We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Auckland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ngatea, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Hilton Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Exceptional service. Lovely room with the most gorgeous views over the harbour. Great location - right in the heart of central city and by the whole viaduct area. Staff did everything to make our stay a memorable and pleasant experience. We stayed here for our anniversary and were really made to feel very special. One staff member in particular was fantastic, Toria Dickey - thank you so very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm & Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the hotel to celebrate your Anniversary. I am delighted the team cared for you well on this special occasion and that you enjoyed the experience in true Hilton style.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on future stays and our best wishes for a Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    636
    217
    85
    36
See reviews for
236
1,050
148
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This property is right over the Auckland harbor with 270 degree harbor views and walking distance to all the hipster spots in the Auckland CBD and Quay. Fabulous breakfast buffet and a sophisticated evening cocktail lounge.
Friendly front desk and bell staff and a very well connected Concierge staff. All my request were granted with a smile and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Harbor view with deck-patio facing harbor and view of NZL Navy Base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Donald L

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed a memorable family experience at the hotel. Thank you for your generous feedback in regards to the hotel’s location, ambience and special customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you return to Auckland, the ‘City of Sails’! Our very best wishes for a Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had 2 rooms for a few nights over Christmas.
Hotel is in great location - close to ferries, restaurants,museums etc.
Rooms comfortable & quiet but housekeeping needs checking. Mildew in showers not acceptable in hotel of this price.
Free wifi not available in rooms, only available in foyer which is tiny & only accommodates half dozen guests. Wifi is available in bar/lounge area but you get hassled by staff to buy drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Polly255060

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and I am glad to read that your family enjoyed the hotel’s unique and convenient city location. Having noted your comments, I do sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced with cleanliness in the shower. Your feedback has most certainly been shared with our Director of Operations for review.

At Hilton Auckland, we strive to offer a quality service for our valued guests and I hope we may have an opportunity to one day welcome you back and provide a more fitting experience should you visit the ‘City of Sails’ in the future.

Our best wishes for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We enjoyed the beautiful setting of the Hilton and the staff were not intrusive but extremely attentive. They addressed us with respect and made sure we were comfortable in every aspect of our stay. The food was beautifully presented and all the cutlery and dinner sets spotless. Our Christmas stay was relaxing and we felt very satisfied with our Hilton experience, plus we parked right at the front door - great! We were able to report back to our family that we had enjoyed a "happy Xmas" as they had paid for everything as the "hilton experience" was their Xmas present to Mum and Dad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear teacher687

Thank you for your generous TripAdvisor review. I am delighted you enjoyed a truly relaxing and enjoyable Christmas experience at the hotel. It was certainly our pleasure to ensure your stay was a memorable one and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Wishing you both a very Happy New Year!

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay while visiting Auckland. It is located in city center around many of the best attractions of Auckland. Within easy walking distance of the Auckland museum, the sky tower and next door to the naval museum and port. I had read a review on Trip advisor that complained of a 20 minute wait for ice. I ordered ice thru room service and it was at the door within 3 minutes. And if you get a room on the harbor side you are treated to a nice light show in the evening from the cruise ship terminal across the quay. Great place to stay while in Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrellhoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear ferrellhoust

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you indulged in the city’s vibrant surroundings and enjoyed the Hilton experience.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, should future travels bring you back to Auckland. Our best wishes for a Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

After a long flight and arriving early on a Sunday morning we made our way to The Hilton. At 8AM our room was not ready obviously, but were told we could change and/or shower in the fitness centre area. They then offered a snack and held our luggage and gave us a map of the city. We returned around noon. The room was ready and our luggage was already in the room. It was such a beautiful suite with wrap around balcony, two glass sliding entrances. The marble bathroom had a beautiful view of the harbour as well. My husband is a diamond member and the free breakfast that came with that perk was amazing. The breakfast restaurant is set in an open area on the waterfront - sail boats drift by while enjoying your delicious buffet breakfast. We used this hotel to board The Diamond Princess. It is close enough to just walk over to the next pier with your luggage. This hotel was very clean & comfortable, the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Our highlight in Auckland was taking the ferry over to Waiheke Island. Do not miss out on this gem. A return ticket is only $40.00 The 30 minute ride is scenic and delivers you to an island filled with wineries and beaches. No need to book a tour, just take the walking path to Cable Bay Winery. You will not be disappointed. The view is spectacular - you can sit in beanbag chairs on the lawn overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour. The other rooms overlook the pool which is pretty boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 222fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear 222fit

Thank you for posting your detailed and favourable review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you as HHonors Diamond travellers prior to boarding for your cruise ship holiday. I am delighted you had a memorable experience enjoying the harbour splendour and exploring the delights on offer in Auckland.

We hope to see you again on future stays and our very best wishes for a Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I rolled our suitcases off the ship, passed an extremely LONG line of fellow cruisers waiting for taxis, and walked a few yards into the lobby of the Hilton. We were greeted immediately, our bags were checked and whisked away, & we checked in--all within minutes of leaving the ship! That alone was worth the stay, truly. We found the location to be quite handy for the additional 3 days we spent in Auckland. Our room was clean and had a wonderful view--we had a corner room and overlooked the city and waterfront, with a beautiful sunset view each evening. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, and the restaurants the concierge recommended were wonderful. When the bellman noticed my camera, he made several recommendations for places for photos shoots of the area--they were spot-on. Breakfast was included, and the buffet was a nice way to start the day--especially as you overlook the harbor in the restaurant. We would stay here again, and think it is a great location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamom1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear scubamom1970

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland post your cruise ship holiday. I am delighted your stay was a memorable one, especially with such ease of transferring from the ship directly to the hotel. I appreciate your generous feedback and concur that the hotel certainly does feature a unique waterfront location on Princes Wharf.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again should future travels bring you back to the “City of Sails’. Wishing you both a Very Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing