We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay while visiting Auckland. It is located in city center around many of the best attractions of Auckland. Within easy walking distance of the Auckland museum, the sky tower and next door to the naval museum and port. I had read a review on Trip advisor that complained of a 20 minute wait for ice. I ordered ice thru room service and it was at the door within 3 minutes. And if you get a room on the harbor side you are treated to a nice light show in the evening from the cruise ship terminal across the quay. Great place to stay while in Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ferrellhoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear ferrellhoust

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you indulged in the city’s vibrant surroundings and enjoyed the Hilton experience.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, should future travels bring you back to Auckland. Our best wishes for a Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

After a long flight and arriving early on a Sunday morning we made our way to The Hilton. At 8AM our room was not ready obviously, but were told we could change and/or shower in the fitness centre area. They then offered a snack and held our luggage and gave us a map of the city. We returned around noon. The room was ready and our luggage was already in the room. It was such a beautiful suite with wrap around balcony, two glass sliding entrances. The marble bathroom had a beautiful view of the harbour as well. My husband is a diamond member and the free breakfast that came with that perk was amazing. The breakfast restaurant is set in an open area on the waterfront - sail boats drift by while enjoying your delicious buffet breakfast. We used this hotel to board The Diamond Princess. It is close enough to just walk over to the next pier with your luggage. This hotel was very clean & comfortable, the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Our highlight in Auckland was taking the ferry over to Waiheke Island. Do not miss out on this gem. A return ticket is only $40.00 The 30 minute ride is scenic and delivers you to an island filled with wineries and beaches. No need to book a tour, just take the walking path to Cable Bay Winery. You will not be disappointed. The view is spectacular - you can sit in beanbag chairs on the lawn overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour. The other rooms overlook the pool which is pretty boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear 222fit

Thank you for posting your detailed and favourable review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you as HHonors Diamond travellers prior to boarding for your cruise ship holiday. I am delighted you had a memorable experience enjoying the harbour splendour and exploring the delights on offer in Auckland.

We hope to see you again on future stays and our very best wishes for a Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I rolled our suitcases off the ship, passed an extremely LONG line of fellow cruisers waiting for taxis, and walked a few yards into the lobby of the Hilton. We were greeted immediately, our bags were checked and whisked away, & we checked in--all within minutes of leaving the ship! That alone was worth the stay, truly. We found the location to be quite handy for the additional 3 days we spent in Auckland. Our room was clean and had a wonderful view--we had a corner room and overlooked the city and waterfront, with a beautiful sunset view each evening. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, and the restaurants the concierge recommended were wonderful. When the bellman noticed my camera, he made several recommendations for places for photos shoots of the area--they were spot-on. Breakfast was included, and the buffet was a nice way to start the day--especially as you overlook the harbor in the restaurant. We would stay here again, and think it is a great location!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamom1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear scubamom1970

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland post your cruise ship holiday. I am delighted your stay was a memorable one, especially with such ease of transferring from the ship directly to the hotel. I appreciate your generous feedback and concur that the hotel certainly does feature a unique waterfront location on Princes Wharf.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again should future travels bring you back to the “City of Sails’. Wishing you both a Very Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A good hotel, centrally positioned. Excellent staff. Nice restaurant and bar. the only gripe I have i that even though I was paying £300 per night I still didn't get free internet in the room - come on Hilton!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Pamela F

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are pleased you had a memorable experience at the hotel enjoying the ambience and facilities.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels to the “City of Sails’ and wish you a very Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We ordered a taxi about 6.30pm and ordered a taxi for 5 people, after 10 mins the staff chased this up, after a further 15 mins the again chased up the taxi to be told an ETA could not be given. We had to walk into central Auckland in heavy rain nearly missing our dinner reservation. We live in New Zealand and had friends from the UK for Christmas, this stay was there last night in New Zealand. After a fabulous at Orbit restaurant last meal, we arrived back at the hotel around 11pm (not that late. The bar was closed and we were greeted by a bartender who just waved us away. The duty manager was called she was very courteous and instructed the staff to serve us. However it left a very bad end to the night Whilst we appreciate taxi e hotels fault, falls far below the expected service from an international hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear David M

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and our best wishes for a Happy New Year.

I am disappointed to note that we did not achieve true quality customer service during your time with us; your feedback has been shared with the team.

In conjunction with my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, please feel free to contact me directly on email roger.brantsma@hilton.com if I can be of any further assistance, should you choose to stay with us on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was a Happy experiance and I would stay there again, staff are friendly and the rooms are good. The bed was extremely comfortable. The Bar staff were helpful and the prices reasonable Views are great. I would recommend this Hotel and the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Roy W

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you had a very memorable experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays and our best wishes for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

You really can't beat the location - easy walk to anywhere in the Central Business District, a few minutes from the ferry, train and main bus terminals (Britomart). The views from rooms on the east side of the building are spectacular with both city skyscrapers and bay islands. The location is central but also pretty quiet. The rooms themselves are modern and clean and have a lot of storage. Americans will probably find them a tad small, but if you don't drive a Ford Excursion or buy pallets at Costco you'll feel plenty of space. Most rooms also have balconies which add space and let the fresh air in. Great buffet breakfast. Our only two gripes were with the horrible beds (they have zero support and feel like hammocks) and the lack of a proper Hilton Honors lounge and happy hour. Instead they offer HHonors members coupons for two low end drinks at the bar (the only wines on the limited list were almost undrinkable, and you have to work REALLY hard to find bad wine in New Zealand!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumdorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Bumdorks

Thank you for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as HHonors members. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s unique waterfront location within close proximity to both the Viaduct Village and Britomart, the hub of the city’s entertainment precinct. My apologies that the bed did not meet your requirements; this is disappointing to note.

Best wishes for a Happy 2014 and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,976 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,619 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £171 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing