We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Shower blocked water all over the bathroom floor, room was not ready until 4.00 pm, charged for parking when I did not have a car and someone tried to break into my room whilst I was sleeping as the lock was unlocked and the security bar was not flush against the door when I woke the next morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Kim C

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. I very much regret the service breakdowns you experienced.

I am aware that our Director of Operations, Garry Lucas has been in direct contact with you after we received the hotel's online survey you completed. Your comments have most certainly been reviewed with the relevant department heads.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and we will ensure you a memorable experience next time around.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,319)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Aukland for six nights toward the end of our six week trip down under. We were definitely after a comfortable, relaxed experience with excellent service, and we weren't disappointed. From the bellman that greeted us ( they were actually like bellman/concierge/coordinators!) to the housekeeping staff ( most consistent, considerate service!) every staff member was friendly, courteous and effective. The breakfast was good, with a couple of really nice touches like shots of fresh watermelon and kiwi juices and spirulina, to freshly made eggs, omelets, and waffles. Get a room with a harbor view, or even a bow room, if available. During our stay, there was a tall ship event that the hotel alerted us to, and we watched them come into the harbor and dock right outside our balcony! Cool.

Room Tip: Harbor views on upper floors are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCHunterB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear JCHunterB4

Thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted you enjoyed a memorable experience at Hilton Auckland. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable location on the waterfront of Princes Wharf.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent 9 days at the hotel and had a good chance to experience the hotel services. The results were:
Staff very helpful and most remembered me and my preferences.
Staff very polite and treated me as an honoured guest - something difficult to find across the globe these days.
Room was clean and very comfortable - view over harbour and ferry terminal.
Food quality was excellent and dishes ordered often came with a little extra something - always a nice surprise and helped to enhance the experience.
One small issue - chairs in the Bellini bar are very tired and need re-upholstering or replacement. They detract from the overall ambience of the bar.

Room Tip: Select a room with a harbour view - preferably one on the ferry terminal side. You do not have any o...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLindsayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear RLindsayB

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent business stay. I appreciate your feedback and was delighted to read that the team took very good care of you and that you left with a favorable impression of the hotel.

Having noted your comments in regards to furnishings within the bar area, I am pleased to advise we will be undertaking a refurbishment project in Bellini during 2014.

We look forward to being of service to you once again should future travels bring you back to the City of Sails.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Hilton in Auckland is a top class (as you would expect) establishment where the service is great, the restaurant facilities fantastic with an outlook over the harbour, and the rooms very comfortable. Getting to the foyer/reception through a congested public carpark and the large cruise liner moored alongside our balcony and blocking the morning sun were not so great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Dave L

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per the hotel’s previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are pleased you enjoyed FISH restaurant which certainly does boast a unique dining experience in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland.

Once again I do apologise in regards to the cruise ship being moored beside the hotel during your stay and the inconvenience this caused. On a more positive note, I am pleased to advise that Ports of Auckland is moving the International Cruise Ship terminal to another location during the coming months.

We do hope to be able to welcome your family back on future stays next time you are planning a visit to the City of Sails.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The best customer service that we received while we were in Auckland was at the Hilton Hotel. It is a wonderful location with happy and helpful staff. I will be recommending to my friends and family to stay at the Hilton when they are visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Jackie N

Thank you for choosing Hilton Auckland on your recent visit to the ‘City of Sails’. I appreciate your review on TripAdvisor and am delighted you enjoyed a memorable experience at the hotel.

Should future travels bring you back to Auckland, it would certainly be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

You can't get a better location in Auckland than the Hilton, jutting out into the beautiful harbour. And I certainly can't fault a thing about this beautiful hotel, inside or out. The rooms were roomy and beautifully appointed, the bed was perfect, the service from check in to check out was immaculate, the breakfast buffet with made to order egg chef was amazing, the restaurant's location was spectacular, the pool incredible and even the gym is light, airy and well equipped. Hotel perfection as far as I'm concerned.

Plus - if you need an extra bed for a third person, no charge! I really liked that, a lot of other hotels charged extra. And it was a very nice bed as well.

Had to pay for parking, but it was a fair price.

Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairpammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Fairpammy

Thank you for sharing your generous feedback on TripAdvisor. The team and I are pleased you enjoyed an unforgettable family experience at the hotel.

The hotel most certainly does feature a unique location enjoying magnificent views across the Waitemata Harbour.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you return to Auckland, the ‘City of Sails’!

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed her for a business trip that we turned into a part time fun trip! The airlines lost his luggage and the hotel went out of their way to help us get it. The rooms were very clean and modern. The breakfast buffet was incredible. Normally it's just some fruit and scrambled eggs, but this was different. We had fresh honeycomb and brie every morning and fresh pineapple juice. Our view was great as well. The location was close to a lot of restaurants and bars as well as shopping. We could pretty much walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel set us up with a wine and food tour on an island called Waheki close by. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollybtolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Hollybtolbert

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland on your recent business trip; I am delighted you both had a memorable experience.

I am glad that the team took good care of you and you were able to enjoy the highlights of Auckland city in a leisurely fashion.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £166 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing