We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After spending 4 days in this wonderful relaxing hotel, just had to comment on the new FISH restaurant. The food was 5 star and we just kept going back for more each night. Excellent Champagne and wind by the glass. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear ShellSydney,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Auckland recently and for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you found your stay relaxing and very happy to see that you enjoyed our new restaurant FISH. We are very excited about FISH and our association with New Zealand Masterchef Judge Simon Gault so I am naturally pleased to see that you decided to visit the restaurant on several occasions during your stay.

I very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on future travels.

Kind regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    679
    228
    89
    37
See reviews for
257
1,114
158
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Located right on the waterfront, with easy walking access to activities throughout Auckland, this hotel looks and feels like a docked cruise liner. In fact, cruise ships dock immediately alongside. Hence the view from your room changes from day to day. One day you will have a closeup inspection of a cruise liner and another day a panoramic view of the Auckland warterfront and the open bay. Accommodations were excellent, the staff was great, and the restaurant was top notch in an obviously very competitive restaurant scene. Also, Hilton treats HHonors members very well at this location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside view the harbor, or a cruise liner (close up) , changing from day to day. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstratton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear cstratton14

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback s greatly appreciated.

I was pleased to see that in general your stay met your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed the ever changing views from the hotel and that you found the restaurant up to the standard expected.

Thank you for choosing tos tay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A really warm welcome from the reception staff started a fantastic stay. Only one night, alas, finishing a holiday exploration of both islands. Our room was huge, with a deck overlooking the harbour, and was spotlessly clean. Smoking was allowed on the deck. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and again the staff were exemplary. Probably the best Hilton I've stayed at, so far.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Mikemin,

Thank you for positing your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It was great to see that you enjoyed the view from the deck. The team will also be delighted to know that they left you with a positive impression of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Hilton in Auckland is a great place to land after "landing" in New Zealand. Flight is long and this hotel was a great place to recover from jet lag and rest up for the NZ travel adventure. Easy walking to downtown and harbor too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear bookbird2

Thank you for posting a review of the hotel on Tripadvisor, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I was pleased to see that you found the hotel ideal for your needs after arriving in New Zealand and that you were able to refresh after a long journey. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel is nice, clean and a pretty good location but we felt that it was not even remotely worth the price. The staff was friendly but definitely did not go out of the way to help. The bathroom had a great tub but probably for that reason, had a really small shower. Maybe the prices were just hiked up for the Rugby World Cup but we subsequently stayed in another hotel which was seven times less expensive without having that much of a decrease in room quality and location and actually getting better service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alythea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Alythea,

Thanks you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I was pleased to see that in general your stay met your expectations. I have noted your feedback regarding the price paid during your stay. During periods of extraordinary demand accommodation prices fluctuate in line with demand experienced for that accommodation. We strive hard to provide a level of service in keeping with that expectation. Your thoughts have been taken on board.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
719 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is modernistic, upscale and has a very attentive staff. The rooms have views of the harbor and it is in a nice safe area. It has an adequete work out room and a nice rooftop pool and spa. It also has a little gem of a restaurant in "Fish".

Room Tip: The higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear corbyandjen,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps the team and I understand where we do well and where we could improve.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel earlier this year and found the location suitable for all your activities.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had an amazing stay at this property during our 3-week adventure down under. We landed in Auckland after a week in Sydney and this hotel became our homebase for three and a half days in the area. We ended up in a corner room with a glass balcony on two sides. We loved it. Cruise ships did dock a couple of times that impact the views, but the hotel does a good job of letting you know when it will happen. We also enjoyed the bar and breakfast. The hotel is in a great location to check out many of the well-known restaurants and sign up to do boating activities. We did both the Whale & Dolphin safari and the sail boat dinner. There starting points were less than 2 blocks from the hotel. We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Request a corner room for a double balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corbyandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing