room but when I asked the lady at reception about the option, she was rude and refused to sort it out. It was only $5 but it is question of principle, she is the only lady who lacked patience throughout all my travels so far but some of the staff like Raj, was most courteous and helpful so it made it up;

The hotel is in excellent location, 3 mins from Sky and 5 mins walk to intercity bus, my room was clean, spacious, the bed was comfortable, good size bathroom and a little kitchenette with microwave. I would definitely recommend this hotel but if you need wifi just pay $10 extra to have it in the comfort of your room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location: Auckland Sky Tower, food court at Elliot Street and Countdown supermarket. Couldn't ask for more.

Hotel: Spacious and clean room. Pillows are very comfy. Helpful, quick and informative staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarisRahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

After catching the Airbus from Auckland Airport, the bus stops within walking distance to the hotel. The hotel staff took some time to find my booking and assumed it was for today and didn't look at yesterday's bookings even though I arrived before 6am. But after that I was booked in and was able enjoy a good sleep. Room is nice and clean, nice facilities. The rooms are like a mini apartment with a kitchenette, microwave, some cutlery and plates, and a bar fridge. There's also an iron and ironing board and they offer luggage storage. The ironing board was wet so I asked for a replacement and in a short time that was provided. There's also a Countdown (Woolworths) supermarket and a convenience store next door. A short walk to all the retail along Queen Street, close to Britomart (more retail and restaurants), close to the quay to catch a ferry, close to Viaduct Harbour for waterside restaurants, and close to SkyCity if you like the casino's. The tour bus company (InterCity) is also near by SkyCity. Opposite the road is this reverse bungy thing for the adventurous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night with another couple for a night in the city.
Very spacious one bedroomed apartment each. Very clean too.
Found it odd that the place for your suitcase was in the lounge as was the wardrobe.
There was plenty of space for more seating in the lounge too.
No wine glasses provided at all.
Loved the soap and shampoos in pump containers in the bathroom. Linen was of a good quality also.
Awesome place to stay and walk around the city, so close to sky tower, restaurants and a small supermarket almost next door.
We did prebook a car park for $20 which was a very tiny space but luckily we had an expert driver with us. Would not have wanted to try and park the car myself.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and included fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurt, juices toast etc. Also a lovely cooked option of baked beans, sausages, bacon, eggs, yummy mushrooms, hash browns and tomatoes. Great to set you up for the day walking around the city. Very pleasant staff in the dining room.
We all agreed it was great value for money with a superb location.
Would and will be staying again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyMcIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Queensland
Level Contributor
451 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is so far the best hotel I have stayed at in Auckland, fantastic rooms, with kitchen and bathroom, restaurant, very friendly service in the middle of the CBD, exactly opposite the Sky tower! Exceptional for an exceptional price!

Room Tip: Room facing the tower on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelweiss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Best Western is smack dab in the middle of the city's center. We walked around for hours since our plane caused us to arrive around 6am and the room was not ready. There are plenty of places to eat and drink surrounding the hotel as well as a casino across the street with the sky tower. We walked to the other side of town to pick up our rental car at Jucy after a while and then when we returned, the room was ready. We did a little ferry ride to Waiheke island (which is right across the bay from Auckland) and it was a cute little city with a couple shops. We climbed up mt. Victoria and saw an amazing view of the entire city of Auckland.

Anyways, this hotel was better than what we expected. We had a corner room so two of the four walls were all windows. Everything was clean and ok. Not an amazing place, but good for what you expect with best western. We had the breakfast buffet included and it was okay. Worth the price compared to all the other places around and what they charge. Perfect location. The only thing we had a problem with was parking. We tried booking through the website when we first booked (month in advance) and they sent us an email that it was full. We thought since we arrived at 6am maybe we could still get something, but they still said it was full. We ended up parking overnight at the skytower "mall/hotel/casino"? for around $20/30. Tiny parking spaces though.

Room Tip: Higher floor = better view in a city. Corner room was large and plenty of sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing