We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel, wonderful location”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Built on an old wharf, the Hilton stands at the very end, surrounded by water. Various apartment buildings, restaurants and bars line the wharf between the hotel and the shoreline. My room had an incredible view over the city wharves and towards the heads of the harbour. Room had a good size balcony. Nicely furnished and very comfortable.
Staff were pleasant and attentive and had plenty of suggestions to offer about spots to visit, restaurants etc. location good for business as right beside CBD. All things considered, pretty unbeatable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Ashley G

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed the experience of our superb harbour location and that you managed to take in some city’s attractions whilst visiting.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels to the “City of Sails’ and our best wishes for a Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,322)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,323 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you want superb views of one of the beautiful harbours in Oceania coupled with great friendly service, this might be the place for you. This is our second stay there and we continue to be impressed with the quiet spacious rooms and very attentive staff. The breakfast is simply magnificent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Frank746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Frank746

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor.

As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed I am delighted you enjoyed a memorable experience at the hotel taking in the ambience of the magnificent Waitemata Harbour.

We hope to see you again soon and all the best for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What we liked about the Auckland Hilton:
- excellent location on waterfront, with access to many local restaurants and a short walk to downtown
- our room was modern with a super comfortable bed, excellent lighting and we loved our view from our balcony
- very personable, engaging, friendly and attentive staff
- a superb breakfast buffet with an outstanding variety of food choices ( although on the expensive side)

Concerns:
- the common area furniture in the lobby and main bar area are in very sad shape with fraying, stained fabric badly in need of replacement. Surprising that the hotel has not addressed this, not a 5 star appearance
- pool area has few loungers ( 6-8) for a hotel the size of the Auckland Hilton

First time at the Auckland Hilton and I would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear RK502

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback and am glad you enjoyed the experience of our unique waterfront location enjoying magnificent views over the Waitemata Harbour.

In reference to the Bellini Bar furniture, I am happy to confirm that the bar’s chairs have since been re-upholstered.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future travels and our best wishes for a very Happy New Year.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here the night before our cruise on the Diamond Princess. What a great place to stay. Right on the harbour leading to beautiful views including the excitement of waking up to see the Ship right in front of us. We were quite tired so spent our entire time at the Hotel using Room Service and the Gym - all excellent. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We just walked over to embark our Ship. Well worth the extra dollars!

Room Tip: When you book mention you want to look out of your room to see your Ship. The Ship did not block ou...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisvegas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Brisvegas24

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you all to the hotel prior to your cruise ship holiday on the Diamond Princess. I am delighted you enjoyed the location and ambience of the Hilton Auckland, along with our unique harbour splendour.

We hope to see you again on future travels and our best wishes for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Exceptional service. Lovely room with the most gorgeous views over the harbour. Great location - right in the heart of central city and by the whole viaduct area. Staff did everything to make our stay a memorable and pleasant experience. We stayed here for our anniversary and were really made to feel very special. One staff member in particular was fantastic, Toria Dickey - thank you so very much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Malcolm & Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the hotel to celebrate your Anniversary. I am delighted the team cared for you well on this special occasion and that you enjoyed the experience in true Hilton style.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on future stays and our best wishes for a Happy 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This property is right over the Auckland harbor with 270 degree harbor views and walking distance to all the hipster spots in the Auckland CBD and Quay. Fabulous breakfast buffet and a sophisticated evening cocktail lounge.
Friendly front desk and bell staff and a very well connected Concierge staff. All my request were granted with a smile and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Harbor view with deck-patio facing harbor and view of NZL Navy Base.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Donald L

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed a memorable family experience at the hotel. Thank you for your generous feedback in regards to the hotel’s location, ambience and special customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you return to Auckland, the ‘City of Sails’! Our very best wishes for a Happy & Prosperous 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had 2 rooms for a few nights over Christmas.
Hotel is in great location - close to ferries, restaurants,museums etc.
Rooms comfortable & quiet but housekeeping needs checking. Mildew in showers not acceptable in hotel of this price.
Free wifi not available in rooms, only available in foyer which is tiny & only accommodates half dozen guests. Wifi is available in bar/lounge area but you get hassled by staff to buy drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Polly255060

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and I am glad to read that your family enjoyed the hotel’s unique and convenient city location. Having noted your comments, I do sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced with cleanliness in the shower. Your feedback has most certainly been shared with our Director of Operations for review.

At Hilton Auckland, we strive to offer a quality service for our valued guests and I hope we may have an opportunity to one day welcome you back and provide a more fitting experience should you visit the ‘City of Sails’ in the future.

Our best wishes for a Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £167 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing