We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our 6th visit to this hotel and generally find the staff helpful & the facilities good. Felt this time they had taken their "eye off the ball" but nothing notable that could explain, other than maybe they were all tired from the Christmas rush.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Glenny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Glenny49

Thank you for opting to post your review on TripAdvisor and as per the hotel’s previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I appreciate your feedback in regards to your most recent experience. I am confident your next stay will reflect the true Hilton hospitality we strive to maintain. Wishing you a very Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We’ve always thought Auckland a bit on the dull side and even though we were there on 25 and 26 December it didn’t seem like Christmas at all. Auckland seemed to be saving on tinsel, lights and Santa stuff. It could have been a cold and wet weekend in October.

The Hilton is ordinarily a pretty good choice as it’s right by the harbour and the container port. The view is therefore interesting rather than beautiful and there are always ferries coming and going. Sometimes enormous cruise ships come alongside the hotel and block the view. It’s perhaps not as sophisticated as the Sofitel but the location is hard to beat.

We stayed here five years ago and this time we liked it rather less. It remains a rather stylish place though the all-white and glass decor may not appeal to everyone. The rooms are well-equipped and have decent sized balconies - it’s essential to get one overlooking the harbour. The ‘lap pool’ is ridiculous - surely one of the weirdest pools on the planet. And they need to create an inviting outdoor terrace area for drinking and dining. A pity they still charge for internet in the rooms but at least it’s free in the lobby. The Hilton also charges its guests for paying their bill - 1.5% is added if they use a credit card. Now isn’t that a nice send off? Isn’t that a good way to get repeat guests?

Because we were staying over the Christmas period we booked months in advance for dinners on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, both at 7pm. We were told it was A la carte on Christmas Eve and a buffet on Christmas Day. We were greatly looking forward to it as a prelude to a month-long cruise to New Guinea.

Our dinner on Christmas Eve was outstanding - scallops, tuna tartare, perfect roast lamb, delicious desserts. Not cheap at about £150 including a nice pinot noir but the strength of the NZ$ against the £ is partly to blame for that.

And then disaster. The buffet on Christmas Day was a real shocker. It was as if a Ferrari garage had suddenly decided to sell Hyundais. What was puzzling was how a kitchen could produce such brilliant food one day and such slop the next.

Apparently the buffet was an all-day affair so by the time we showed up at 7pm it was all but cold and congealed and many plates were empty. There wasn’t a proper turkey, or a proper joint of beef. Vegetables were smothered in gloopy sauces. Roast potatoes were steaming and soggy. Gravy had a thick skin. The salads had gone. Pavlovas looked stale. For about £100 a head it was a total disgrace and nothing like what we expected which was the sort of buffet you get in the Far East and the Gulf.

The Hilton’s Maitre D agreed with several of our points but he could so easily have advised us the previous day to get there for lunch, not that the buffet even in its prime would have been any good. He also said to us, several times, “I’ve had to pay my staff double to work today,” as if that might encourage us to stay. We didn’t. We walked out.

The next day I brought all this to the attention of the Duty Manager who graciously waived the charges for a breakfast and gave us a late check-out. I am grateful to her but I’m still angry with the Hilton’s F&B department for effectively wrecking our long-planned Christmas Day which we will remember for all the wrong reasons.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Pausanias

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland over the Christmas Holidays and for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback and wish to personally apologize for the shortcomings you experienced in FISH. Our aim is to always ensure a relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland and unfortunately, on this occasion, we were unable to deliver on this.

Wishing you the best for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Hilton Auckland is well located for those that want waterfront views but once you have the cruise liner docked, it can be noisy and you have less privacy. The hotel staff are very friendly. The breakfast are adequate and overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Waterfront facing rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayurpatel75sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear mayurpatel75sin

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland on your business trip and for sharing on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s unique waterfront location.

I do apologise for the cruise ship mooring beside the hotel which blocked your view. We endeavour to inform our guests at the time of booking when there will be ships arriving; regretfully this is sometimes not possible dependent on the booking channel and guest details available at the time of reservation.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back on future stays. Wishing you a very Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The views from the rooms are fantastic! The service is fabulous. The food is delicious! The gym is first rate and the pool is unique! We highly recommend this for anyone who is visiting auckland. We esp want to recognize AJ and Ana Marie in the Fish restaurant as well as Daniel, the concierge, for making our stay special!

Room Tip: Harbor view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8888mrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear MCRL2013

Thank you posting your generous review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you had a memorable experience enjoying the hotel’s stunning views and FISH restaurant.

Wishing you and your family a very Happy & Successful 2014 and we hope to see you once again in the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I found this hotel very good...however I also felt that the price was excessive. There are many hotels in central Auckland that do not demand this high price. I did not think the extra price warranted what we got.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear George C

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor; I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. As per the hotel’s previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I note your comment regarding value for money which is disappointing, We aim to provide a level of service in keeping with price paid at the hotel and I am sorry that we did not achieve this.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future stays should your travels bring you back to Auckland. Wishing you a very Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

there seem to be nothing but problems when it came to charging my credit card!, on check in we had to carry our 4 large suitcases up the stairs & to our rooms!!

All accommodation was pre paid & I was even told this on check in , then a few hours later I get a call to advised they have charged the c/card again!!

Free wifi can only be used in lobby area, not the rooms or the pool or breakfast area

breakfast was average for the $39 they charge

On I high note my son loved the heated pool & the chocolates each evening

good location , yes its busy when a ship pulls in , but this didnt worry us , we though it wqas great having a huge ship right out the front!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank febuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear febuary

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I do apologize for your family’s frustrations regarding the inconsistencies you experienced on check-in to the hotel. I appreciate your feedback and have consequently followed up with the Front Desk team to ensure better communications moving forward.

I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels. Should you require any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly on email roger.brantsma@hilton.com.

Wishing you and your family a very Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a great deluxe room with balcony overlooking the harbour. More noise from city and boats than we expected but fabulous location and very attentive staff. Comfy bed. Lovely bathroom. I don't know what else to say but I need to add more characters to submit this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Lesley C

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and as per my previous correspondence acknowledging the hotel's online survey you completed, we are delighted you enjoyed the experience of our harbour view rooms and unique waterfront location.

We hope to welcome you back on future stays should you return to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £167 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing