We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Auckland
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$156
US$151
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$184
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$288
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$290
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$179
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$234
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,543)
Filter reviews
2,543 results
Traveller rating
1,386
754
253
103
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
754
253
103
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise shipfish restaurantbellini barbow suitediamond memberharbor view roomnew zealandferry terminalmaritime museumwaiheke islandcorner roomrestaurants and barsfantastic locationbuffet breakfastlong flightvalet parkingsky tower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,907 - 1,912 of 2,543 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

It's hard to review a room like this, because for those of us that aren't oil or mining tycoons, the pricetag is a once in a lifetime thing, and anything that isn't perfect seems like a letdown.

We were on the 2nd floor, the bottom-most Bow Suite room, however the benefit is that the 'balcony' is huge because it's the basically the roof of the bar on the ground floor. The balcony area must be 3 or 4 times the area of the room & bathroom! Although unless you're inviting 50 people to visit, I guess there's not that much you can do with it all (grin).

The Bow Suites are really all about been right out practically over the water and getting the amazing view. Luckily the weather was good, and it's summer so it's light until late. If we couldn't have gone outside and enjoyed the view with sun out then it would have been a letdown.

The bed was deceptively comfortable, at first it seemed possibly too soft but it was wonderful to sleep on. Lovely bathroom although only one shampoo and one conditioner (yet 3 soaps). You can even see out to the harbour while standing in the shower (see one of the pics attached).

TV picture was surprisingly blurry. Certainly watchable but nothing like the sharp pictures people are used to thesedays. The TV looks modern enough. It also swivels a lot so you can watch it from anywhere in the room except the business desk. I didn't check if it can be raised up a bit, it seemed a bit low when watching it from bed.

The staff were great and the room service meal was very good, and as a bonus there's no delivery fee and you get a glass of iced water each.

Room Tip: There's not many bow suites, level 2 as mentioned has the large outside area and it was nice to walk around and look at the view, but the levels upward might be even better as it looked like part of their balconies have a more-than-180 degree view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear glennomeister,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and harbour views in one of our Bow Suites and found our beds to be very comfortable. Thank you for your feedback re the TV clarity. I will have our maintenance team follow up on this.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I've stayed in Auckland a lot in my travels and have tried the Hyatt, Hilton, and boutiques. The location of the HIlton cannot be beaten for a new visitor - on the harbour with one side having great views (the other is just down onto an office block/road, so make sure you get what you pay for).

The staff are awesome, very helpful and clever to boot. Location means you can get into the viaduct bars and restuarants nice and fast on foot, and shopping not too far away if you like that sort of thing. Conference rooms good and well laid out.

The only problem is the rooms themselves - nice enough, but noise insulation through walls and doors is poor. If you are a light sleeper, as I am, a returning party in the corridor at 2am WILL wake you up. I could also hear my neighbours discussion in his south african booming tones talking about a pitch to do with mining operations in another part of the world. Good job I was not a journo.....

Good breakfast though - a nice selection and a chef on hand for eggs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear tripbunnies,

Thanks you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you found the team at the hotel friendly and helpful and that our harbour location and proximity to the viaduct bars and restaurants and also shopping precincts was of convenience to you during your stay.
I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise during you stay from the adjacent room and late comers in the hallway.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels. Please let me know in advance so I can ensure that you have a quiet room.

Kind Regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

we have stayed here twice , and thought we would give it a second go , as we are Hilton club members , staff are friendly , rooms are small , view is fantastic , , location great ,there is better value closer in central auckland

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sullydump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear sullydump,

Thanks you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay, we appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you found the team at the hotel friendly and that you enjoyed the harbour views from the hotel and our location on the waterfront. We have various room sizes at the hotel so please let me know when you are planning to stay in Auckland next I can discuss options with you.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Ryan
ryan.mikkelson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

After changing rooms once due to initially receiving a room with no view we were told we could have a free upgrade because a cruise ship would be blocking our view for each night until late. To someone like myself who loves cruise ships and was catching a cruise ship two days later this was not a problem at all. We had a lovely room on the 7th floor with a very comfortable bed and wonderful bathroom. The hotel was very convenient to taking a stroll around the harbor, into town and catching a ferry to Waiheke which we did prior to boarding our ship (Amazing!!!). Opening the curtain on the day of your departure and seeing your cruise ship directly outside of your window is like Christmas morning and having a porter hand deliver all your luggage directly to the porter of the cruise ship, priceless.

Room Tip: Make sure you sleep with your blinds drawn, you are really close to the cruise ships when they dock every morning. So close I had a nice conversation with a couple on their balcony about how they liked the cruise from our hotel balcony.

For those spending a few days in Auckland here are the top 5 things we did during our five days in town:
1. Dinner Cruise on the Pride of Auckland
2. Touring Waiheke's vineyards w/ See Waiheke Tours
3. Touring Waitomo Caves w/ Spellbound Tours (Transportation out there from Milestone Tours)
4. Dinner at Prego
5. Breakfast at Mecca

Room Tip: Book as early as you possibly can. We booked one year in advance and got an amazing deal. Price went up $200 per night six months out.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamedic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us at Hilton Auckland and glad that you enjoyed the hype of the cruise ship experience in your harbour view room at the hotel. It is very rewarding to read your comments in regards to the location of the hotel and our team members taking such good care of you.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us; It was our pleasure to have been of service to you and we hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here two nights recently as part of a three week tour of the North Island. The location was a major factor in our selection process, as this hotel sits right on the water and is near many local attractions. We had a King Harbor View room and were impressed by the amenities and service we received. There was a giant cruise ship docked outside our room the first night, but it departed at 9:00 p.m., and enabled us to get a quiet, peaceful night of rest. We did peruse the restaurant menu, and the seafood sounded delicious, though we did elect to eat elsewhere. There are many dining options available on the wharf, most with views of the harbor and good food. It's but a short walk to the ferry, Voyager Maritime Museum, and Queen Street, with all it's shops and dining options. Breakfast was good and room service as advertised. All in all, we were pleased with our choice of the Hilton Auckland and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, ask if a cruise ship is anchored next to hotel or expected in during your stay. This fact could influence your room selection, as these ships can be a bit noisy (Harbor views rooms).
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthPacExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear SouthPacExplorer

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay, we appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that our location right on the waterfront was convenient to all the local attractions.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Best regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews