We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best setting in Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
reiveratsea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best setting in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

A room with a view here is certainly something and we had a great view out over the harbour. Although in the centre of this large city the holtel is very quiet being situated on the end of the wharf. Staff are very attentive and helpful and a special note for those on the door who could not be more welcoming!
You can not get away from the fact that is is a large hotel chain. But the setting and quality of staff give it that special feel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reiveratsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Reiveratsea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your feedback as it lets me know where we do well and where we can spend some time improving.

Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel. I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel concierge team will be delighted that they left you with such a positive impression of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    633
    216
    81
    36
See reviews for
235
1,042
147
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during the Rugby World Cup.

The hotel is situated in the harbour or viaduct, as it's called.

The room were good and breakfast satisfactory. It got noisy at night, as it was in the middle of the Fan Zone. But, I guess if one goes to the RWC you want some atmosphere, right.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johan_roets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear johan_roets,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Auckland and for posting your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your feedback as it lets me know how we have performed.

I am pleased to see your stay met your expectation and you enjoyed our location on the Wharf. I hope you enjoyed your time in Auckland during the Rugby.

I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great hotel in a great location. For a 5 day break this was far enough away from the crowds that it was quite but still close walk to many restaurants and the city. Breakfasts overlooking the harbour wery very relaxing and food was great. Dinner was also good. Bar on the ground floor was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear MandyandTim,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your feedback on your stay.

I was very happy to see that you enjoyed the location, breakfast at FISH and Bellini, the hotel's bar. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

After spending 4 days in this wonderful relaxing hotel, just had to comment on the new FISH restaurant. The food was 5 star and we just kept going back for more each night. Excellent Champagne and wind by the glass. Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear ShellSydney,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Auckland recently and for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you found your stay relaxing and very happy to see that you enjoyed our new restaurant FISH. We are very excited about FISH and our association with New Zealand Masterchef Judge Simon Gault so I am naturally pleased to see that you decided to visit the restaurant on several occasions during your stay.

I very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on future travels.

Kind regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Located right on the waterfront, with easy walking access to activities throughout Auckland, this hotel looks and feels like a docked cruise liner. In fact, cruise ships dock immediately alongside. Hence the view from your room changes from day to day. One day you will have a closeup inspection of a cruise liner and another day a panoramic view of the Auckland warterfront and the open bay. Accommodations were excellent, the staff was great, and the restaurant was top notch in an obviously very competitive restaurant scene. Also, Hilton treats HHonors members very well at this location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside view the harbor, or a cruise liner (close up) , changing from day to day. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstratton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear cstratton14

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback s greatly appreciated.

I was pleased to see that in general your stay met your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed the ever changing views from the hotel and that you found the restaurant up to the standard expected.

Thank you for choosing tos tay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

A really warm welcome from the reception staff started a fantastic stay. Only one night, alas, finishing a holiday exploration of both islands. Our room was huge, with a deck overlooking the harbour, and was spotlessly clean. Smoking was allowed on the deck. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and again the staff were exemplary. Probably the best Hilton I've stayed at, so far.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Mikemin,

Thank you for positing your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It was great to see that you enjoyed the view from the deck. The team will also be delighted to know that they left you with a positive impression of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Hilton in Auckland is a great place to land after "landing" in New Zealand. Flight is long and this hotel was a great place to recover from jet lag and rest up for the NZ travel adventure. Easy walking to downtown and harbor too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear bookbird2

Thank you for posting a review of the hotel on Tripadvisor, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I was pleased to see that you found the hotel ideal for your needs after arriving in New Zealand and that you were able to refresh after a long journey. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Yours sincerely

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing