We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Attractions But Noisy Corridors”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
auckland, new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close to Attractions But Noisy Corridors”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Got a great deal on a Wotif Secret Hotel for a birthday stay for my husband.Very handy for walking to viaduct restaurants.Room spacious and has a great bathroom with good amenities and plenty of room.BUT (and this is the second time I have found this here)-you can hear people entering and leaving their rooms along the hallways-even if they are not being particulaly noisy.Reception and parking service all ok.Bar had a nice ambience on a Saturday night and great harbour views.Nothing very special though, and definitely wouldn't pay full price for this place.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank callinghomekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Callinghomekids,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is valuable for me to understand where we do well and where we can improve.

I was pleased to see that in general your stay met your expectations and I hope you were able to enjoy a relaxing birthday. It was great to see that you foud our location convenient for all that the Viaduct area has to offer. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise of other guests in the corridor outside your room and apologise for any inconvenience.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope that we may see you back with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    685
    233
    90
    37
See reviews for
261
1,143
161
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed at the Hilton Auckland for 2 nights. The location is great, at the harbour, and I had a room at the top floor with a balcony with a nice view on the harbour (unfortunately it was raining all the time during my stay). Otherwise the hotel is just a regular (i.e. good) Hilton: good breakfast, spacious rooms, a (small) gym, good service etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at the hotel. Your feedback is most appreciated as it lets me understand where we are doing well and where we can improve.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and despite it raining were able to admire the view over the harbour. It was was also great to see that your experience in general met your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and perhaps we will see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I doa fair bit of work in Auckland and the Hilton is becoming my home away from home. It's a short walk from the CBD and has a great atmosphere.

If you like to exercise on your travels, the gym is good, the pool nice and it's an easy jog right at the door.

The staff are friendly and professional and go out of their way to help you, no matter what time you are frantically prepping for the next day's meeting.

The room service menu is broad, the have a healthy option and are more then happy to bring you something simple if that's all you want.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrickvillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay. Your feedback is valuable for me to understand where we do well and where we can improve.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoy staying at the hotel and that you find the lap pool, gym and our location to your satisfaction. I am also delighted that you have found the team to be helpful and friendly and I have shared your feedback with them.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Auckland and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Moved out of another Auckland hotel to this real 5 star hotel. Great great location near all my business apointment areas, great selection of restaurants in the hotel and within 200 m from the Hotel. The usuall Hilton Decor and graet water front views. Really goodAuckland buisness hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear valas88,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your stay at the hotel recently.

I was pleased to see that you appreciated the central location of the hotel and that it was convenient for your business appointments. Being located on Auckland's waterfront does also mean that we have some great views over the harbour, it was great to see that you were able to find time to enjoy the view as much as we do.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the Hilton, Auckland for two nights.
In my eyes the hotel cannot possibly be a five star hotel. I would say three to four stars.
We had booked a deluxe room overlooking the harbor.
The room was ok, but nothing flashy about it. However, the bed was really good.
In the middle of the room there eas a column that made ​​it impossible to watch television from the couch. You had the column right in the middle of everything.

Breakfast was good. However, service was far from what expected. We were seated at a table but then forgotten for ten minutes. When we finalle saw the waiter again to order coffee there was no information that NOT everything in the buffet was included in the price of 28 NZD. There was a price list on the table, but it said:
HOT / Cooked BREAKFAST
Selection from the continental breakfast buffet, plus one choice from the
A la carte menu NZD 38
We chose not something a la carte and yet we were asked to pay 38 because we had eaten something hot from the buffet.

The worst part of the stay was leaving though. We had booked a shuttle to take us to the airport and ordered a wake up half an hour before departure. We booked this at the concierge the day before. However, we were never woken up but woke up by our selves a few minutes before departure. No time for a shower that morning nor a relaxed packing.

Hilton Auckland is clearly below the standard for other hotels in this price category.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argeme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Argeme1972,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel and would apologise for the shortcomings experienced. I am sorry for the inconvenience related to the structural column in your room and the TV location. There are a small number of rooms at the hotel with this feature owing to the unique design of the building and we will certainly look to address the room design to address the issue raised when we next refurbish.

I am sorry that the breakfast team did not explain the breakfast choices available so that you could make your decision accordingly. I have addressed this matter and that of the missed wakeup call with those responsible. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments have been most valuable in helping us in our search for continuous improvement.

I do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This was an indulgence for us on the trip as we started in Auckland (NZD 370 , brkfast included). We had a room with the view of the ferry terminal and had a pleasant surprise when we got up in the morning next to a cruise ship. I am not joking, we opened the curtains and we were staring at the deck of a cruise liner. Quite a first experience in NZ.

The room was clean , simple and well furnished - had a nice tub which we didnt use. We had rented a car and were able to park it in front of the hotel, no issues there. The hotel is on the wharf itself and when you get out the door you are there. Is walking distance from a nice litlle group restaurants and pubs in the city, so you can enjoy the nightlife as well.

Remember population being an issue its not such a bad idea to help out with your luggage yourself. The staff is very friendly and helpful in case you need any directions or other information. We did our booking online and faced no hitches in doing so.

the breakfast was good. Lots of options on fruits, cereals and the spread. The cafe has a nice view of the sea so do make it a point to get window seating.

Room Tip: We had specifically asked for a Harbor view room, else you may get a room facing the inner side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderin_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Wanderin_Wanderer,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor following your stay with us in December.

I was very pleased to see that your stay met your expectations and that you found the location convenient for your activities. I noted your comment regarding the cruise liner outside your window one morning and this indeed is a unique feature of the hotel location on Princes Wharf. It is quite magnificent to see the ships berth in the morning and equally exciting watching them leave in the afternoon. Typically the cruise season is through the summer months and we make every effort to advise guests on booking if a ship is expected.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and we look forward to seeing you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We booked to stay at the Hilton for our wedding anniversary, from the moment we arrived we were treated like stars. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room spacious and comfortable. A complimentary bottle of bubbles was sent to our room with a lovely note from the management, we were so spoilt. Dinner in the restaurant "White" was exceptional.
The Hilton hotel is one of the finest hotels we have stayed in, the service, friendliness of the management and staff and location are second to none, its the only place we will stay when in Auckland.
A big thank you to the management and staff for making our anniversary a very happy one

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear MadTrish,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the hotel on tripadvisor. Your feedback helps the team at the the hotel understand where we do well and where we can do better.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary at the hotel and it is great to hear that we left you with good memories. We look forward to seeing back for a future celebration!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing