We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still first Choice in Auckland”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Hilton has been our hotel of choice in Auckland for several years, in part because of its superb location. However, there is also the excellent, friendly service right throughout the hotel - a consistency that some others struggle to achieve. Also worthy of note is the restaurant, Fish, which served us a faultless dinner, with great wines.
The Hilton is not cheap, but for us a harbour view room is worth the money, and we will come back here next time we are in Auckland.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Steve G

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoy the Hilton experience and thank you for your continued loyalty. FISH certainly does feature a special dining experience in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland and I am pleased that this totally met your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the City of Sails on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was a return visit to the Hilton which has been our first choice in Auckland for many years. The location, views and design of the hotel are superb, but make sure its an outside room and hope there isn't a cruise ship moored outside The arrival did not get off to a good start as we were ignored by the concierge staff and left to manage our baggage. Reception staff were great and the waiting and housekeeping exceptional. Internet charges were a big minus and the only thing thats make us look at alternatives for our next visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Robert H

Thank you for opting to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I do apologize for your arrival welcome not meeting your expectation.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and its splendid location.

We hope you will grant us an opportunity in the future to extend the true and warm hospitality of Hilton Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a short honeymoon to New Zealand. The hotel has the perfect location with great views, right on the waterfront so close to all amenities on offer. Great restaurants in the area as well. Great stopover when in Auckland.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneysider906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Sydneysider906

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable waterfront location, whilst being in very close proximity to the hub of Auckland’s entertainment precinct.

It was a pleasure having you with us on this special occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I enjoyed this hotel. My room, a standard king, was spacious and well furnished with a small terrace overlooking the pool. My Gold status with Hilton Honors got me a bottle of wine on arrival, turn down service, internet, and an excellent full breakfast overlooking Auckland harbor. Those added features made it a 5 star experience for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwood789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Paul0747

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as a HHonors Gold member. The team and I are pleased to note that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Typical 5 star Hilton hotel. Situated right on the harbour, it's a great pre-cruise hotel, literally at the cruise terminal. Clean contemporary feel with excellent linen and fittings and with plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Good room service food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear DandJS

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I am pleased you had a memorable experience. The hotel most certainly does feature a unique location situated on Princes Wharf, enjoying magnificent views across the Waitemata Harbour.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here before a cruise, and you couldn't ask for a better location. Literally 50 feet from the cruise terminal. Everything is rather white in color, but it fits the contemporary feel of the hotel. Flight arrived at 6:00 am, so we reserved a room for the prior night to be assured a place to rest upon arrival. Good idea. Walkable to all the central sights and a few good restaurants (check out Euro). No club/executive level, but you're comped a few drinks in the bar if you're Hilton Gold. Breakfast buffet was good. Some people have complained about the cruise ships blocking the views... the ships truly dock right outside your window and we got quite an eyeful of people changing in their staterooms (!). But they only stay for the day and leave by evening. Some noise to due the loading and unloading ship supplies.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molliebclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Molliebclyde

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland prior to your cruise ship holiday and for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am glad your stay was a memorable one, especially with such ease of transferring directly onto the ship.

I appreciate your generous feedback and concur that the hotel certainly does feature a convenient and vibrant location.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had our wedding at the property on 1 March and stayed for two nights. Every step of the way from initial wedding consultation to check out at the property was top notch.

The actual stay at the property was great. The room was fantastic and the breakfast was one of the most extensive hotel breakfasts that I have seen. We had a room overlooking the harbor and sitting outside on a deck chair watching the boats sail early in the morning was a great way to start the day.

Every staff member that I spoke to was knowledgeable and quick to help with any request that we had.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the property for a stay or for a wedding.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear KiwiCliff

Thank you for choosing Hilton Auckland as the venue for celebrating your nuptials and for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you all and ensure that this special occasion went off without a hitch.

We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on future Anniversary stays!

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £196 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing