We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“29 NZ$ for a day's internet!”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“29 NZ$ for a day's internet!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have stayed here before and the hotel has much to recommend it, fantastic location, clean, high quality gym, attentive staff, good food but dear on dear 29 NZ$ for a day's internet access is an absolute rip-off. That's £14 English pounds. If that doesn't bother you please book, that alone will make me think twice about booking again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Gary H

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s amazing location and that our team took good care of you. In regards to Internet pricing, at Hilton Auckland we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas of the hotel, and the restaurant outlets.

We hope to welcome you back to the City of Sails sometime again in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    669
    225
    88
    37
See reviews for
255
1,100
156
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JERSEYVILLE, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Try the FISH restaurant -- it was GREAT! Staff was friendly and courteous. We enjoyed a short stay as we had just come off a cruise with our ship not more than 500 ft. away from the Hotel. A great way to end a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Moira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Moira T

Thank you for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed the splendour of the Waitemata Harbour and glad you have fond memories of Auckland. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we have stayed at the auckland hilton hotel now for over 9 years, and we are happy to say that the high quaility stanard of service has never changed, and every time we are reconised with a warm welcome. we love the amazeing swimming pool, close walking distances to number of restraunts bars and casino and to shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Karl A

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online hotel survey and opting to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Auckland and we thank you for your continued loyalty.

I am delighted you had a memorable experience and we look forward to seeing you again on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Firstly the service has been outstanding. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. Had I not paid $600+ for my harbour view room I probably would rate this hotel higher but I feel this wasn't great value for money. The room was very small for this price compared to other Auckland hotels I have stayed in before. We ate at Fish restaurant and the food was very good. However after eating fish, I now have food poisoning and while I can't be certain it was from there, its very likely. We ate both lunch and dinner at this restaurant. Would I come back? Probably not. There are other better value hotels in Auckland such as The Langham.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear MonMun

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback and am glad to note that the team took good care of you.

Should you wish to share any further information with me, please feel free to contact me at email roger.brantsma@hilton.com.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Booked The Hilton for a special weekend away and splashed out on a deluxe harbour view room without knowing that a cruise ship would be parked right next to the hotel for both days. There was no view at all other than a massive hunk of steel and a huge invasion of privacy with passengers on the ship able to look directly into rooms. The noise associated with these ships unloading is huge. No sleep ins with crashing and banging from 7am. Very disappointed paid twice as much as any other 5 star hotel in Auckland for a terrible experience. No reduction in room rate either when we voiced our concerns. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank mareeu2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you for opting to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I am disappointed your experience was marred by the cruise ships being docked beside the hotel. On a more positive note, I am pleased to advise that Ports of Auckland is moving the International Cruise Ship terminal to another location during the coming months.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The rooms are very well designed and the outlook over Auckland Harbour is superb.The staff are friendly and efficient.The meals in the restaurant are excellent although the service is extremely slow such that if you have any deadline it is best avoided.
The charges for the internet are outrageous at I think $29 a day-these should be included as hotels don't charge for hot water!We bought a SIM card for $20 from 2 degrees in Queen St close to the hotel that lasted for our whole 5 day stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Robert S

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities, along with the magnificent views across Auckland’s Waitemata Harbour.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I feel a bit curmudgeonly (because the hotel is nice), but I am sick of 5 star hotels that charge an exorbitant rate for Wifi. The cafe across the road offers it for free. There are 'boutique' hotels nearby that offer it for free.
The free Wifi in the public areas frequently didn't load.

As said, the hotel is 'nice'. Small but nice rooms. Nice enough breakfast. Lovely view from the breakfast room. The room service was great, and the tagliatelle truly the best I've ever eaten. The gym is good. Pool looked nice (not enormous) but didn't use it.

Very close to 'Euro' restaurant, which was excellent.

Two more peeves - I had a drink on my own in the bar, I was the only person in the bar not offered snacks, despite being there for an hour. Had to ask 3 times for a toothbrush.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear vicnot

I am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s services and beautiful harbour views on offer when you stayed with us on recent business travel. Thank you sharing your feedback and this has been shared with the team.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing