We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Aukland on a recent holiday to New Zealand. For our stay in Aukland, the Hilton could not have been situated in a better part of the city. It is close to downtown and to the ferry terminal. We had a standard room originally, but were offered an upgrade to a harbor view room for $55NZ a night. We upgraded, and were happy we did. The only downside to this location is if a cruise ship comes into harbor, then your "harbor view" room might be blocked by the large ship. The hotel itself is modern and clean, and the staff all very helpful and attentive. The restaurant is also great, although expensive. Breakast is included in your room though, and fantastic at the restaurant. The bar however is way over priced. Find yourself a nearby pub if you want a few drinks. Nevertheless, would definitely stay here again. If you are American, you think of Hilton as just average hotels. This Hilton (and the one in Queenstown) however have got to be among of the crown jewels of their portfolio. It's a beautiful hotel all around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear doab,

Thank you for placing your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor following your stay, I appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found our location suited your needs when in Auckland.

We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Hilton Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,938 - 1,944 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Having visited Auckland multiple times I stayed at different kind of Motels and Hotels; close to the city center or in the city center.
The Hilton Auckland was by far the best hotel I stayed at in Auckland. The location is just fantastic. Close to the shops and many restaurants are just around the corner. The area the hotel is located, Prices Wharf is the place to dine in the evenings.
The rooms are clean, bathroom is huge. The views are spectacular, especially if you have a higher room with harbor view. Ferries that will bring you to Waiheke Island or other islands are just at the doorstep.
Stayed there 3 times now.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with harbor view. The higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear StevenVD,

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the hotel following your stay, I appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient for your needs when in Auckland.

Hopefully we will see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Hilton Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

very good hotel, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are very friendly & provide a high level of service. the restaurant is brilliant and an awesome bar

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHIAKL, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Amber M,

Thank you for taking time to post your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for the feedback on the team, restaurant and bar.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Hilton Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Let's treat ourselves by staying at the Hilton with a room with harbourside views. What the heck, we will pay extra for those fantastic views of Auckland Habour.

But no, wait. So you wanted a room without a major visual obstruction. What a surprise.

On arrival we were shown to our room that had a massive concrete pillar right where the view was. You has to literally walk around it to get to the patio that had the views.

Room change. After that all was well.

Breakfast buffet only just okay on Sunday morning. Looked like the remnants of a reasonable breakfast by the time we arrived at 9 am.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room without a visual obstruction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raynboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your stay with us.
It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our location on the harbour and overall your stay with us and that we were able to assist in providing a room move so that we could meet your expectations without an obstructed view.

I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have stayed in other 5 star hotels in Auckland before however we had singled out this hotel due to location to the Viaduct and the Hilton name. During the booking process the customer service before arriving here was great. The service felt personalised. The room upon arrival was a King Deluxe Harbour View Plus which we booked. A very small room, no club room access (hotel does not have this) and the service was ordinary. Great location, great views but very overpriced. If a large cruise ship was parked outside - no views!!! We are Hilton members but the service was less than exemplary. Ordered a cheese platter for two from room service (two was mentioned several times during ordering) but only platter for one arrived. The gentleman who delivered this did offer to go back and mention this, however we said no as we were tired and didn't want to wait. Admittedly the time frame was definitely met.
When leaving, we did mention to the concierge at the front door that we were meeting a driver from Emirates and we would be having a coffee in the "reception area" (no where else to sit except in the bar area of the hotel) and left our bags here with the concierge. After having coffee, we ventured outside and stood there for at least 10 minutes waiting for our pick up. ( There was a gentleman standing there as well for the same amount of time). Upon approaching him, he was our driver. He had also spoken to staff in the hotel regarding our pick up and and was told that "we didn't exist" at the hotel. Two very unhappy customers.
The hotel had great views but seemed as if you were entering a warehouse area upon entering the hotel area. Not a 5 star hotel.
We have stayed in many Hilton hotels around the world however, this one did not meet up to our expectations of what a "5" star hotel should be.
We will certainly not stay there again even though many of the other "5 star* hotels do not offer the views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without cruise ship views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your stay with us.
I have noted your feedback and am disappointed that a couple of service aspects reflected on your stay with us, however wonderful to hear you enjoyed our harbour location and views.

Thanks for staying with us.
Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here for two night stay in Auckland. Entrance is hard to find so worth asking directions to front door.
Location as many have said is brilliant with lots of restaurants, a liquor store and 24 hour convenience/fast food shop all short walks. We had deluxe harbour view room and would only stay at this level of room or higher as you have to get the harbour view to really enjoy this place.
Had breakfast first morning at hotel but although pleasant thought it overpriced there are lots more cheaper options in the vicinity if you are on a budget. Also balcony was lovely to watch all the activity on the harbour but found the smell of people smoking on other balconies to be a nuisance especially if you love the smell of the ocean, obviously no fault of the hotel.
Found staff extremely friendly which was very welcoming. Bed lovely and comfy and bathrooms large and useable.
Can be expensive option with other nearby hotels offering better value but if you want to enjoy the harbour this is the place. We got a great deal through entertainment card so worth looking if you are a member. Also after you book you receive a confirmation email with a list of discounted upgrades which are much cheaper than you can get before you book so if you want a suite book something else cheaper and wait to see what they offer as an upgrade it's the way to save if you want that bit extra for your dollar. Downside is that it is only offered on an availability standby so you may miss out if hotel busy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pakaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your review of the hotel following your stay with us.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and watching the activity on the harbour from your balcony.

I hope we may see you back on future travels.
Kind regards,

Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

PRETTY GOOD SUSHI/SASHIMI!!! Ok,, I had to let it out, now I can proceed with the review.
We arrived in Auckland after spending few days in Christchurch. While the former provided much needed relaxation & peace of mind, Auckland was vibrant. So, in a way we got the best of both worlds.
We stayed at the King Bow Suite - uniquely shaped like a ship's bow! As per habit, I had enquired over email about stuff like pickup from airport, places to go, things to do, etc. While they swiftly booked a Corporate Cab for our pickup, they simply referred me to the website of their preferred tour operator. I'd say not bad, as I could explore the site as we knew what we wanted to do or see in & around Auckland.

BOOKING the room online was not a problem, as there was ample information about rooms, etc to enable me to make a choice.

The KING BOW SUITE: Upon arrival from airport, we were led to our room shortly, which is good since I don't like cumbersome formalities to kick start our stay. The moment we entered the room, there was a free feeling- large windows hence lot of light & air coming in, large balcony and of course its tip resembled the tip of a ship's bow (Titanic? anyone?). The views were SIMPLY STUNNING!! On one side of the "bow" balcony, there was the harbor which I didn’t care about as it involved those cargo ships or those luxury liners. But the other side, was panoramic- clear blue skies, bit of land and the bridge at the horizon. The first 2 windows on either side of the room were providing a "peek" into other rooms, so we did those drapes as I had no intention to peek into those rooms nor I wanted it the other way round! (easy to use, electronic drapes, button operated). The next 2 windows on either side were the ones that opened into those panoramic views. The room had enough supply of caffeine (espresso machine) and nicotine (tea, etc). Mini Bar had more than I could drink, so all fine there.
We immediately parked ourselves with tea (for the wifey) and Bacardi with diet coke (for meself)...courtesy the mini bar. Two chairs & a table were waiting for us in the balcony. It was peaceful there and we sat there until the sky was that "post sunset" pink!!

FOOD: PRETTY GOOD SUSHI/SASHIMI (said it again), Fish n Chips, crab cakes, etc are some of my preferred dishes personally and I found them to be of the best possible standard at FISH restaurant. With very friendly staff & its amazing views of harborside, FISH became our preferred dining place except when we were pretty tired from a full day excursion. Room service is also very good.
Needless to say, one should also go to the BELLINI & White, the other 2 places within the hotel besides FISH.

IN & AROUND AUCKLAND: The concierge was very effective in helping us decide what we wanted to do with our time. We visited some historic & cultural hotspots of Auckland in a quick half-day and came back enlightened. One real treat was the Kelly Tarlton's UNDERWATER WORLD. Walking in a glass tunnel while on the other side of glass were ..UMMM ...SHARKS...can be exhilarating, no!!! Also, saw turtles, and those mega sized STING-RAYS/MANTA-RAYS. Understandably, there were many families with kids, so clearly a family place this one. I also came to know about the vision of Kelly Tarlton & had respect for him immediately as the whole setting probably seemed so bizarre in the beginning but as we can see, is so realistic & leaves a lasting impression! I clicked some vids where those sharks were probably few centimeters away from us, deadly jaws showing & all!
Full day excursion to WAIKATO, WAITOMU & ROTORUA was also amazing. The GLOW WORM CAVES in WAITOMU made us feel like it was a Cameron 3D movie....except that this time we are a part of it rather than just watching it. We were told to be silent and shoot no pics at all. It was mesmerizing when the boat went silently thru those caves amidst pin-drop silence and there they were...GLOW WORMS on the ceiling....simply a stunner!!!
I really liked the MAORI (the old culture of NZ folks) dance & song event...especially when they performed the HAKA! Now I know how the poor opponents feel on the rugby field when the All Blacks perform it..;-)
A walk through the RAINFORESTS which led us to this amazing waterfall, was also memorable. It felt like the most untouched part of nature ever!! There are many trails in those forests hence a guide is a must, ours was a humorous & knowledgeable fellow, so it was a great trip. In the same trip, we saw the IRON & SAND Beach (yep that’s right IRON).
A visit to the SKY TOWER is a must as its the tallest free standing structure in the southern hemisphere. Most importantly it offers the bungee jump, something that I can only talk about but will not indulge in...No sir!

STAFF: They came across as very warm and friendly. I was slightly surprised that in such a big hotel, sometimes those calls to the desk, room service, concierge, etc went un-answered. But no issues really as these were very rare occurrences and overall I was pleased.

NEGATIVES: While our KING BOW suite was pretty much awesome, I’d say that the harbor suites on the lower floors would end up looking into those docked luxury liners OR into the other rooms. In fact that also contributed to us booking the KING BOW...of course at a premium.
POSITIVES: The stunning views from our KING BOW suite and the FOOD at FISH restaurant are easily the top positives

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stroggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagni, Director of Sales at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you posting a review of the hotel and it sounds like you had a very adventurous time while in Auckland which is great to see.

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay in our Bow Suite with its amazing views of the harbour and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and service also.

We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan Mikkelson
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £171 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing