We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Auckland and was very pleased with my accommodations. The room was very spacious and had a great view of the water, luckily no cruise ship in sight...The hotel breakfast buffet was perfect and you can eat on the outside deck with great views. The fitness room didn't have much so you'll need to be creative with your exercise routine and the pool was small but great if you're looking to simply cool off. The hotel is in walking distance to many restaurants and the downtown area. I highly recommend the Hilton Auckland!

Room Tip: Hilton Gold or above status for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Sunbound

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor recommending the hotel.

It is rewarding to note that you were impressed by the hotel’s spectacular location and our restaurants and facilities guaranteed a memorable guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the ‘City of Sails’ sometime in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    635
    216
    83
    36
See reviews for
235
1,046
148
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We enjoyed a five day stay with two rooms for a family of four. As Hilton Diamond members were were upgraded to ocean front rooms, one on the corner with a huge expansive balcony. We were welcomed with a lovely birthday gift and champaign for this family celebration. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the location of the hotel is amazing. The hotel is located on a pier and has taken great efforts to make your stay feel as though you are on a luxury liner cruise ship. The nautical decor throughout the hotel is enchanting!

Our stay included a full buffet breakfast daily which was fabulous! The wait staff are amazing, especially Ana Marie in the "Fish" restaurant who greeted us by name ever morning and already knew our coffee preferences! The front desk staff were helpful and very friendly. The concierge service was adequate but not proactive which would be my only area of suggested improvement.

The location of the hotel is wonderful for seeing Auckland. Central to all the shopping and also the ferry terminal. However, it is a distance to the airport so plan for a costly taxi fare.

A tremendous hotel in the middle of a wonderful and busy city. Highly recommended in every way!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyFunx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear FamilyFunx3

We were delighted to note that you had a memorable and comfortable stay at the hotel, enjoying the family birthday celebrations alongside our stunning Waitemata harbour views. Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor outlining the hotel’s central city location. I was very pleased to note that the team cared for you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back and extending our Hilton hospitality experience should you return to Auckland on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Loved every part of our stay, was my partners birthday and the Hilton went out of their way to make us feel special. The customer service is second to none. The location was perfect and we were able to walk straight out the door and onto the waterfront to restaurants and bars. Also the Breakfast must be mentioned - For someone like me who is a health nut, the options were plenty and tasty...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Alex S

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor.

As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, it was our absolute pleasure to have made your special stay a memorable one. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Currently staying in the hotel another couple of nights and I have to say very, very impressed. The last time I had a view of Auckland harbour like this was from a ship....which happened to dock beside the Hilton! As a diamond Hhonors member I have been given a harbour view deluxe room on the 7th floor with perhaps the best view I have ever had, anywhere. The lack of an executive lounge means you get drinks vouchers instead.
What makes this a genuine 5 star property are the details, from the fresh smell when you walk into the room, to the bath salts, bath gel and high end toiletries, to the stunning breakfast buffet with a chef at an egg station. If the weather was better I'd probably spend longer on the balcony just watching the world go by. Great hotel.

Room Tip: The Fullers ferry terminal is right next door so handy for excursions. The bus terminal to the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontereyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear MontereyMark

Thank you for posting your review of Hilton Auckland. The team and I are delighted to read that as a Hilton HHonors Diamond member you enjoyed a very memorable stay.

The team and I were thrilled to receive your positive comments in regards to the hotel’s stunning location, guest rooms and facilities. I am glad to note that you enjoyed a relaxing breakfast experience in FISH, which is without a doubt one of the best waterfront locations in the city.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Iris, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Traveled to Auckland on a business trip and found the stay average. Rooms were wonderful as evidently it is Hilton however staff service could have been better however I seemed to check in on a busy day maybe that's why. Location was great and central to the CBD vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anaheim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear A S

Thank you for your posting your review of Hilton Auckland following your recent business trip. I was pleased to note that you felt at home in the hotel’s guest room and enjoyed the convenient waterfront location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Every Hilton hotel I've stayed at has been overpriced and overrated.

I thought I'd give them another chance because the Hilton Auckland was on special, I would never pay full price.

Upon arrival, the staff were warm and accommodating, absolutely fantastic service with a lot of knowledge about the surrounding area.

The rooms are very basic, nice, but nothing special. I found the beds comfortable but very soft, the sheets were stiff and rough like paper and the shower/bath average.

We are frequent visitors to Auckland, there are other hotels in the CBD I prefer - we won't be returning to the Hilton Auckland, nor will we stay in another Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodSnob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear FoodSnob24

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback as it lets me know where we do well and where we can improve. I was delighted to note that you found the arrival experience to be outstanding and that the team cared for you well.

It is disappointing however to note that not quite everything met your expectation on this occasion and that you prefer not to return to the property when next visiting the city. If I am able to be of any further assistance in the future, please feel free to let me know.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Excellent service. Thanks to all for the service provided by all staff. Lovely employees. Questions were answered by concierge. Felt pampered and stress free. View was lovely. Rooms were clean.
Dining was a brilliant experience at Fish restaurant thanks to the chef and his help. Also snack at Bellini was yummy great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CastWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear CastWide

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Hilton Auckland, a contemporary boutique hotel surrounded by the stunning Waitemata Harbour and I thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The team and I were delighted to be of service to you and it was a pleasure to note that you were well cared for during your stay and that you had a memorable experience enjoying the hotel’s food & beverage facilities.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing