We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A good hotel, centrally positioned. Excellent staff. Nice restaurant and bar. the only gripe I have i that even though I was paying £300 per night I still didn't get free internet in the room - come on Hilton!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Pamela F

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are pleased you had a memorable experience at the hotel enjoying the ambience and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels to the “City of Sails’ and wish you a very Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We ordered a taxi about 6.30pm and ordered a taxi for 5 people, after 10 mins the staff chased this up, after a further 15 mins the again chased up the taxi to be told an ETA could not be given. We had to walk into central Auckland in heavy rain nearly missing our dinner reservation. We live in New Zealand and had friends from the UK for Christmas, this stay was there last night in New Zealand. After a fabulous at Orbit restaurant last meal, we arrived back at the hotel around 11pm (not that late. The bar was closed and we were greeted by a bartender who just waved us away. The duty manager was called she was very courteous and instructed the staff to serve us. However it left a very bad end to the night Whilst we appreciate taxi e hotels fault, falls far below the expected service from an international hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear David M

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and our best wishes for a Happy New Year.

I am disappointed to note that we did not achieve true quality customer service during your time with us; your feedback has been shared with the team.

In conjunction with my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, please feel free to contact me directly on email roger.brantsma@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance, should you choose to stay with us on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was a Happy experiance and I would stay there again, staff are friendly and the rooms are good. The bed was extremely comfortable. The Bar staff were helpful and the prices reasonable Views are great. I would recommend this Hotel and the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Roy W

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you had a very memorable experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays and our best wishes for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

You really can't beat the location - easy walk to anywhere in the Central Business District, a few minutes from the ferry, train and main bus terminals (Britomart). The views from rooms on the east side of the building are spectacular with both city skyscrapers and bay islands. The location is central but also pretty quiet. The rooms themselves are modern and clean and have a lot of storage. Americans will probably find them a tad small, but if you don't drive a Ford Excursion or buy pallets at Costco you'll feel plenty of space. Most rooms also have balconies which add space and let the fresh air in. Great buffet breakfast. Our only two gripes were with the horrible beds (they have zero support and feel like hammocks) and the lack of a proper Hilton Honors lounge and happy hour. Instead they offer HHonors members coupons for two low end drinks at the bar (the only wines on the limited list were almost undrinkable, and you have to work REALLY hard to find bad wine in New Zealand!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumdorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Bumdorks

Thank you for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as HHonors members. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s unique waterfront location within close proximity to both the Viaduct Village and Britomart, the hub of the city’s entertainment precinct. My apologies that the bed did not meet your requirements; this is disappointing to note.

Best wishes for a Happy 2014 and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for three nights over New Years. This hotel is located in a perfect spot right near a large variety of restaurants and cafes and only a short stroll to the centre of the city and shopping areas.

The rooms are really comfortable and a great size. We were particularly impressed with the large bathroom with fantastic shower and separate bath.

We didn't end up eating in the Hotel's restaurant, but definitely will the next time we stay.

Thank you to the Hilton and all the wonderful staff for a memorable stay :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacsicle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Jacsicle_10

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s ambience and unique waterfront location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays and our best wishes to you both for a Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Can't say more about great stay. Staff attentive, friendly and professional. Large room with large balcony overlooking quay. Very complete and functional workout room. Fabulous breakfast buffet more than you could ask for. Next time in Auckland there is no place else I'd stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerBoyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear BikerBoyFlorida

Thank you posting your generous review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed a memorable experience at Hilton Auckland and that the team took good care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays. All the very best for a Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location of this hotel makes it a unique experience.
Great view, room and relaxing atmosphere.
Short walk to the finest restaurants Auckland has to offer. Will definitely return if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Believer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Believer26

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable waterfront location, whilst being in close proximity to the hub of Auckland’s entertainment precinct.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back on future travels. All the best for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £184 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing