We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue...lousy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just an overnight stay with my wife. Her on conference, me on business.
Very amicable early check-in.
Well located corner room on the 14th (top) floor. Great view of the Sky Tower and the bungy- jump antics. Room clean and well appointed with wi-fi at $10 for 24hrs...would be better free but I've paid a lot more within hotels in the CBD.
All good and well appointed...until you get into bed.
Possibly the worst hotel bed I have ever attempted to sleep in!
It was so bad that we had to empty the bathroom of towels in order to lie on them. The bed springs virtually embedding themselves into your body. The frame of the mattress was so prominent through wear and tear that it should be declared a safety hazard.
Unfortunately...a hotel with a crappy bed is as useful as a cinema with broken seats....you can still see the programme but you do so in abject discomfort.
Hoping it was just this room...cos the rest of the hotel is pretty good value.

Room Tip: See the review...just avoid room 1405. Maybe ask if the beds have been upgraded on any of the other...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Opua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, we highly appreciate your feedback, and wish to assure that the bed in the room you had stayed in will be addressed immediately to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all future guests. We take the comfort and enjoyment of our guests serious when they choose BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland for their accommodation needs in Auckland.

We hope that you may give us another chance on a future stay where we can have the ability to make your stay more memorable.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
There are newer reviews for Best Western President Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Central city hotel and value for money-paid for parking but problematic.Booking worked out okay through booking.com.Was within walking distance of all Auckland CBD sights,events,transport,shopping,bars,restaurants,waterfront etc.

Room Tip: All rooms as you would expect in high-rise city hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. We value your feedback highly as it assists us to make improvements wherever required. We always pride ourselves in aiming to provide value for money for all our guests. We do understand you felt that our parking was problematic, this is mainly due to the street configuration and we always aim to help our guests with any issues they experience throughout their stay to our highest ability.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Centrally located - walking distance to the centre and harbour. Having booked and paid in advance, through Thomas Cook, was not happy when the hotel manager said they had no record of payment. First three days in New Zealand and we were forever trying to get confirmation from England that we had paid. Also had to pay a $100 bond which came as a surprise.
Room adequate and clean - manager very helpful with our prepayment issue.
A budget hotel, suitable for initial familiarisation on arrival in Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. It is always great pleasure to be reading such positive comments from our guests and seeing that that they have enjoyed their stay with us. We do pride ourselves of being able to offer affordable accommodation in a a very central location which is highly praised by many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Situated in central Auckland this is a great place for seeing the city and surrounds. The rooms are fine though not large and have a kitchenette with a microwave if you are not wanting to eat out or have takeaways. The staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms are kept clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably a bit quieter
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliNazeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my little family stayed for two nights. Our stay here was good and had no issues. Only downfall we had was arriving to hotel only to be told we had to pay a bond of $100 which we weren't aware of. All our accommodation was paid for before our arrival. We were lucky we had money left in our debit card. Was not happy about that.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise definitely request the top floor with good view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nini842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked a room with 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom from booking.com, however, when i went to the room and realised it was a 2 and a half bedroom with only one bathroom room number was 1102 i think, I called to the reception and got told by night manager (whom I think should be Julie from South Korean beased on the accent) that we were free upgraded to this room as that room doesnt have any view at all even there is no window at all. i asked her to show me the room with no windows and she said we are fully booked. then she offered me a free wife, i asked her if you stand a point of a guest view which one is better? wifi or a bathroom? then guess what she said, if you want to cancel the room I will do that for you. it was almost 11:00pm, she just said like that? did she want us to sleep on the street? really unprofessional. i cant believe she wanted to kick us out as I believe myself was not rude at all. then she offered me 2 single standard rooms. by the way she did metion you guys were fully booked, but where did these 2 rooms come from? i just dont like the thing which is not true and if you want to upgrade us why not give me a call first and explain to us if you dont have 2 bathrooms rather than I will leave a note to my reservation manager to ask why. finally she offered us 2 stard rooms with 15 minutes and i dont know which software you guys use for changing rooms for more than a quarter.

the stay was pretty ok with the room any way. just was not happy with her who told me lies all the time.

it is the first time in my life to complaint because i really cant stand the service like this. however, hope you guys can make it better.

kind regards

Room Tip: confirm with them in case they swop your room without a notice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevinjames827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I wish sincerely apologize for any short comings of your stay and the situation experienced by you. We had an error with our system which had caused a booking for a room type that had already been booked out. Our staff at the time had made all attempts to rectify the the situation to her best ability. We wish to assure you that at no time would we have attempted to evict you from our hotel and that our staff had attempted to give you certain options in order to resolve the situation. We do see that from our point we require some additional training for our staff to handle situations of this nature more effectively and swiftly. Again our sincere apologies in not having met your expectations and we hope that you will give us another chance in the near future,


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After reading all the negative reviews, I was dreading my stay at the Best Western President. First impressions were not great since the hotel is located between restaurants in the middle of the block. But, once we walked through the front doors we were greeted by a very friendly staff member. My daughter had forgotten her jacket on the shuttle and he called the company right away. The jacket was delivered later that evening.

The room was spotless and since we were on the 12th floor, it was quiet too. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean and spacious. We were given a discount coupon for a buffet breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was good. It was not gourmet food by any stretch, but there was a wide variety of good things to choose from: eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, croissant, yogurt, fresh fruit pancakes, juice, coffee, tea, etc.

After staying in a variety of many hotels over the last month, I can say that this one was one of the cleanest. The location is right in the middle of CBD, within walking distance to Auckland's main attractions. Overall, a very good experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SRQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £62 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing