We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just incredible”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just incredible”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in a suite in the Hilton for the last few days in New Zealand and it was just incredible.
Overlooking the water, at the end of the wharf - the balcony looked out over a fantastic seascape with the sun shining.
It was in easy walk of the city and (of course) the rest of the Auckland water-front and the various great restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Jonathan W

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the harbour splendour from one of the spectacular suites. The hotel certainly does boast a unique location within very close proximity to both the Viaduct Village, Wynyard Quarter and Britomart.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the City of Sails sometime again in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    686
    234
    90
    37
See reviews for
261
1,148
161
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a great stay at the Hilton in Auckland. From the moment we stepped in at 7AM, very early for our check in, we were offered use of the gym/showers to freshen up. Although we were offered a complementary call when our room was ready, which we never received, when we eventually checked, the room was modern, clean and comfortable. Although we didn't have ocean views, room was bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rosiepoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear rosiepoops

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are pleased you had a memorable experience at the hotel enjoying the ambience and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels; you should experience one of our Harbour View Rooms!

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We started off our 3 week New Zealand vacation with this hotel. What I loved the most were the stunning water views and the huge lanai our room had right overlooking the water. All of the restaurants also take advantage of the water views. We had a very nice dinner in the main dining room, Fish, which had amazing fresh oysters. Also, if you have Hilton honor status and can use their free breakfast I would highly recommend it. It is by far the best complimentary buffet breakfast I've ever had at any hotel (and better than several I've paid for). Omelet station, salmon and capers, various cheeses, crackers and breads, bacon, eggs, pastries, smoothies, etc. etc. and etc.

The other thing I really like was the location of the hotel. It is situated within a few minutes walking distance of the wharf so that you can take the ferry to Waiheke Island which has various wineries and other attractions you can visit. It is also close to shopping and restaurant areas.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Kim J

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your experience on TripAdvisor; I am delighted you enjoyed a memorable stay. The hotel certainly does feature a unique central city location, with our restaurants being a great vantage point for magnificent views across the Waitemata Harbour.

It was a pleasure to welcome you both to the hotel as HHonors members and we hope to see you back again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent hotel easily accessible from the airport and well suited for seeing Auckland and the harbor and islands. Hotel is located at the harbor with ferry terminals within 5 minutes easy walk. Numerous restaurants and shopping nearby as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank BattleEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear BattleEnthusiast

Thank you for opting to post your complimentary review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed the experience and our unique waterfront location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hilton Auckland is situated at the end of a wharf in downtown Auckland, and has pretty stunning views. We stayed there after a recent trip from the US, just to have a place to sleep before starting our trip in New Zealand.

To start out there is no hotel shuttle service, which is something that we take for granted in the US. It cost us about 70 dollars for the super shuttle. I am glad we took it because it would be pretty hard finding the place if I was driving. It is set at the end of a pier among a lot of similar looking buildings.

The Hotel is right downtown auckland, and is only about 3 minutes walking to the base of the pier and you are in the middle of the downtown area and across from the ferry docks.

The rooms were really nice, and the hotel was awesome in accommodating our children. We had a king room, and they ran up a nice portable twin bed for our children to sleep in (they are small) without even batting an eye. The reception staff was great, and was able to get everything we needed.

The one thing to make note of, is that there is a really nice restaurant there called fish. They were also very accommodation for my young children, and fit us in without a wait. I know they were fully booked, but they saw that we had just arrived after a long flight and had the children so they made room. The chef came over and talked to us, and made us feel very welcome. The food was some of the best I have eaten, and quite reasonably priced.

The breakfast if you are a hilton honors member is incredible. I have not been to a hilton with so much choice in a very long time. They really know how to treat the members great, and this would be one of the main reasons that I would return.

Overall, great staff, excellent location, and a wonderful restaurant

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear jimandthefamily

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed a memorable family experience at the hotel and thank you for your generous response regards the hotel’s accommodations and exceptional customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us again, should you plan another trip to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel is in a wonderful situation close to the ferry terminal with good sound proofing. Very helpful staff. We were very fortunate to get a room with harbour views. The restaurant was very good and breakfast served a wide choice all of top quality. The hotel is conviently situated for downtown Auckland is surrounded by a number of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Kenneth F

Thank you for posting your generous review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s vibrant surroundings and indulged in the Hilton experience.
We look forward to having you stay with us again, should future travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavalaire-Sur-Mer, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Location great direct at waterfront, 2 walking min.away from ferry ticketing offices. But it is also a very busy and noisy place because of water traffic. Rooms at waterfront are much smaller as Sofitel Viaduct Hotel rooms and a permanent noise of generators of the hotel through the night.
There is no free wifi in the room and no spa available as it is in Sofitel Viaduct hotel. Hotel staff is perfect and very helpful. Restaurant has a cold atmosphere, only inviting when you can sit outside.

Room Tip: If you have the choice between Hilton and Sofitel Viaduct, sofitel is one level better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Aline4711

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you took the time to share feedback regarding the hotel’s ideal waterfront location on the Waitemata Harbour set amongst the Viaduct Village. The team and I hope to have another opportunity to extend the Hilton hospitality to you should future travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing