We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel, helpful service if somewhat slow”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed there only two nights at the start of a vacation in New Zealand. Built on a former commercial warf it has roomy and well appointed room. Very clean. Pleasant and helpful service although a bit of supervision would help housekeeping get better (our room was not made by 2 pm).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Julian S

Thank you for posting your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor and I trust you enjoyed your vacation in our beautiful country. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s ambience and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels should you return to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Housekeeping and Room service is poor, Attitude is not what brand message is... so room for improvement. Be careful of oncoming cruises if you get Balcony room. Food quality good but bit overpriced specially when you have plenty of GOOD options around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vivek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Vivek M

Thank you for opting to share your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, we are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and your comments have been reviewed with the team.

We hope to welcome you back on future stays should you be returning to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hotel feels a little dated already. Fantastic location on the Harbour unfortunately stay ruined when a cruise ship berthed along side the wharf and obliterated the view. All privacy was gone and it was very noisy. Only warning was a note the night before. Check for cruise ships at Princes Warf before you book a harbour view room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank edgeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear edgeNZ

Thank you for opting to share your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, we are glad you enjoyed the property’s spectacular waterfront location on Princes Wharf.

I am glad to advise that the majority of cruise ship liners are now being relocated to the new Ports of Auckland International terminal located at Queens East Wharf. We hope to welcome you back should you visit the “City of Sails’ on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My stay at the Hilton Auckland met my expectations for a Hilton hotel. Given the other hotel options in Auckland this is probably one of the best options, particularly given the harbour location and views (if you are fortunate enough to receive a room with a view and no cruise ship is docked).

I do believe this hotel should be a 4-star hotel though. While the staff was friendly and forthcoming, there were a lot of details that were off. From the leaking shower stall and uninspiring decor of the rooms, to the busy crammed lobby and uncertain hotel room views, the little things add up. No deal breakers, just little things that other 5-star hotels have figured out better.

Overall, pleasant stay though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear julp29

Thank you for sharing your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback and apologize that you felt your experience was not true 5-Star. Our aim is to continually strive to ensure all of our valued guests enjoy the Hilton experience, which as you mention can be impeded by cruise ships docking beside the hotel. I am pleased to advise that the majority of international cruise ships currently dock at the new Ports of Auckland terminal located at Queens West Wharf.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Arrived at this hotel for a few nights after travelling from London to join a Tall Ship as crew. Looked at the others (Langham, Skytower etc) and some further north on the island, but chose the hotel for the stunning view. I also really like buildings converted from their original purpose instead of being demolished.

For this review, just wanted to say that everything was excellent, the rooms light and airy and the harbour view was brilliant. The staff were really good, offering to help continually. The food in the restaurant was very good and unhurried, despite its obvious popularity.

One thing stood out above all else. The breakfast. Buffet style, it offered the usual fare plus fresh smoothies, home made yoghurt and made to order omelettes, cooked while you watched. Pastries, fresh fruit piled high. From simply bacon, to eggs benedict. All hot, fresh, tasty. My favourite? You could stay there all morning for the one price and simply watch the comings and goings in the harbour. One fee, no rush.

Oh, and this is the first hotel in the world that I have seen fresh honey served on the honeycomb. Thanks to the whole team. A great start to a great trip.

Room Tip: I had a harbour room and paid a little extra for a high floor room. It was well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moorbius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Moorbius

Thank you for posting your favourable review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your preferred accommodations. I am delighted you enjoyed our boutique hotel’s unique waterfront location and the experience of dining in FISH restaurant, served with spectacular views.

I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on future visits to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

this hotel on the waterfront could not have a better location. Staff with the exception of the lazy concierge, could not have been better- friendly and very interested in us and wanted to make our stay memorable. Negative- a cruise ship blocked our harbor view and made loud PA announcements every 15 minutes. We would have liked to have know this in advance. Even though it only lasted 10 hours it was very disruptive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Doris P

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online hotel survey and opting to post your review on TripAdvisor. It certainly was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as a HHonors Diamond member.

I’m delighted you enjoyed the spectacular waterfront location on offer and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back should you return on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton when we went to Eminem as we wanted to have a relaxing trip away. There was a group of four of us and we are all 26. The staff were absolutely lovely and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and the beds were all supper comfy!! We will ALWAYS be staying at the Hilton every time we go away to Auckland!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cameron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Cameron T

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, we are delighted your group had a relaxing and entertaining weekend in the ‘City of Sails’.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £196 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing