We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I've just stayed here for a week on business at a workshop - which meant it spent A LOT of time at the hotel. I was quite pleasantly surprised. The rooms are a great size, comfortable bed, room to move and get suitcases out of the way. The service has been great - all staff are very polite and very helpful. the gym is also extremely functional for a hotel gym. There were no cruise ships in while I was here, but I can see that would be a little annoying if they were. I had a room on the other side, which also had water views, so that was perfectly fine. The only two picky complaints I have would be (a) the hot water could be a little hotter (particularly if you aren't used to the cool weather) and (b) there seems to be a lot of noise at night - perhaps the sound proofing isn't great or the staff need to stop moving things around (trolleys etc) at 4.30am EVERY morning.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Susan M

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your business meeting at Hilton Auckland and thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you felt right at home, enjoying the hotel’s facilities, with the team taking good care of you. I do apologize for the early morning noise disturbance you encountered and your comments have been shared with our Director of Operations.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was the best HIlton experience I have ever had. We were in New Zealand for our anniversary and the entire staff went above and beyond for us. We feel we made a new family at the hotel and will absolutely be back. The breakfast was AMAZING- best I have ever had. Hemant was our waiter and he remembered our anniversary when we got there. He made it extra special. The concierge (Pati Start) helped us with backup plans when the weather was bad and helped us to have an amazing day. The doorman (Fred) also helped us with some great recommendations and Jess at the front desk was always there to help in the mornings. At the end of our trip when we got to the next city, we got a call from the hotel saying we had left our passports in the safe. They expedited delivery so we would have them the next day. THANK YOU to the entire staff- can we move in? :-) See ya next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Philip W

Thank you for opting to post your review on TripAdvisor via the hotel's online survey.

As per my previous email, acknowledging your complimentary feedback via the online survey, the team and I were thrilled to welcome you to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed an unforgettable Anniversary stay at Hilton Auckland and look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

On a par with best hotels we've stayed in anywhere. Modern style with unbeatable view. Our room was a Diamond upgrade, therefore we had wonderful view of the harbour. Some other rooms may not have had a great view. Would have to be pretty mean to find any fault!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank GeoffreyRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Jonesysinger

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online hotel survey and opting to post your review on TripAdvisor. It most certainly was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as HHonors Diamond members.

I am delighted to note that you had a memorable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The property is very new, modern and blends very well with the Auckland waterfront. From our rooms and the breakfast area, you can see the pier very clearly. On a clear day, you would see yachts sailing by. The property has a very modern vibe with tall windows to let the natural light in. The location is about 400 meters from the crowded shopping area, but only about 100 meters from the Viaduct where all of the cafes and bars are. Rooms are good sized and have a modern vibe. Overall a very good property to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraThedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear LauraThedy

Thank you for choosing Hilton Auckland and for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your business trip in June. I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience and our unique waterfront location showcasing magnificent views over Waitemata Harbour.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great place to stay if in Downtown Auckland, only bummer is the Wilson Parking controlled rates that the hotel has no control over. Has nice views of Auckland harbor and a stones throw away from the Quay, plus Sky City if you are into gambling

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Andrew J

Thank you for posting your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor and for also completing the hotel’s online survey. As per my previous email, I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s stunning views and waterfront location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you return to Auckland in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

lovely rooms, quiet and large. Great breakfast, but far too expensive. Wifi was problematic, and should definitely be free given the cost of the hotel. The hotel pool was great, if a little small. Gym should have more than 2 treadmills as it got quite busy. Room was sometimes not cleaned very thoroughly, for example I saw a broken glass shard on the floor near the cupboard which I didn't break and must have been there for days without anyone noticing. Once also came back to room to find cigarette ash on the table outside ( I don't smoke).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Nellie C

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous email correspondence acknowledging your online hotel survey, the team and I are pleased to note that you enjoyed the property and its facilities.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton, Auckland, for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and a break away from the kids. The service and experience was absolutely outstanding - every detail was considered and the personal touch was well received. Thank you for a memorable night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Heath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Heath W

Thank you posting your generous review on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an unforgettable experience at Hilton Auckland for the special occasion of your Anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £165 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing